Skip to main content

Add or remove other collections to your search:



Narrow your search by:



You've searched: Central Montana Historical Photographs

  • All fields: 1909*
(62 results)



Display: 100

    • Attix, Dr. Frederick

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • Dr. Fred Franklin Attix was born Aug 8, 1878 in Richwood, Minnesota and died Feb 9, 1948 and was buried in the Lewistown City Cemetery. His father was Harry Attix of Elgin, Illinois and mother was Mary Belle Knowles of Battle Creek, Michigan. He...
    • Buntin, Charles

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • Charles Buntin was born Sep 10, 1877 in Benton, Illinois. He died Jan 9, 1958 in Lewistown. He received a degree from LaSalle University in Chicago. In February of 1904 he was commissioned as a teacher by the Department of the Interior Bureau of...
    • Cagle, Mrs.

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • Mrs. David Cagle died May 9, 1931 at 80 years old. She died at Ellensburg, Washington. David H. Cagle was born Feb 28, 1839 and died Feb 16, 1909. They were farmers.
    • Carnegie Public Library, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • This photgraph shows the Carnegie Public Library (built 1905), Blackford residence (built 1909) and the Rowley House (south side of the 700 block on Main Street). The building on the far right was the May Apartments building built in 1902 at 803 W....
    • Chandler, Edward

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • Edward P. Chandler was born November 17, 1852 in Concord, New Hampshire. He came to Montana on a steamboat on the Missouri River and landed in Fort Benton in 1880. In 1882 he came to the Deer Creek ranch twenty miles north of Lewistown and in 1889...
    • Elephants on parade, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Circus parade on Main Street at the corner of 5th Avenue South and Main Street. The tall building on the left is the Fergus County Argus newspaper office, built in 1896 and replaced in 1913. The Lewistown Furniture Co. building address was 102-104...
    • Empire Block, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • View of the Empire Bank and Trust Co. building (built 1908) located on the corner of Main Street and 4th Avenue North. The Day House once on the same location as the Empire building was moved to Broadway Street and 4th Avenue North and can be seen...
    • Empire Building, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • War Bonds;
    • View of the Empire building (built 1909) located on the corner of Main Street and 4th Avenue North. Empire Bank and Trust Co. Liberty Bonds banner is wrapped around two sides of the building.
    • Fergus County Courthouse, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • Located at 712 W. Main. It was constructed in 1908. The old courthouse also shows on the far right; it was torn down after the new courthouse was built.
    • First Christian Church, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • View of the First Christian Church (built 1909) located on the corner of Boulevard and 7th Avenue North. When it was torn down (1933) the stones were used to built an airport hanger on the north side of Highway 87 heading west out of Lewistown.
    • Flood July 4, 1920 Lewistown, MT.

    • 1920-1929
    • Floods;
    • View from 100 block of Main Street. Cars traveling through the flooded street.The Knerr-Tubb building (built 1909) is on the right. The Montana Building (built 1917) is the tallest building in the middle of the photo.
    • Garfield School, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Croatian Stonemasons;
    • View of the first Garfield School (built 1909-1910 and torn down and replaced by another building in 1953) located at 415 E. Boulevard. It was built using the locally quarried sandstone by Croation stonemasons.
    • Garfield School, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Croatian Stonemasons;
    • View of the first Garfield School (built 1909-1910 and torn down and replaced by another building in 1953) located at 415 E. Boulevard. It was built using the locally quarried sandstone by Croation stonemasons.
    • Garfield School, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Croatian Stonemasons;
    • View of the first Garfield School (built 1909-1910 and torn down and replaced by another building in 1953) located at 415 E. Boulevard. It was built using the locally quarried sandstone by Croation stonemasons.
    • Gold Mining in Central Montana

    •  
    • Gold Mining; Kendall, Montana;
    • "On the 600 foot level of the Kendall gold mine in 1909 the "Single Jack" compressed air drill called a Bumble Bee, used to drill holes in the ore rock, to be packed with dynamite to blast and break the ore down for shovelling in cars" Glen C....
    • Gold Mining in Central Montana

    •  
    • Gold Mining; Kendall, Montana;
    • Santiago Gold Mine. Between the Kendall and Barnes-King Development company's properties was the Santiago mine which was filed upon in 1898. In 1908 the claims in this group, six in number, were sold to the North Moccasin Gold Mining company....
    • Gold Mining in Central Montana.

    • 1909
    • Gold Mining; Kendall, Montana;
    • Bumble Bee air drill and miners in Kendal old mining Co. mine, 1909, Kendall, Montana
    • Green Block, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • The Green block was built by Andrew Green in 1909 at 111 W. Main. It housed the Lewistown Meat Co. and the European Hotel. The sign on the side of the building says: Hunter and Young Best Quality Grocers. The building next to it was the Hopkins...
    • Homes of Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • View of the Fergus County Courthouse, the back of the Rowley Home (721 W. Main), and the Blackford Home (713 W. Main-built 1909).
    • Homes of Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • W. D. Symmes residence, built 1909 and located at 220 W. Boulevard. It is part of the Silk Stocking District.
    • Homes of Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Blackford residence 713 W. Main. It was built in 1909. Mr. William M. Blackford was an attorney.
    • Homes of Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • 720 W. Broadway. Original owner was Martha Wunderlin. It was later owned by Tom Stout (newspaper editor). It was built in 1909.
    • Homes of Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Homes;
    • Homes on the 200 block of Boulevard Street (north side). Left is the W. D. Symmes residence (built 1909) center is the Fred Warren residence (built 1915) right is the George J. Wiedeman residence (built in 1905). They are part of the Silk Stocking...
    • Kendall, Montana

    • 1909-06-26
    • Gold Mining; Kendall, Montana; Harry T. Kendall; North Moccasin Mountains;
    • Drilling contest. “Harry T. Kendall, a prospector and visionary, bought a couple of claims in the North Moccasin Mountains in 1898. In 1900, a new corporation, the Kendall Gold Mining Company, was formed by Kendall and four other trustees with a...
    • Kendall, Montana

    • 1909
    • Gold Mining; Kendall, Montana; Harry T. Kendall; North Moccasin Mountains;
    • “Harry T. Kendall, a prospector and visionary, bought a couple of claims in the North Moccasin Mountains in 1898. In 1900, a new corporation, the Kendall Gold Mining Company, was formed by Kendall and four other trustees with a capital stock of...
    • Kendall, Montana

    • 1909-06-26
    • Gold Mining; Kendall, Montana; Harry T. Kendall; North Moccasin Mountains; Reunions;
    • Reunion picnic Kendall old timers 1927. “Harry T. Kendall, a prospector and visionary, bought a couple of claims in the North Moccasin Mountains in 1898. In 1900, a new corporation, the Kendall Gold Mining Company, was formed by Kendall and four...
    • Kendall, Montana

    • 1909
    • Gold Mining; Kendall, Montana; Harry T. Kendall; North Moccasin Mountains;
    • Lee Hiliard (left) and E. P. Durnen in front of White House Cafe.“Harry T. Kendall, a prospector and visionary, bought a couple of claims in the North Moccasin Mountains in 1898. In 1900, a new corporation, the Kendall Gold Mining Company, was...
    • Kendall, Montana

    • 1909
    • Gold Mining; Harry T. Kendall; North Moccasin Mountains;
    • The White House Cafe. “Harry T. Kendall, a prospector and visionary, bought a couple of claims in the North Moccasin Mountains in 1898. In 1900, a new corporation, the Kendall Gold Mining Company, was formed by Kendall and four other trustees...
    • Knerr-Tubb building, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • Knerr and Tubb building (built 1909) located at 116 W. Main, Lewistown, MT. Signs on the windows read: Montana Buffet and Pool Bowling and Billiards.
    • Landusky, Montana

    • 1909-07-04
    • Landusky, Montana;
    • Landusky was named after Powell “Pike” Landusky. Pike Landusky and Bob Orman discoved a gold mine in 1893 which developed into a boom town.
    • Landusky, Montana

    • 1909-07-04
    • Landusky, Montana;
    • Landusky was named after Powell “Pike” Landusky. Pike Landusky and Bob Orman discoved a gold mine in 1893 which developed into a boom town.
    • Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana; Elkhorn Saloon; W. H. Hopkins; Andrew Green;
    • View of the south side of the 100 block on Main Street. The tallest building on the far left is the Green Building (built 1909 by Andrew Green at 111 W. Main). The building next to it is the Hopkins Block (built 1909) and the shorter building in...
    • Masonic Temple, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Masonic Temple;
    • Hay wagon parked in front of the Masonic Temple (built 1909), NE corner of Broadway and 4th Ave North, Lewistown, Montana
    • Masonic Temple, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • Masonic Temple building was located on the corner of Broadway and 4th Ave. North. It was built by Croatian stonemasons in 1909. They used stone that was quarried locally. The Tithomus Realty Assn. was on the opposite corner.
    • Masonic Temple, Lewistown, Montana

    • 1909
    • Masonic Temple; Cook-Reynolds Co;
    • Corner of Broadway and 4th Ave North. The Masonic Temple in Lewistown is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. It is associated with events that reflect significant settlement patterns in the growth of Montana and in the development...
    • Masonic Temple.

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • Located on the corner of Broadway and 4th Avenue north. Constucted in 1909. Housed the Fergus County Argus and the Chamber of Commerce. Later became the Golden Rule office supply.
    • Masonic Temple.

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • Located on the corner of Broadway and 4th Avenue north. Constructed in 1909. It housed the Cook-Reynolds Land Co, the Lewistown Coal and Gas Co and the Temple Cafe on the south side of the building.
    • Methodist Church.

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • Epworth League Convention, 1909. Building was located at the corner of 5th and Broadway. The Fergus County Courthouse shows on the left background
    • Morton, Glen

    •  
    •  
    • Glen Morton was born at Hopeville, Iowa, in 1888. In 1909 Morton arrived in Lewistown on the old Jawbone Railroad. The next day he climbed aboard a Nelson Stage Coach bound for Kendall where he got a job at T. R. Matlock's general store. The...
    • Post Office, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • View of the Post Office (built 1903) at 109 4th Avenue South. It was used as the Post Office until 1909 and then became the Wells-Fargo Express and the Great Northern Express. It was built by Croatian stonemasons who used locally quarried...
    • Power Mercantile Store, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Mercantile Stores;
    • The second Powers building was built in 1884 and was located at 301 W. Main. Powers as the store was commonly called, was managed by N.M. Erickson, until his death in 1894. Erickson was responsible for getting a post office designation for...
    • Power Mercantile, Lewistown, Montana.

    •  
    • Mercantile Stores;
    • Located at 301 W. Main. The second Powers building was built in 1884 and was located at 301 W. Main. Powers as the store was commonly called, was managed by N.M. Erickson, until his death in 1894. Erickson was responsible for getting a post office...
    • St. Joseph's Hospital, Lewistown, Montana

    • 1909
    •  
    • First major operation, 1909. Pictured left to right are: Dr. T.H. Pleasants, Dr. F.F. Attix, Dr. Theobold Brice, Sister St. Charles, Sister Camille.
    • Steam tractor on Main Street, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Steam tractor in the middle of the 300 block of Main Street. The buildings in the background are on the north side of the street. They include (right to left) the Power Mercantile (1901), The Bon Ton (1893), unidentified, Stafford Harness (1890),...

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK
Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK