Skip to main content

Add or remove other collections to your search:



Narrow your search by:



You've searched: Central Montana Historical Photographs

  • All fields: Frank
(82 results)



Display: 100

    • Fergus County Courthouse, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Courthouses;
    • Interior of the old Fergus County Courthouse. A group of officials are gathered around the judges bench and tables. Back row L-R: William Woods, Frank E. Smith, Judge Dubois, J. Wareham, ? Simons, C.M. Goodell, Wm PErkins, Fr Cliff Lindsey, Judge...
    • Swimming pool at Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Swimming pools;
    • This was a natural spring-fed pool which also received water piped in from Spring Creek. It was replaced by the current pool in the late 1960s. The park was renamed the Frank Day Park, located at Cook Street and 6th Avenue south.
    • Empire Block, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • View of the Empire Bank and Trust Co. building (built 1908) located on the corner of Main Street and 4th Avenue North. The Day House once on the same location as the Empire building was moved to Broadway Street and 4th Avenue North and can be seen...
    • Lewistown Hotel.

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • Located at 219 W. Main, this hotel (on the left) was also known as Hortop's Hotel. It was built in 1882-3 by Frank Moshner and was owned by Judge Toombs (later owned by Mr. Hortop). An addition was added in 1901. The hotel burned in 1904 and was...
    • Lewistown Hotel.

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • Located at 219 W. Main, this hotel (on the left) was also known as Hortop's Hotel. It was built in 1882-3 by Frank Moshner and was owned by Judge Toombs (later owned by Mr. Hortop). An addition was added in 1901. The hotel burned in 1904 and was...
    • Swimming pool at Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Swimming pools;
    • This was a natural spring-fed pool which also received water piped in from Spring Creek. It was replaced by the current pool in the late 1960s. The park was renamed the Frank Day Park, located at Cook Street and 6th Avenue south.
    • Lewistown Hotel.

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • Located at 219 W. Main, this hotel (on the left) was also known as Hortop's Hotel. It was built in 1882-3 by Frank Moshner and was owned by Judge Toombs (later owned by Mr. Hortop). An addition was added in 1901. The hotel burned in 1904 and was...
    • Swimming pool at Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Swimming pools;
    • This was a natural spring-fed pool which also received water piped in from Spring Creek. It was replaced by the current pool in the late 1960s. The park was renamed the Frank Day Park, located at Cook Street and 6th Avenue south.
    • Fergus County Officers, Lewistown, Montana.

    •  
    • Fergus County Officials, Lewistown, Montana;
    • This group of men were the first Fergus County Officers elected. 1888. Back row left to right: Rudolph von Tobel, C. E. Fell, D.A. Meagher, Frank E. Smith. Middle row: Edward P. Chandler, William Berkin, J. P. Barnes, bottom row: W. H. Kelly, F.E....
    • Swimming pool at Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Swimming pools;
    • This was a natural spring-fed pool which also received water piped in from Spring Creek. It was replaced by the current pool in the late 1960s. The park was renamed the Frank Day Park, located at Cook Street and 6th Avenue south.
    • Red River Carts on 5th Avenue, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Metis; Red River Carts;
    • Carts are in front of Dr. W. F. Hanson's office located on 5th Avenue South 1 block east of Main Street. George T. Bach and his sister Emily are on the front porch. The house on the far right is Frank Moshner's and next to it was the Methodist...
    • Barta Family

    •  
    • Barta Family;
    • Josephine Barta, Marie Barta (Miller), Agnes Barta Geycan, Henry Barta, Frank Barta, Jr.
    • Swimming pool at Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Swimming pools;
    • This was a natural spring-fed pool which also received water piped in from Spring Creek. It was replaced by the current pool in the late 1960s. The park was renamed the Frank Day Park, located at Cook Street and 6th Avenue South.
    • Lewistown Band, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Musical instruments;
    • The six men standing behind the first row include Frank Moshner, who play¬ed the B flat bass; Bart Noble, baritone; Joe Norman, second, ten¬or; Billy Kelly, first alto; J. T. Douglass, solo alto, and Dick Dick¬ensheit, first tenor. In the front...
    • Swimming pool at Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Swimming pools;
    • This was a natural spring-fed pool which also received water piped in from Spring Creek. It was replaced by the current pool in the late 1960s. The park was renamed the Frank Day Park, located at Cook Street and 6th Avenue South.
    • Yaeger, Frank, Rosalie

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • Frank Anton was born Mar 18, 1849 and died Feb 18, 1920. He was a rancher near Glengarry. Rosalie was born Aug 6, 1865 in Switzerland and died July 20, 1938. She was the daughter of Joseph Regli. Her husband was Frank A. Yaeger.
    • Swimming pool at Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Swimming pools;
    • This was a natural spring-fed pool which also received water piped in from Spring Creek. It was replaced by the current pool in the late 1960s. The park was renamed the Frank Day Park, located at Cook Street and 6th Avenue South.
    • Yaeger, Rudolf & Elsbeth

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • Rudolph was born Oct 20, 1901 and died April 23, 1969. He was the son of Frank Yaeger and married to Elsbeth. was born Feb 16, 1900 and died Jan 24, 1990. Elsbeth was the daughter of Anton King.
    • Swimming pool at Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Swimming pools;
    • This was a natural spring-fed pool which also received water piped in from Spring Creek. It was replaced by the current pool in the late 1960s. The park was renamed the Frank Day Park, located at Cook Street and 6th Avenue South.
    • Swimming pool at Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Swimming pools;
    • This was a natural spring-fed pool which also received water piped in from Spring Creek. It was replaced by the current pool in the late 1960s. The park was renamed the Frank Day Park, located at Cook Street and 6th Avenue South. Harold Slater is...
    • Moore, Montana baseball team

    •  
    •  
    • Front row: Walt Fitzwater (second from left) and Clark Combs (far right); second row second from left H. C. Redman, Sam Tilzey, Al Fleming and David Vogel; Standing in back are Andy Mathews (left) and Frank Wolf; Miller Mathews child sitting in...
    • Swimming pool at Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Swimming pools; Ice skating;
    • Ice skaters on pond. This was a natural spring-fed pool which also received water piped in from Spring Creek. It was replaced by the current pool in the late 1960s. The park was renamed the Frank Day Park, located at Cook Street and 6th Avenue...
    • Swimming pool at Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Swimming pools;
    • This was a natural spring-fed pool which also received water piped in from Spring Creek. It was replaced by the current pool in the late 1960s. The park was renamed the Frank Day Park, located at Cook Street and 6th Avenue South.
    • Cummings, Frank L.

    •  
    • World War l; Textbook burning;
    • Frank L. Cummings was principal of the Fergus County High School, Lewistown, Montana from 1916-1923. He trained at the University of Chicago where he earned both his A.B. and A.M. degrees. To accommodate the farm boys who could not attend the full...
    • Swimming pool.

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • This was a natural spring-fed pool which also received water piped in from Spring Creek. It was replaced by the current pool in the late 1960s. The park was renamed the Frank Day Park, located at Cook Street and 6th Avenue south.
    • Maiden, Montana

    •  
    • Maiden, Montana; Freighting;
    • Last bull teams in Maiden. “Skookum Joe” Anderson, David Jones, Frank “Pony” McPartland, J. R. Kemper, C. Snow and others, were credited with the discovery of the mines of the Maiden District. In May, 1880, “Skookum Joe” and Jones...
    • Scovel, Frank

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • Franklin Bristol Scovel was born Sep 6, 1857 in Kirksville, MO. and died Sep 27, 1923. He came to Montana in 1882 where he drove stagecoach between Oka and Ubet, Montana. Later he engaged in ranching operating what was then known as the Posey...
    • Lewistown Public Library, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Libraries;
    • Lincoln School in the background (left side). The manifest desire” for a public library stirred early in Lewistown, Montana. In January 1897, two full years prior to Lewistown’s incorporation, Frank E. Smith, a local attorney, delivered a...
    • Cummings, Frank

    •  
    • Principals;
    • Frank Cummings was principal at the Fergus County High School 1917-1923.
    • Carnegie Library, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Libraries;
    • The first Lincoln School is shown in the background on the left. The “manifest desire” for a public library stirred early in Lewistown, Montana. In January 1897, two full years prior to Lewistown’s incorporation, Frank E. Smith, a local...
    • Maiden, Montana

    •  
    • Maiden, Montana;
    • “Skookum Joe” Anderson, David Jones, Frank “Pony” McPartland, J. R. Kemper, C. Snow and others, were credited with the discovery of the mines of the Maiden District. In May, 1880, “Skookum Joe” and Jones located placer mines in Virgin...
    • Swimming pool.

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • This was a natural spring-fed pool which also received water piped in from Spring Creek. It was replaced by the current pool in the late 1960s. The park was renamed the Frank Day Park, located at Cook Street and 6th Avenue south.
    • Swimming pool.

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • This was a natural spring-fed pool which also received water piped in from Spring Creek. It was replaced by the current pool in the late 1960s. The park was renamed the Frank Day Park, located at Cook Street and 6th Avenue south.
    • Daily, Clara

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • Mr. and Mrs. Frank Dailey came to Montana in 1882 and lived near Bozeman until 1884 when they came to Fergus County. They came in a covered wagon. They homesteaded on the southeastern edge of Lewistown. They had both range and dairy cattle and sold...
    • Lewistown Public Library, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Libraries;
    • The “manifest desire” for a public library stirred early in Lewistown, Montana. In January 1897, two full years prior to Lewistown’s incorporation, Frank E. Smith, a local attorney, delivered a lecture and during its course he “deviated...
    • Swimming pool.

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • This was a natural spring-fed pool which also received water piped in from Spring Creek. It was replaced by the current pool in the late 1960s. The park was renamed the Frank Day Park, located at Cook Street and 6th Avenue south.
    • Lewistown Public Library, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Libraries;
    • View of the SW corner of 7th Ave South. Laying of the cornerstone for the library. The “manifest desire” for a public library stirred early in Lewistown, Montana. In January 1897, two full years prior to Lewistown’s incorporation, Frank E....
    • Day House at Reedsfort.

    •  
    • Reedsfort; Frank Day; Jacob Holzemer;
    • The Day House was built by Frank Day and Jacob Holzemer. Reedsfort was one of the earliest settlements in the area which blended with the settlement of Lewistown to become one town. The Day House was moved from Reedsfort to the corner of Main...
    • Hauling fuel to the homestead.

    •  
    • Homesteads; Everson, Montana;
    • John Dickson and his sister, Gladys hauling fuel. Frank K. Kreutzjans (Big Frank) is the driver. Homestead in the background belongs to Mr. and Mrs. J. B. Dickson of Everson, Montana.
    • Lewistown Public Library, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Libraries;
    • The “manifest desire” for a public library stirred early in Lewistown, Montana. In January 1897, two full years prior to Lewistown’s incorporation, Frank E. Smith, a local attorney, delivered a lecture and during its course he “deviated...
    • Maiden, Montana

    •  
    • Maiden, Montana;
    • “Skookum Joe” Anderson, David Jones, Frank “Pony” McPartland, J. R. Kemper, C. Snow and others, were credited with the discovery of the mines of the Maiden District. In May, 1880, “Skookum Joe” and Jones located placer mines in Virgin...
    • Lewistown Public Library, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Libraries;
    • The “manifest desire” for a public library stirred early in Lewistown, Montana. In January 1897, two full years prior to Lewistown’s incorporation, Frank E. Smith, a local attorney, delivered a lecture and during its course he “deviated...
    • Lewistown Public Library, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Libraries;
    • The “manifest desire” for a public library stirred early in Lewistown, Montana. In January 1897, two full years prior to Lewistown’s incorporation, Frank E. Smith, a local attorney, delivered a lecture and during its course he “deviated...
    • Maiden, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Tom McGee saloon. “Skookum Joe” Anderson, David Jones, Frank “Pony” McPartland, J. R. Kemper, C. Snow and others, were credited with the discovery of the mines of the Maiden District. In May, 1880, “Skookum Joe” and Jones located placer...
    • Carnegie Public Library, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Libraries;
    • 2nd floor of the Library. Interior of the Library. The “manifest desire” for a public library stirred early in Lewistown, Montana. In January 1897, two full years prior to Lewistown’s incorporation, Frank E. Smith, a local attorney, delivered...
    • Maiden, Montana

    •  
    • Maiden, Montana;
    • Culver studio building.“Skookum Joe” Anderson, David Jones, Frank “Pony” McPartland, J. R. Kemper, C. Snow and others, were credited with the discovery of the mines of the Maiden District. In May, 1880, “Skookum Joe” and Jones located...
    • Day, Frank

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • Frank Day came to Fergus County in 1882 and bought 120 acres of land from Major Reed at Reedsfort. He built the old and popular Day House Hotel at Reedsfort and later moved it to Lewistown at the corner of Main Street and 4th Avenue North. He...
    • Barta ranch on Ross Fork Creek.

    •  
    • Homesteads; Barta Family; Ross Fork Creek, Montana;
    • Frank Barta, Sr.'s home on Ross Fork Creek. It was built in 1911. People left to right: Tony Barta, Mildree Barta, Georgia Barta (on horse). Valeria Barta (standing).
    • Lewistown Public Library, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Libraries;
    • The “manifest desire” for a public library stirred early in Lewistown, Montana. In January 1897, two full years prior to Lewistown’s incorporation, Frank E. Smith, a local attorney, delivered a lecture and during its course he “deviated...
    • Swimming Pool, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • This was a natural spring-fed pool which also received water piped in from Spring Creek. It was replaced by the current pool in the late 1960s. The park was renamed the Frank Day Park, located at Cook Street and 6th Avenue South.
    • Frank Barta's ranch on Ross Fork Creek.

    •  
    • Ross Fork Creek, Montana; Barta Family;
    • Frank Barta's ranch on Ross Fork Creek. It was built in 1911. Henry is on horse, Helen Kojetin, Joe Barta. In car: Frank and Mary in back, Mildred and Valeria in front; Uncle Valeria standing; Georgia on horse.
    • Maiden, Montana

    •  
    • Maiden, Montana;
    • Maiden from the east, before 1896. “Skookum Joe” Anderson, David Jones, Frank “Pony” McPartland, J. R. Kemper, C. Snow and others, were credited with the discovery of the mines of the Maiden District. In May, 1880, “Skookum Joe” and...
    • Southworth, Frank

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • Frank Southworth's family came to Fergus County in 1914 from Nebraska. They homesteaded 20 miles east of Roy, Mt. He traveled by train to go to Fergus High School in Lewistown, Montana.
    • Maiden, Montana

    •  
    • Maiden, Montana;
    • “Skookum Joe” Anderson, David Jones, Frank “Pony” McPartland, J. R. Kemper, C. Snow and others, were credited with the discovery of the mines of the Maiden District. In May, 1880, “Skookum Joe” and Jones located placer mines in Virgin...
    • Lewistown Public Library, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Libraries;
    • The “manifest desire” for a public library stirred early in Lewistown, Montana. In January 1897, two full years prior to Lewistown’s incorporation, Frank E. Smith, a local attorney, delivered a lecture and during its course he “deviated...
    • Southworth, Murna

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • Murna Martin Southworth came with her parents to Roy, Montana where they homesteaded in 1913 from Nebraska. Her family moved to Lewistown in 1918. She married Frank Southworth.
    • Building a Homestead.

    •  
    • Homesteads; Barta Family;
    • Frank Barrta (standing) and others building his homestead.
    • Lewistown Public Library, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Libraries;
    • The “manifest desire” for a public library stirred early in Lewistown, Montana. In January 1897, two full years prior to Lewistown’s incorporation, Frank E. Smith, a local attorney, delivered a lecture and during its course he “deviated...
    • Maiden, Montana

    •  
    • Maiden, Montana;
    • “Skookum Joe” Anderson, David Jones, Frank “Pony” McPartland, J. R. Kemper, C. Snow and others, were credited with the discovery of the mines of the Maiden District. In May, 1880, “Skookum Joe” and Jones located placer mines in Virgin...
    • Swimming pool.

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • This was a natural spring-fed pool which also received water piped in from Spring Creek. It was replaced by the current pool in the late 1960s. The park was renamed the Frank Day Park, located at Cook Street and 6th Avenue South. The man in the...
    • Maiden, Montana

    • 1883
    • Maiden, Montana;
    • A residence, laundry and a boarding house. “Skookum Joe” Anderson, David Jones, Frank “Pony” McPartland, J. R. Kemper, C. Snow and others, were credited with the discovery of the mines of the Maiden District. In May, 1880, “Skookum Joe”...
    • Maiden, Montana

    • 1883
    • Maiden, Montana; Freighting;
    • “Skookum Joe” Anderson, David Jones, Frank “Pony” McPartland, J. R. Kemper, C. Snow and others, were credited with the discovery of the mines of the Maiden District. In May, 1880, “Skookum Joe” and Jones located placer mines in Virgin...
    • Maiden, Montana

    • 1890
    • Maiden, Montana;
    • Looking west down Montana Street. Prior to the big fire of 1905. Circa 1890's. “Skookum Joe” Anderson, David Jones, Frank “Pony” McPartland, J. R. Kemper, C. Snow and others, were credited with the discovery of the mines of the Maiden...
    • Maiden, Montana

    • 1896-1897
    • Maiden, Montana;
    • “Skookum Joe” Anderson, David Jones, Frank “Pony” McPartland, J. R. Kemper, C. Snow and others, were credited with the discovery of the mines of the Maiden District. In May, 1880, “Skookum Joe” and Jones located placer mines in Virgin...
    • Maiden, Montana

    • 1896-1897
    • Maiden, Montana;
    • Used in U.S. Geological survey report of 1896-97, p. 512. “Skookum Joe” Anderson, David Jones, Frank “Pony” McPartland, J. R. Kemper, C. Snow and others, were credited with the discovery of the mines of the Maiden District. In May, 1880,...
    • Bank of Fergus County, Lewistown, Montana

    • 1904
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • Bank of Fergus county is on the right. Lewistown Hotel was built in 1882-83 by Frank Moshner for Judge Toombs. It was later owned by Mr. Hortop. At the time it burned in 1904 it was owned by Frank E. Wright. The Bank of Fergus County was damaged to...
    • Maiden, Montana

    • 1905
    • Maiden, Montana;
    • Looking towards the southwest. After the fire in 1905. “Skookum Joe” Anderson, David Jones, Frank “Pony” McPartland, J. R. Kemper, C. Snow and others, were credited with the discovery of the mines of the Maiden District. In May, 1880,...
    • Lewistown Public Library, Lewistown, Montana

    • 1906
    • Libraries; Buggies;
    • The “manifest desire” for a public library stirred early in Lewistown, Montana. In January 1897, two full years prior to Lewistown’s incorporation, Frank E. Smith, a local attorney, delivered a lecture and during its course he “deviated...
    • Class of 1906, Lewistown, Montana.

    • 1906
    •  
    • View of seventeen members of the Fergus High School class of 1906. Each person is holding a diploma. Back row: Georgia Stuart, Charles Groupe, Elizabeth Phillips, Etheta Daugherty, Henrietta Von Tobel, Ann Hobensack, Madge Eldridge; Center row:...
    • Barta wedding

    • 1912-05-14
    • Danvers, Montana; Homesteads; Weddings; Barta family;
    • May 14, 1912, was a special date for Frank Barta, Sr. and Mary Kostaris Barta’s three sons, Frank, Jr., Anton (Tony) and Joe. On that date, the three young men were wed to three young ladies in a triple wedding ceremony.
    • Wedding of three brothers.

    • 1912-05-14
    • Danvers, Montana; Barta Family;
    • Triple wedding of three bothers and their spouses. Anton and Jennie (Simacek) Barta; Frank and Josephine (Tucek) Barta; Joe and Helen (Kojetin) Barta. Parents of the grooms on each side of the priest in the front row. They were married by Father...
    • Lewistown Public Library, Lewistown, Montana

    • 1915
    • Libraries;
    • View of the Library and the Blackford house. The “manifest desire” for a public library stirred early in Lewistown, Montana. In January 1897, two full years prior to Lewistown’s incorporation, Frank E. Smith, a local attorney, delivered a...
    • Maiden, Montana

    • 1920
    • Maiden, Montana;
    • “Skookum Joe” Anderson, David Jones, Frank “Pony” McPartland, J. R. Kemper, C. Snow and others, were credited with the discovery of the mines of the Maiden District. In May, 1880, “Skookum Joe” and Jones located placer mines in Virgin...
    • Maiden, Montana

    • 1939
    • Maiden, Montana; Frank Bryant.;
    • George Wieglenda purchased this house in Maiden in 1905. It was his residence and assay office. He let Frank and Della Bryant live in it in the 30's and 40's. It was moved by Pat Hanley in 1980 and is still located in Maiden. “Skookum Joe”...
    • Maiden, Montana

    • 1940
    • Maiden, Montana;
    • Looking towards the south east. George and Helen Wieglenda residence upper right-white house. “Skookum Joe” Anderson, David Jones, Frank “Pony” McPartland, J. R. Kemper, C. Snow and others, were credited with the discovery of the mines of...
    • Yaeger, Frank and Ina

    • 1971
    • Pioneers;
    • Frank was the son of Frank and Rosalie Yaeger. He was born March 1, 1894 in Fergus County and died Feb 26, 1972 in Lewistown. Alexina Christina McMillan was the daughter of Angus and Annie McMillan and was born August 10, 1895 in Fergus Co. She...

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK
Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK