Skip to main content

Add or remove other collections to your search:



Narrow your search by:



You've searched: Central Montana Historical Photographs

  • All fields: 1913*
(187 results)



Display: 100

    • Aerial view of Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • View of Lewistown looking north east. Main Street runs through the center of the photo and the Fergus County Courthouse can be seen in the center left.
    • Aerial view of St. Joseph's Hospital, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The first unit was completed and opened on October 15, 1908. The first unit was built by Pete Tuss, a Croatian immigrant who came to Lewistown either in 1898 or 1899. The second unit, the longest of the five units, was started in 1913. John F....
    • Aerial view of St. Joseph's hospital, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The first unit was completed and opened on October 15, 1908. The first unit was built by Pete Tuss, a Croatian immigrant who came to Lewistown either in 1898 or 1899. The second unit, the longest of the five units, was started in 1913. John F....
    • Bank Electric building construction, Lewistown, Montana.

    • 1913
    • Buildings;
    • Located at 505 W. Main. The First National Bank and the Montana Power Company, growing with the town, retained the services of the local firm of Wasmansdorff and Eastman to design the Bank-Electric Building.
    • Bank of Fergus County, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • Located 223 W. Main. The building faces Main Street with its west side facing Third Avenue South. this is the second building occupied by the Bank of Fergus County. Note that the picture was taken before the streets were paved in 1913. Looking NE
    • Brooks block, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Brooks building is located at 207 W. Main. It was originally built in 1913. Side of the building being refurbished by Valach Construction
    • Burke Raiload Construction.

    •  
    • Railroads;
    • Daniel "Pickhandle" Burke in his tent. Burkes Construction camp near the cut in the ridge near the Theodore Lindsey ranch.
    • Burke Railroad Construction

    • 1913
    •  
    • Daniel “Pickhandle” Burke construction crew building the new Milwaukee Railroad extension from Lewistown to Hilger in summer of 1913.
    • Burke Railroad Construction

    •  
    •  
    • Daniel “Pickhandle” Burke construction crew building the new Milwaukee Railroad extension from Lewistown to Hilger.
    • Burke Railroad Construction

    •  
    • Railroads;
    • Daniel “Pickhandle” Burke construction crew building the new Milwaukee Railroad extension from Lewistown to Hilger.
    • Burke Railroad Construction

    •  
    • Railroads;
    • Daniel “Pickhandle” Burke construction crew building the new Milwaukee Railroad extension from Lewistown to Hilger.
    • Burke Railroad Construction

    •  
    • Railroads;
    • Daniel "Pickhandle" Burke on his horse. Daniel “Pickhandle” Burke construction crew built the new Milwaukee Railroad extension from Lewistown to Hilger.
    • Burke Railroad Construction

    •  
    • Railroads;
    • Daniel “Pickhandle” Burke construction crew built the new Milwaukee Railroad extension from Lewistown to Hilger.
    • Burke Railroad Construction

    •  
    • Railroads;
    • Burke Railroad camp; Daniel “Pickhandle” Burke construction crew built the new Milwaukee Railroad extension from Lewistown to Hilger.
    • Burke Railroad Construction

    •  
    • Railroads;
    • Daniel “Pickhandle” Burke construction crew built the new Milwaukee Railroad extension from Lewistown to Hilger.
    • Burke Railroad Construction

    •  
    • Railroads;
    • Daniel “Pickhandle” Burke construction crew built the new Milwaukee Railroad extension from Lewistown to Hilger.
    • Burke Railroad Construction

    •  
    • Railroads;
    • Daniel “Pickhandle” Burke construction crew built the new Milwaukee Railroad extension from Lewistown to Hilger.
    • Burke Railroad Construction

    •  
    • Railroads;
    • Daniel “Pickhandle” Burke construction crew built the new Milwaukee Railroad extension from Lewistown to Hilger
    • Burke Railroad Construction

    •  
    • Railroads;
    • Daniel “Pickhandle” Burke construction crew built the new Milwaukee Railroad extension from Lewistown to Hilger.
    • Busy Corner Store, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • View of the corner of 4th Avenue South and Main Street, Lewistown, Montana. View also shows Sweitzer's Department Store (built in 1913) at 311-315 W. Main.
    • Cars parked in middle of Main Street, Lewistown, MT

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • View from the 600 block of Main Street, Lewistown, MT. Creel Funeral Home (built 1913) on the right was originally the Marsh the Homemaker store. The Burke Hotel (built1906 as the Bright Hotel) is the large building on the left. An electric...
    • Clara Main

    •  
    • Clara Main;
    • Miss Clara Main was the librarian at the Lewistown Carnegie Library 1913-1941.
    • Crowley Block, Lewistown, Montana. 311 W. Main.

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • View shows the building from the back as it was being constructed. It was owned by Annie Crowley. The building next to it is the back of the Warr-Lane building as it was being constructed also. They were built in 1913.
    • Elephants on parade, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Circus parade on Main Street at the corner of 5th Avenue South and Main Street. The tall building on the left is the Fergus County Argus newspaper office, built in 1896 and replaced in 1913. The Lewistown Furniture Co. building address was 102-104...
    • Fergus County Argus Building, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • View of the Fergus County Argus Newspaper building (built 1896) on the corner of Main Street and 5th Avenue South. It was built in 1896 and replaced in 1913.
    • Firre wagon pulled by horses, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Fire Wagons;
    • Horses Jess and Gene pullling the fire wagon on Main Street at the corner of 5th Avenue. Buildings in the background are on the south side of the 400 block on Main Street.
    • Flour Mill and Judith Basin Milling Co., Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Flour Mills; Lewistown, Montana;
    • The flour mill was started by the Jackson brothers in 1886. They sold the mill in 1889 to Cyrus S. Stiles and William C. Waldorf who modernized it. The flour was sold under the brand name of “White Satin”. In 1895 they supplied electricity for...
    • Flour Mill, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The flour mill was started by the Jackson brothers in 1886. They sold the mill in 1889 to Cyrus S. Stiles and William C. Waldorf who modernized it. The flour was sold under the brand name of “White Satin”. In 1895 they supplied electricity for...
    • Flour Mill, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The flour mill was started by the Jackson brothers in 1886. They sold the mill in 1889 to Cyrus S. Stiles and William C. Waldorf who modernized it. The flour was sold under the brand name of “White Satin”. In 1895 they supplied electricity for...
    • Flour Mill, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Flour Mills; Lewistown, Montana;
    • The flour mill was started by the Jackson brothers in 1886. They sold the mill in 1889 to Cyrus S. Stiles and William C. Waldorf who modernized it. The flour was sold under the brand name of “White Satin”. In 1895 they supplied electricity for...
    • Flour Mill, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Flour Mills; Lewistown, Montana;
    • The flour mill was started by the Jackson brothers in 1886. They sold the mill in 1889 to Cyrus S. Stiles and William C. Waldorf who modernized it. The flour was sold under the brand name of “White Satin”. In 1895 they supplied electricity for...
    • Flour Mill, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Flour Mills; Lewistown, Montana;
    • The flour mill was started by the Jackson brothers in 1886. They sold the mill in 1889 to Cyrus S. Stiles and William C. Waldorf who modernized it. The flour was sold under the brand name of “White Satin”. In 1895 they supplied electricity for...
    • Flour Mill, Lewistown, Montana.

    •  
    • Flour Mills; Lewistown, Montana;
    • The flour mill was started by the Jackson brothers in 1886. They sold the mill in 1889 to Cyrus S. Stiles and William C. Waldorf who modernized it. The flour was sold under the brand name of “White Satin”. In 1895 they supplied electricity for...
    • Flour Mill, Lewistown, Montana.

    •  
    • Flour Mills; Lewistown, Montana;
    • The flour mill was started by the Jackson brothers in 1886. They sold the mill in 1889 to Cyrus S. Stiles and William C. Waldorf who modernized it. The flour was sold under the brand name of “White Satin”. In 1895 they supplied electricity for...
    • Flour Mill, Lewistown, Montana.

    •  
    • Flour Mills; Lewistown, Montana;
    • The flour mill was started by the Jackson brothers in 1886. They sold the mill in 1889 to Cyrus S. Stiles and William C. Waldorf who modernized it. The flour was sold under the brand name of “White Satin”. In 1895 they supplied electricity for...
    • Flour Mill, Lewistown, Montana.

    •  
    • Flour Mills; Lewistown, Montana;
    • The flour mill was started by the Jackson brothers in 1886. They sold the mill in 1889 to Cyrus S. Stiles and William C. Waldorf who modernized it. The flour was sold under the brand name of “White Satin”. In 1895 they supplied electricity for...
    • Flour Mill, Lewistown, Montana.

    •  
    • Flour Mills; Lewistown, Montana;
    • The flour mill was started by the Jackson brothers in 1886. They sold the mill in 1889 to Cyrus S. Stiles and William C. Waldorf who modernized it. The flour was sold under the brand name of “White Satin”. In 1895 they supplied electricity for...
    • Judith Basin Bank (right side) 502 W. Main, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Judith Basin Bank was built in 1899 on the corner of Main Street and 5th Avenue North (502 W. Main). The first officers of the bank were: Herman Otten, president; David Hilger, vice president; and Walter B. Miner, assistant cashier. The First...
    • Judith Basin Bank, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Banks;
    • Judith Basin Bank was built in 1899 on the corner of Main Street and 5th Avenue North (502 W. Main). The first officers of the bank were: Herman Otten, president; David Hilger, vice president; and Walter B. Miner, assistant cashier. The First...
    • Judith Basin Milling Co., Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Flour mill on East Main Street, Lewistown, Montana. The flour mill was started by the Jackson brothers in 1886. They sold the mill in 1889 to Cyrus S. Stiles and William C. Waldorf who modernized it. The flour was sold under the brand name of...
    • Judith Basin Milling Company, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Flour Mills; Lewistown, Montana;
    • The flour mill was started by the Jackson brothers in 1886. They sold the mill in 1889 to Cyrus S. Stiles and William C. Waldorf who modernized it. The flour was sold under the brand name of “White Satin”. In 1895 they supplied electricity for...
    • Kolin, Montana

    •  
    • Kolin, Montana;
    • Kolin, Montana. It’s post office opened in 1913 and closed in 1972. It is located about 20 miles west of Lewistown, Montana.
    • Kolin, Montana

    •  
    • Kolin, Montana;
    • George family home at Kolin, Montana. It’s post office opened in 1913 and closed in 1972. It is located about 20 miles west of Lewistown, Montana.
    • Kolin, Montana

    •  
    • Kolin, Montana; Railroads;
    • Kolin's post office opened in 1913 and closed in 1972. It is located about 20 miles west of Lewistown, Montana.
    • Kolin, Montana

    •  
    • Kolin, Montana;
    • Lee George (left), Hugh George, Ray George (died in war). Kolin, Montana. It’s post office opened in 1913 and closed in 1972. It is located about 20 miles west of Lewistown, Montana.
    • Lewistown Dairy Wagon, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Lewistown Dairy wagon. Beat John Kuhne was born on January 10, 1882, in Benken, St. Gallen, Switzerland. He immigrated to Montana in 1906 at the age of 24. He came to the Lewistown area at the urging of the former Joe King and worked as a hand for...
    • Lewistown Dairy, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Lewistown Dairy; Dairies;
    • Lewistown dairy from a distance. Beat John Kuhne was born on January 10, 1882, in Benken, St. Gallen, Switzerland. He immigrated to Montana in 1906 at the age of 24. He came to the Lewistown area at the urging of the former Joe King and worked as a...
    • Lewistown Dairy, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Lewistown Dairy; Dairies;
    • Dairy wagons with Carl Kuhne and Alex Fah. Beat John Kuhne was born on January 10, 1882, in Benken, St. Gallen, Switzerland. He immigrated to Montana in 1906 at the age of 24. He came to the Lewistown area at the urging of the former Joe King and...
    • Lewistown Dairy.

    •  
    • Lewistown Dairy, Lewistown, Montana; Dairies;
    • The dairy barn with cows. Beat John Kuhne was born on January 10, 1882, in Benken, St. Gallen, Switzerland. He immigrated to Montana in 1906 at the age of 24. He came to the Lewistown area at the urging of the former Joe King and worked as a hand...
    • Lewistown Hotel.

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • Located at 219 W. Main, this hotel (on the left) was also known as Hortop's Hotel. It was built in 1882-3 by Frank Moshner and was owned by Judge Toombs (later owned by Mr. Hortop). An addition was added in 1901. The hotel burned in 1904 and was...
    • Lewistown Hotel.

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • Located at 219 W. Main, this hotel (on the left) was also known as Hortop's Hotel. It was built in 1882-3 by Frank Moshner and was owned by Judge Toombs (later owned by Mr. Hortop). An addition was added in 1901. The hotel burned in 1904 and was...
    • Lewistown Hotel.

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • Located at 219 W. Main, this hotel (on the left) was also known as Hortop's Hotel. It was built in 1882-3 by Frank Moshner and was owned by Judge Toombs (later owned by Mr. Hortop). An addition was added in 1901. The hotel burned in 1904 and was...
    • Lewistown State Bank, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • Construction of the Lewistown State Bank (1913) at 423 W. Main. It replaces the former building built by the Fergus County Argus. The construction of the Bank-Electric building is also going on across the street. Main Street was paved also in 1913.
    • Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • View of Main Street Lewistown, Montana from the 600 block. The Bright Hotel (built in 1906 became the Burke Hotel in 1923) is on the far left. The tallest building on the right is the Bank-Electric building built in 1913. It has an electric flag on...
    • Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • View of the Bank-Electric Building at 505 W. Main. Notice the electric American flag on the top of the building.
    • Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • View of Main Street from the 600 block. Marsh the Homemaker building became the Creel Funeral Home. The Bright Hotel is on the tallest building on the left.
    • Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The Bright/Burke Hotel is on the far left with the Wise Block next to it. The Bank-Electric building is the tallest building on the right.
    • Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • View of Main Street from the 1100 Block looking northeast. The Courthouse is seen on the left and the Lincoln School (built 1912) can be seen in the middle right.
    • Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • South side of the 400 block on Main Street, Lewistown, MT. The H.H. Lang Block was built in 1904 and housed the Fergus County Hardware Co and the Fad Shoe and Clothing Co.The Slater Block in the middle was built in 1913 and housed the Myrtle...
    • Lewistown, Montana

    • 1913
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • Scovel's Bus on the corner of 4th Ave South just turning on to Main Street after a parade. View shows the buildings on the right side of the 400 block and the right and left side of the 300 block.
    • Lewistown, Montana

    • 1913
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • Men and machines on the 400 block of Main Streeet preparing the street to be paved.
    • Lewistown, Montana

    • 1913
    •  
    • Construction of the Bank-Electric building in 1913 at 505 W. Main. On the side of the next building is a painted sign for "Abel Bros. Wholesale abd Retail Meats and Provisions". A sign on the corner of the Bank-Electric building says "Wasmansdorff...

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK
Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK