Skip to main content

Add or remove other collections to your search:



Narrow your search by:



You've searched: Central Montana Historical Photographs

  • All fields: Historical
(2301 results)



Display: 100

    • A & R (Allen and Robinson) building, Lewistown, Montana.

    •  
    • J. H. Akins; C. H. Williams; Seiden Drug Store; Drug Stores;
    • It was built in 1903 at 416 W. Main. It was the location of the Golden Rule Store owned by J. H. Akins. C.H. Williams, who removed his drug business from Maiden to Lewistown in 1895 established his business in the Allen & Robinson Building in 1904....
    • A. K. and Willa (Snartland) Raundal wedding photo.

    • 1916
    • Fergus County, Montana;
    • Willa Snartland married A.K. Raundal after she had been on her homestead 6 months. Earlier her brother had filed for the homestead but he got sick and so she moved into the homestead to take over for her brother. The homestead was located southeast...
    • A. K. and Willa Raundal at Homestead 1916

    • 1916
    • Homesteads; Fergus County, Montana;
    • Willa Snartland married A.K. Raundal after she had been on her homestead 6 months. Earlier her brother had filed for the homestead but he got sick and so she moved into the homestead to take over for her brother. The homestead was located southeast...
    • Abel, John

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • John Abel was born March 26, 1877 (Germany) and died May 5, 1939. He came to Montana in 1884 and he owned the Abel Bros meat market and creamery.
    • Aerial View of Central Montana

    • 1972-10-18
    •  
    • ERTS (satellite) took this photo from 570 miles in space. The Snowy Mountains are seen in the bottom right, the Little Belt Mountains are in the bottom left and the Judith and Moccasin Mountains are seen in the middle.
    • Aerial view of St. Joseph's Hospital, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The first unit was completed and opened on October 15, 1908. The first unit was built by Pete Tuss, a Croatian immigrant who came to Lewistown either in 1898 or 1899. The second unit, the longest of the five units, was started in 1913. John F....
    • Aerial view of St. Joseph's hospital, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The first unit was completed and opened on October 15, 1908. The first unit was built by Pete Tuss, a Croatian immigrant who came to Lewistown either in 1898 or 1899. The second unit, the longest of the five units, was started in 1913. John F....
    • Agriculture

    •  
    • Agriculture;
    • Harvesting the big haying crop Wibaux, Montana.
    • Airplane.

    •  
    • airplanes;
    • Airplane taking off at Lewistown, Montana fairgrounds
    • Airport, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • Original hanger that was built on the north side of Highway 87. The stones from the building came from the First Christian Church that was located on the corner of 7th Ave North and Boulevard St, Lewistown, Montana that was torn down. The airport...
    • Airport, Lewistown, Montana

    • 1942
    • Airports;
    • Photograph of the Airport in Lewistown, Montana during World War II. The airfield was used for training pilots.
    • Airport. Lewistown, Montana

    • 1942
    • Airports;
    • Photograph of the Airport in Lewistown, Montana during World War II. The airfield was used for training pilots
    • Airport. Lewistown, Montana

    • 1942
    • Airports;
    • Photograph of the Airport in Lewistown, Montana during World War II. The airfield was used for training pilots
    • Airport. Lewistown, Montana

    • 1942
    • Airports;
    • Photograph of the Airport in Lewistown, Montana during World War II. The airfield was used for training pilots
    • Airport. Lewistown, Montana

    • 1942
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • B-17 Aircraft crew-- Lewistown, Montana 1932-Standing-Pilot, Bud Hineker Co-Pilot, Marion Haley, Nav., Donald Rassner, Bombadier, Oliver Wolf Kneeling-Waist Gunner, Everett Hart, Waist Gunner, C.J. Lamure Radio-Op, C.J. Lamure, Tail Gunner, Maxson...
    • Airport. Lewistown, Montana

    • 1942
    • Airports;
    • Photograph of the Airport in Lewistown, Montana during World War II. The airfield was used for training pilots
    • Alabam's Cafes; Lewistown, Montana.

    •  
    • Cafes;
    • The building was originally built in 1900 by Archibald Hopkins and he ran the Hopkins Brothers Grocery. It was located at 117 W. Main. Alabam’s Café opened in this building in 1940; it was owned by Roscoe Taylor and Bob McAtee.
    • Albrecht Dodge garage.

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • Located on the corner of 1st Avenue and Janeaux Street.
    • Allyn, Harriet

    •  
    • Actresses;
    • Harriet Allyn graduated from Fergus High School in 1921. She was involved as an impersonator in the drama club. She attended the Northwestern University and was on the radio program called “Sadie and Min”. She married her business manager, Mr....
    • Anderson, Sally

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • Sally Anderson was the daughter of Reece Anderson and Mary Payette. She was born August 5, 1866 in Deer Lodge, Montana. She is buried at the Fort Maginnis Cemetery.
    • Anderson, Sam and his wife

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • Sam Anderson and his wife. He died July 28, 1912 in Lewistown at 57 years of age and is buried in the Lewistown City Cemetery.
    • Andersonville, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Early gold mining town in the Judith Mountains near Lewistown, Montana.
    • Apple's Dairy, Lewistown, Montana.

    •  
    • Dairies;
    • Located on North East Main Street. St. Joseph's Hospital shows in the center background and the old flour mill shows on the far right side of the photo.
    • Arro Confectionery, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Interior view of the Arro Confectionary store located in the Fergus County Realty building (built 1914) at 521 W. Main, Lewistown, MT.
    • Arro gasoline truck, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Arro Oil Refinery started in 1921. The oil was shipped by railroad oil cars to Lewistown from the Cat Creek Oil Field at Winnett, Montana. The refinery was a few miles west of Lewistown.
    • Arro Oil Refinerry.

    •  
    • Oil refinery; Anti-freeze;
    • The Arro Oil and Refining Co. was among the first to engage in the manufacture of Petroleum products in Montana. The refinery plant was located a few miles west of the city of Lewistown. The refinery was established in 1921 to provide refining...
    • Arro Oil Refinery

    •  
    • oil refinery;
    • The Arro Oil and Refining Co. was among the first to engage in the manufacture of Petroleum products in Montana. The refinery plant was located a few miles west of the city of Lewistown. The refinery was established in 1921 to provide refining...
    • Arro Oil Refinery

    •  
    • oil refinery;
    • The Arro Oil and Refining Co. was among the first to engage in the manufacture of Petroleum products in Montana. The refinery plant was located a few miles west of the city of Lewistown. The refinery was established in 1921 to provide refining...
    • Arro oil refinery;

    •  
    • oil refinery;
    • The Arro Oil and Refining Co. was among the first to engage in the manufacture of Petroleum products in Montana. The refinery plant was located a few miles west of the city of Lewistown. The refinery was established in 1921 to provide refining...
    • Arro Oil Refinery truck parked at the Ford Garage.

    •  
    •  
    • Arro Oil Refinery started in 1921. The oil was shipped by railroad oil cars to Lewistown from the Cat Creek Oil Field at Winnett, Montana. The refinery was a few miles west of Lewistown
    • Arro Oil Refinery.

    •  
    • oil refinery;
    • The Arro Oil and Refining Co. was among the first to engage in the manufacture of Petroleum products in Montana. The refinery plant was located a few miles west of the city of Lewistown. The refinery was established in 1921 to provide refining...
    • Arro oil truck, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Arro Oil Refinery started in 1921. The oil was shipped by railroad oil cars to Lewistown from the Cat Creek Oil Field at Winnett, Montana. The refinery was a few miles west of Lewistown
    • Art Center, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • Building was originally Judge Von Tobel's barn and was moved next to the Art Center as an addition.
    • Ayers, Ellen Simpson

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • Ellen Simpson Ayers was married to Roy Ayers (governor of Montana) on June 7, 1905.
    • B&H Grocery, located at 114 E. Main.

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • It was formerly the Culver Opera House built by William Culver (the first photographer to this area) before 1900.
    • Baird, Miona

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • Miona C. Baird was born Nov. 12, 1872 in Polo, Missouri, child of George Fort and Mattie Chivers. She married Charles Baird. She died April 27, 1972.
    • Baker, Edgar

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • Edgar Baker was born in 1883 in Bay City, Michigan and came to Montana in 1887. He was a judge in Lewistown and married Florence D’Autremont.
    • Bank Electric building construction, Lewistown, Montana.

    • 1913
    • Buildings;
    • Located at 505 W. Main. The First National Bank and the Montana Power Company, growing with the town, retained the services of the local firm of Wasmansdorff and Eastman to design the Bank-Electric Building.
    • Bank of Fergus County, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Banks;
    • This is the interior of the Bank of Fergus County which was built in 1904 at 221 W. Main. It replaced the first Bank of Fergus County which was built in 1887 and burned in 1904 when the Lewistown Hotel (next door) burned. The bank later moved into...
    • Bank of Fergus County, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Banks;
    • This is the interior of the Bank of Fergus County which was built in 1904 at 223 W. Main. It replaced the first Bank of Fergus County which was built in 1887 and burned in 1904 when the Lewistown Hotel (next door) burned. The bank later moved into...
    • Bank of Fergus County, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Freighting;
    • Team of horses pulling freight in front of the Bank of Fergus County (built 1904) on the south side of the 200 block, Lewistown, Montana. Sweitzer's Department Store is next to the bank. The DeKalb Harness store is in the middle of the block.
    • Bank of Fergus County, Lewistown, Montana

    • 1904
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • Bank of Fergus county is on the right. Lewistown Hotel was built in 1882-83 by Frank Moshner for Judge Toombs. It was later owned by Mr. Hortop. At the time it burned in 1904 it was owned by Frank E. Wright. The Bank of Fergus County was damaged to...
    • Bank of Fergus County, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • Located at 223 W. Main, the building on the right was the Bank of Fergus County. It was built in 1882-83. It burned in 1904 and was rebuilt in 1905. Later the bank built the Montana Building across the street and moved in 1917. The building on the...
    • Bank of Fergus County, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • Located 223 W. Main. The building faces Main Street with its west side facing Third Avenue South. this is the second building occupied by the Bank of Fergus County. Note that the picture was taken before the streets were paved in 1913. Looking NE
    • Bank of Fergus County, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • Located 223 W. Main. Originally it was built in 1905 by the Bank of Fergus County and later became the home of the Cook-Reynolds real estate company.
    • Bank of Fergus County, Lewistown, Montana

    • 1898
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • Located at 223 W. Main, the building on the right was the Bank of Fergus County. It was built in 1886-87. It burned in 1904 and was rebuilt in 1905. Later the bank built the Montana Building across the street and moved in 1917. The Lewistown Hotel...
    • Baptist church.

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • Photograph of a Baptist church.
    • Barnes-King Gold Mine

    •  
    •  
    • Barnes-King gold mine was located in the North Moccasin Mountains near Lewistown, MT. The Barnes-King Development Company mined the area in 1901-1925. The mine is on the left side of the photo and 4 cars are in the middle.
    • Barta Family

    •  
    • Barta Family;
    • Josephine Barta, Marie Barta (Miller), Agnes Barta Geycan, Henry Barta, Frank Barta, Jr.

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK
Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK