Skip to main content

Add or remove other collections to your search:



Narrow your search by:



You've searched: Central Montana Historical Photographs

  • All fields: 1911*
(43 results)



Display: 100

    • Ark Exchange Truck, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The Ark Exchange was a used furniture store. The building in the background is the Wise Block was located on the 500 block of Main Street. It was built in 1911 and burned in 1959.
    • Barta ranch on Ross Fork Creek.

    •  
    • Homesteads; Barta Family; Ross Fork Creek, Montana;
    • Frank Barta, Sr.'s home on Ross Fork Creek. It was built in 1911. People left to right: Tony Barta, Mildree Barta, Georgia Barta (on horse). Valeria Barta (standing).
    • Bell, Fred

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • Fred Bell was born in 1883 and came to Lewistown in 1910 due to the homestead act. He came from St. Paul Minnesota and worked in the Empire Bank and Trust Co. In 1911 he went to Minnesota to marry Mary Martinson. Their daughter is Mrs Elton Parrish...
    • Big Stone Barn livery stable

    •  
    • Stables;
    • It was located on the corner of 1st Avenue South and Janeaux Street. It faced 1st Avenue South. Pinkley and Deaton had a livery stable there in 1911. It was later the E. B. Andrus wholesale store (1930). At one time it was a roller skating rink.
    • Brickyard, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • The first plant owed its start and success primarily to one man, John Gretencort. It was this man who was the expert on clay products and was the general manager from 1911 until 1941. The swimming pool is seen in the background.
    • DeKalb, H. Leonard

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • H. Leonard DeKalb was born May 10, 1870 in Alexandria, Nebraska. He came to Lewistown in 1902. Judge DeKalb married Vera McClean in 1905. He was the City Attorney for 6 years. In 1917 he was the District Judge and resigned in 1918. In 1911 he and...
    • Dorothy Jones and her cousin Gust Edward Rosene.

    • 1900
    • Homesteads;
    • Both Gust Rosene and William Jones worked for the railroad in Waubay, S.D. They met and married 2 sisters Sophia and Anna B. Randall in Waubay. When the railroad moved into Montana they moved also and Gust went into his own dray business. William...
    • Frank Barta's ranch on Ross Fork Creek.

    •  
    • Ross Fork Creek, Montana; Barta Family;
    • Frank Barta's ranch on Ross Fork Creek. It was built in 1911. Henry is on horse, Helen Kojetin, Joe Barta. In car: Frank and Mary in back, Mildred and Valeria in front; Uncle Valeria standing; Georgia on horse.
    • Hanley, Dan

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • Daniel Hanley was born in Lowell, MA in 1867 and came to Lewistown in 1911. He died July 31, 1933. He was in the real estate and insurance business and was a land agent. He married Margaret Harrington in St. Paul, Minn.
    • Hauling fuel to the homestead.

    •  
    • Homesteads; Everson, Montana;
    • John Dickson and his sister, Gladys hauling fuel. Frank K. Kreutzjans (Big Frank) is the driver. Homestead in the background belongs to Mr. and Mrs. J. B. Dickson of Everson, Montana.
    • Hauling water up the hill.

    •  
    • Everson, Montana; Dickson family; Homesteads;
    • John and Gladys Dickson hauling water from the spring at their homestead at Everson, Montana.
    • Hilger, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The town of Hilger is named for David Hilger, born in Henderson, Minn. in 1857. He came to Helena when he was 10 with his family in a covered wagon, receiving his education in Helena and working for James Fergus who lived on a ranch near Helena....
    • Hilger, Montana

    •  
    • Wells Fargo and Co.; Milwaukee Railroad;
    • The town of Hilger is named for David Hilger, born in Henderson, Minn. in 1857. He came to Helena when he was 10 with his family in a covered wagon, receiving his education in Helena and working for James Fergus who lived on a ranch near Helena....
    • Hilger, Montana

    •  
    • Hilger, Montana;
    • The town of Hilger is named for David Hilger, born in Henderson, Minn. in 1857. He came to Helena when he was 10 with his family in a covered wagon, receiving his education in Helena and working for James Fergus who lived on a ranch near Helena....
    • Hilger, Montana

    •  
    • Hilger, Montana;
    • The town of Hilger is named for David Hilger, born in Henderson, Minn. in 1857. He came to Helena when he was 10 with his family in a covered wagon, receiving his education in Helena and working for James Fergus who lived on a ranch near Helena....
    • Hilger, Montana

    •  
    • Hilger, Montana;
    • The town of Hilger is named for David Hilger, born in Henderson, Minn. in 1857. He came to Helena when he was 10 with his family in a covered wagon, receiving his education in Helena and working for James Fergus who lived on a ranch near Helena....
    • Hilger, Montana

    • 1911-11-02
    • Hilger, Montana;
    • The town of Hilger is named for David Hilger, born in Henderson, Minn. in 1857. He came to Helena when he was 10 with his family in a covered wagon, receiving his education in Helena and working for James Fergus who lived on a ranch near Helena....
    • Hilger, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The town of Hilger is named for David Hilger, born in Henderson, Minn. in 1857. He came to Helena when he was 10 with his family in a covered wagon, receiving his education in Helena and working for James Fergus who lived on a ranch near Helena....
    • Hilger, Montana

    •  
    • Hilger, Montana; Blacksmiths; H. W. Vagts;
    • The town of Hilger is named for David Hilger, born in Henderson, Minn. in 1857. He came to Helena when he was 10 with his family in a covered wagon, receiving his education in Helena and working for James Fergus who lived on a ranch near Helena....
    • Homes of Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Homes;
    • Located at 712 7th Avenue North. Home of I. M. Hobensack (owner of the Judith Hardware) and was built in 1911.
    • Homes of Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Homes;
    • Located at 712 7th Avenue North. Home of I. M. Hobensack (owner of the Judith Hardware) and was built in 1911.
    • Homes of Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Wiedeman home at 204 W. Boulevard. It was built in 1905 and later changed to brick in 1915. Mr. Wiedeman started a local brick yard in 1911.
    • Homes of Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Wiedeman home at 204 W. Boulevard. It was built in 1905 and later changed to brick in 1915. Mr. Wiedeman started a local brick yard in 1911.
    • Homes of Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Homes;
    • Postcard showing 5 homes in Lewistown. Top right is the Wiedeman home at built in 1905 at 204 W. Boulevard; center is the Crowley residence at 208 8th Avenue North built in 1911; bottom left is Anna Yeager home built at 115 7th Avenue North in 1905.
    • Homes of Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Wiedeman home at 204 W. Boulevard. It was built in 1905 and later changed to brick in 1915. Mr. Wiedeman started a local brick yard in 1911.
    • Kendall, Montana

    • 1911
    • Kendall, Montana; Harry T. Kendall; North Moccasin Mountains;
    • “Harry T. Kendall, a prospector and visionary, bought a couple of claims in the North Moccasin Mountains in 1898. In 1900, a new corporation, the Kendall Gold Mining Company, was formed by Kendall and four other trustees with a capital stock of...
    • Lehman, Charles

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • Charles Frederick Lehman was born in Germany Aug 18, 1828. Came to New York, learned stone mason trade and helped build the portal of Lookout Mountain Tunnel in Tennessee. Married in New York, 1869 Mined at Virginia City and Last Chance Gulch. In...
    • Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • Buildings on the north side of the 500 block of Lewistown, Montana. From left to right: Bright Hotel (built 1906 to 1908 became the Burke Hotel in 1923 and it burned in 1959); Wise block (built 1911 burned in 1959); Imislund Building (built 1906);...
    • Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Freighting; Oxen teams;
    • Oxen team with a freight wagon is in the middle of the 500 block of Main Street. The first Lincoln school (built 1889 and torn down in 1911; it was also called the Brick School) is the building on the left in the distance.The Carnegie Library...
    • Lincoln School, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Located between 6th Avenue South and 7th Avenue South. It was built in 1889 and torn down in 1911. It was sometimes called the Brick School.
    • Lincoln School, Lewitown, Montana

    • 1914
    •  
    • Girls walking in front of the Lincoln School at 212 6th Avenue South. This view is from the 7th Avenue South side of the building. It was built in 1912 after the 1st Lincoln School (sometimes called the Brick School) was torn down in 1911.
    • Mackey building, Lewistown, Montana

    • 1955-07-16
    • Taverns; Saloons;
    • Located on the corner of Main Street and 2nd Avenue North. It was built in 1911 over the top of Spring Creek. Became the Montana Tavern. Clydesdale horses are in front of the building. The Clydesdale horses were photographed at every bar in...
    • Pinkley Stables, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Stables;
    • It was located on the corner of 1st Avenue South and Janeaux Street. It faced 1st Avenue South. Pinkley and Deaton had a livery stable there in 1911. It was later the E. B. Andrus wholesale store (1930). At one time it was a roller skating rink.
    • Pinkley Stables, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • It was located on the corner of 1st Avenue South and Janeaux Street. It faced 1st Avenue South. Pinkley and Deaton had a livery stable there in 1911. It was later the E. B. Andrus wholesale store (1930). At one time it was a roller skating rink....
    • Pinkley Stables, Lewistown, Montana.

    •  
    • Stables;
    • It was located on the corner of 1st Avenue South and Janeaux Street. It faced 1st Avenue South. Pinkley and Deaton had a livery stable there in 1911. It was later the E. B. Andrus wholesale store (1930). At one time it was a roller skating rink. It...
    • Woods, Billy

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • William (Billy) R. Woods was born in Bannack, Montana in 1864 and came to Fergus County in 1882. He was sheriff of Fergus County 1911-191. He married Stella M. Pyle of White Sulphur Springs.

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK
Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK