Skip to main content

Add or remove other collections to your search:



Narrow your search by:



You've searched: Central Montana Historical Photographs

  • All fields: Canon
(1970 results)



Display: 100

    • Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Parade on the way to the dedication of the Courthouse, 1908.
    • Landusky, Montana

    •  
    • Landusky, Montana;
    • Landusky was named after Powell “Pike” Landusky. Pike Landusky and Bob Orman discoved a gold mine in 1893 which developed into a boom town.
    • Eagle Manor, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Retirement Homes;
    • Located on the south side of the 200 block. It was built in 1971 by the Lewistown Eagles Lodge.
    • Coal cart.

    •  
    • Coal Mining;
    • Coat cart being pulled to the surface by a wench in a building.
    • Pinkley Stables, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Stables;
    • It was located on the corner of 1st Avenue South and Janeaux Street. It faced 1st Avenue South. Pinkley and Deaton had a livery stable there in 1911. It was later the E. B. Andrus wholesale store (1930). At one time it was a roller skating rink.
    • Utica, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The town of Utica started in 1880 due to the discovery of gold in nearby Yogo Gulch and the establishment of a stage route from Fort Benton to Helena, which stopped there. Later Utica served as a stop on a Great Falls-Billings stagecoach line....
    • Wilder, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Wilder, Montana was located on the south side of the Missouri River about 15 miles west of the Mussellshell River in Montana. It had a post office from 1886 to 1939.
    • Calvert Hotel, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The Calvert Hotel was built in 1917 as a girl’s dormitory for the Fergus County High School. It was located at 216 7th Ave. South. On Aug. 21, 1925, it was reported by the school administration that Fergus High was broke due to the bank failures in...
    • Hilger, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The town of Hilger is named for David Hilger, born in Henderson, Minn. in 1857. He came to Helena when he was 10 with his family in a covered wagon, receiving his education in Helena and working for James Fergus who lived on a ranch near Helena....
    • Homes of Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • View of the Fergus County Courthouse, the back of the Rowley Home (721 W. Main), and the Blackford Home (713 W. Main-built 1909).
    • Flour Mill, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The flour mill was started by the Jackson brothers in 1886. They sold the mill in 1889 to Cyrus S. Stiles and William C. Waldorf who modernized it. The flour was sold under the brand name of “White Satin”. In 1895 they supplied electricity for...
    • Homes of Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Wiedeman home at 204 W. Boulevard. It was built in 1905 and later changed to brick in 1915. Mr. Wiedeman started a local brick yard in 1911.
    • Fire wagon, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Fire wagon pulled by two horses on the 500 block of Janeaux Street, Lewistown, MT. The first Presbyterian Church (built 1892 and torn down in 1892) is in the background, it was located on the corner of Janeaux and 5th Avenue South.
    • Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Freighting;
    • Freight team in front of the Golden Rule Store (400 block on Main Street, Lewistown, MT). The Judith Basin Bank (built 1899) is on the corner with the curved doorway and the old Courthouse is on the far left. The first part of the Burke Hotel is...
    • Park Market, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Grocery Stores;
    • Park Market was located at 514 Cook Street and was owned by John and Norma Gilmore. They bought the property where Mike Soule had once run a small grocery and confectionary store and improved the property and opened the Park Market in the spring of...
    • Fergus County Courthouse, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Courthouses;
    • Interior of the old Fergus County Courthouse. A group of officials are gathered around the judges bench and tables. Back row L-R: William Woods, Frank E. Smith, Judge Dubois, J. Wareham, ? Simons, C.M. Goodell, Wm PErkins, Fr Cliff Lindsey, Judge...
    • Moore, Montana

    •  
    • Moore, Montana;
    • Main Street of Moore, Montana. Various signs on the buildings read: David Drug Co.; M & M Buffet; The Moore Mercantile Co.; State Bank; and Catlin's Restaurant Chop House. The Moore School is at the end of the street.
    • Maiden, Montana

    •  
    • Louis Belanger;
    • Montana Street, 1886, Maiden, Montana
    • Lehman family in yard

    •  
    • Lehman Family;
    • Five women and three children sitting in a backyard. Woman on the far left is Mrs. Bach and the woman second from the right is Helen Lehman Warr.
    • Trapp, Arthur E.

    •  
    • A. E. Trapp; Pioneers;
    • A.E. Trapp, Austin Rees Warr, Ronald Nicols and ? Myers. Arthur Trapp was a bookkepper for Charles Lehman Co. Lewistown, Montana in 1908-1912. He was born in 1879 in Minnesota and died 1953.
    • Goodell, Mrs C.W.

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • Millie Godell. She was married to Clarence M. Goodell Aug 15, 1880. She was born Aug 10, 1859 in Taylorville, ILL. They ranched near Hobson, MT.
    • Foran, Hazel

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • Hazel Foran was born Mar 24, 1889 at Water Loo, New Hampshire to Daniel and Caroline Bean. She died on July 19, 1955. Her husband was Charles J. Foran.
    • Osweiler, Peter

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • Peter Osweiler was born Mar 21, 1880 in Brighton, Wisconsin and died Oct 18, 1951.
    • Van den Broeck, Rev. Victor

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • Victor Van Den Broeck came from Belgium in 1907. He was involved in the building of the Catholic Church on Broadway Street, Lewistown, Montana
    • Bank of Fergus County, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Banks;
    • This is the interior of the Bank of Fergus County which was built in 1904 at 221 W. Main. It replaced the first Bank of Fergus County which was built in 1887 and burned in 1904 when the Lewistown Hotel (next door) burned. The bank later moved into...
    • Wilder, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Wilder, Montana was located on the south side of the Missouri River about 15 miles west of the Mussellshell River in Montana. It had a post office from 1886 to 1939.
    • Utica, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The town of Utica started in 1880 due to the discovery of gold in nearby Yogo Gulch and the establishment of a stage route from Fort Benton to Helena, which stopped there. Later Utica served as a stop on a Great Falls-Billings stagecoach line....
    • Landusky, Montana

    •  
    • Landusky, Montana;
    • Ore mill. Landusky was named after Powell “Pike” Landusky. Pike Landusky and Bob Orman discoved a gold mine in 1893 which developed into a boom town.
    • Moccasin, Montana

    •  
    • Moccasin, Montana; Schools;
    • Moccasin High School class and teachers. Moccasin was named after the Moccasin Mountains. It was a town on the Great Northern Railway and was located in the productive wheat growing area of Montana.
    • A & R (Allen and Robinson) building, Lewistown, Montana.

    •  
    • J. H. Akins; C. H. Williams; Seiden Drug Store; Drug Stores;
    • It was built in 1903 at 416 W. Main. It was the location of the Golden Rule Store owned by J. H. Akins. C.H. Williams, who removed his drug business from Maiden to Lewistown in 1895 established his business in the Allen & Robinson Building in 1904....
    • CCC truck, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • CCC (Civilian Conservation Corps);
    • The truck is parked on the 100 block of 5th Avenue North, Lewistown, Montana
    • Stagecoach

    •  
    • Stagecoaches;
    • People sitting on an abandoned stagecoach.
    • Utica, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The town of Utica started in 1880 due to the discovery of gold in nearby Yogo Gulch and the establishment of a stage route from Fort Benton to Helena, which stopped there. Later Utica served as a stop on a Great Falls-Billings stagecoach line....
    • Wilder, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Elmer Turner. Wilder, Montana was located on the south side of the Missouri River about 15 miles west of the Mussellshell River in Montana. It had a post office from 1886 to 1939.
    • Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Scheidt Brothers Jewelers was located at 410 W. Main. The building on the right is the Empire Block.
    • Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • The corner of Main Street and 5th Ave. South, Lewistown Mont. The Argus Newspaper office (1896-1913) is on the far left. A sleigh is in the center of 5th Ave. South. The Dark Horse Stable shows beyond the Argus Office (5th Avenue) and the spire...
    • Lewistown Dairy Wagon, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Lewistown Dairy wagon. Beat John Kuhne was born on January 10, 1882, in Benken, St. Gallen, Switzerland. He immigrated to Montana in 1906 at the age of 24. He came to the Lewistown area at the urging of the former Joe King and worked as a hand for...
    • Methodist Church, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Methodist Church (built 1904) was located at 512 W. Broadway, Lewistown, MT. The Culver/Coulter Studio building is on the right and Scovel's Transfer Co. is on the left side next to the church. The Broadway Apartments can be seen on the far left.
    • Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • Buildings on the north side of the 300 block on Main Street. A freight wagon is parked in front of Carson's Saloon (later called the Bon Ton). The other buildings on the block were built in the 1890's except for the building on the far left which...
    • Moore, Montana

    •  
    • Moore, Montana;
    • Railroad depot and tracks at Moore, Montana are in the foreground. Buildings of the town are on the right.
    • Kitch's Cheese Mart, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • Kitch’s Cheese Mart was 1 mile west of Lewistown. It was run by Tootie and Don Kitchenmaster and later by Bob and Ruth McNeil. It was open during the 1980’s and 1990’s.
    • Young girl and her doll

    •  
    • Lehman family;
    • Young girl (maybe a granddaughter of the Lehman family) sitting on the steps gazing at her doll
    • Hanley, Dan

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • Daniel Hanley was born in Lowell, MA in 1867 and came to Lewistown in 1911. He died July 31, 1933. He was in the real estate and insurance business and was a land agent. He married Margaret Harrington in St. Paul, Minn.
    • Fowler, Donald

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • Donald Fowler was born Feb 23, 1850 near Ross shire, near Inverness Scotland and died Mar 9, 1932. He was married to Annie W. McLennan in 1876. He was county assessor in 1898 and 1900. He came to America in 1876 and to Montana in 1880 and went into...
    • Otten, Herman

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • Herman Otten was born near Hanover, Germany in 1838. He went to San Francisco for 4 years. He then went to Nevada and worked in the stamp mills. In 1865 he came to Montana and located near Deer Lodge. Later he went to Texas in 1870 and drove a band...
    • Von Tobel, Rudolph

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • Rudolph von Tobel was born in Auburn, New York on Feb 13, 1855 and came to Lewistown, Montana in 1883. He was a member of the 4th Legislative Assembly of Montana in 1895 and he was the first city attorney. He married Anna Theresa Zilisch, a school...
    • Swimming pool at Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Swimming pools;
    • This was a natural spring-fed pool which also received water piped in from Spring Creek. It was replaced by the current pool in the late 1960s. The park was renamed the Frank Day Park, located at Cook Street and 6th Avenue south.
    • Abel, John

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • John Abel was born March 26, 1877 (Germany) and died May 5, 1939. He came to Montana in 1884 and he owned the Abel Bros meat market and creamery.
    • Gold Bar, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • View shows the corner of Janeaux Street and 5th Avenue South. The Gold Bar was located at 109 5th AvenueSouth.
    • Homes of Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • David Hilger's home at 706 W. Boulevard. This house was originally built at Fort Maginnis which existed 1880-1890. The house was dismantled and moved to this site in Lewistown.
    • Homes of Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • David Hilger's home at 706 W. Boulevard. This house was originally built at Fort Maginnis which existed 1880-1890. The house was dismantled and moved to this site in Lewistown.
    • Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • Main Street of Lewistown from the 700 block. The Courthouse is on the far left and the Burke Hotel shows in the center of the photo. Judith Mountains are visible in the background.
    • Culver Studio, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Photographers;
    • Located at 212 5th Avenue North. William H. Culver was the first photographer to set up a business in Lewistown in 1886. He moved to Lewistown from Maiden, Montana where he had been the photographer from 1883-1886.
    • Lewistown Grocery Truck, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Lewistown Grocery Company truck is parked in a field with a man sitting at the wheel. The first high school and gymnasium can be seen through the back of the truck.
    • Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • Area included is Washington Street to Virginia Street between the 200 and 300 blocks. Hawthorne School (built 1899, demolished 1918) is shown on far left (top). Home on the left was used for a short time as the Courthouse until the first Courthouse...
    • Lehman Co, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Charles Lehman Co, located on the corner of Main Street and 5th Avenue North. It was built in 1892-1893

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK
Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK