Skip to main content

Add or remove other collections to your search:



Narrow your search by:



You've searched: Central Montana Historical Photographs

  • All fields: S
(543 results)



Display: 100

    • A & R (Allen and Robinson) building, Lewistown, Montana.

    •  
    • J. H. Akins; C. H. Williams; Seiden Drug Store; Drug Stores;
    • It was built in 1903 at 416 W. Main. It was the location of the Golden Rule Store owned by J. H. Akins. C.H. Williams, who removed his drug business from Maiden to Lewistown in 1895 established his business in the Allen & Robinson Building in 1904....
    • Aerial view of Lewistown, Montana

    • 1954
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • Spring Street is in the foreground and the Montana Center for the Aged is on the right in the background.
    • Aerial view of St. Joseph's hospital, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The first unit was completed and opened on October 15, 1908. The first unit was built by Pete Tuss, a Croatian immigrant who came to Lewistown either in 1898 or 1899. The second unit, the longest of the five units, was started in 1913. John F....
    • Aerial view of St. Joseph's Hospital, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The first unit was completed and opened on October 15, 1908. The first unit was built by Pete Tuss, a Croatian immigrant who came to Lewistown either in 1898 or 1899. The second unit, the longest of the five units, was started in 1913. John F....
    • Airport. Lewistown, Montana

    • 1942
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • B-17 Aircraft crew-- Lewistown, Montana 1932-Standing-Pilot, Bud Hineker Co-Pilot, Marion Haley, Nav., Donald Rassner, Bombadier, Oliver Wolf Kneeling-Waist Gunner, Everett Hart, Waist Gunner, C.J. Lamure Radio-Op, C.J. Lamure, Tail Gunner, Maxson...
    • Alabam's Cafes; Lewistown, Montana.

    •  
    • Cafes;
    • The building was originally built in 1900 by Archibald Hopkins and he ran the Hopkins Brothers Grocery. It was located at 117 W. Main. Alabam’s Café opened in this building in 1940; it was owned by Roscoe Taylor and Bob McAtee.
    • Apple's Dairy, Lewistown, Montana.

    •  
    • Dairies;
    • Located on North East Main Street. St. Joseph's Hospital shows in the center background and the old flour mill shows on the far right side of the photo.
    • Art Center, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • Building was originally Judge Von Tobel's barn and was moved next to the Art Center as an addition.
    • Attix, Dr. Frederick

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • Dr. Fred Franklin Attix was born Aug 8, 1878 in Richwood, Minnesota and died Feb 9, 1948 and was buried in the Lewistown City Cemetery. His father was Harry Attix of Elgin, Illinois and mother was Mary Belle Knowles of Battle Creek, Michigan. He...
    • Bank of Fergus County, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Banks;
    • This is the interior of the Bank of Fergus County which was built in 1904 at 223 W. Main. It replaced the first Bank of Fergus County which was built in 1887 and burned in 1904 when the Lewistown Hotel (next door) burned. The bank later moved into...
    • Bank of Fergus County, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Freighting;
    • Team of horses pulling freight in front of the Bank of Fergus County (built 1904) on the south side of the 200 block, Lewistown, Montana. Sweitzer's Department Store is next to the bank. The DeKalb Harness store is in the middle of the block.
    • Barnes-King Gold Mine

    •  
    •  
    • Barnes-King gold mine was located in the North Moccasin Mountains near Lewistown, MT. The Barnes-King Development Company mined the area in 1901-1925. The mine is on the left side of the photo and 4 cars are in the middle.
    • Barta ranch on Ross Fork Creek.

    •  
    • Homesteads; Barta Family; Ross Fork Creek, Montana;
    • Frank Barta, Sr.'s home on Ross Fork Creek. It was built in 1911. People left to right: Tony Barta, Mildree Barta, Georgia Barta (on horse). Valeria Barta (standing).
    • Barta wedding

    • 1912-05-14
    • Danvers, Montana; Homesteads; Weddings; Barta family;
    • May 14, 1912, was a special date for Frank Barta, Sr. and Mary Kostaris Barta’s three sons, Frank, Jr., Anton (Tony) and Joe. On that date, the three young men were wed to three young ladies in a triple wedding ceremony.
    • Bertrand and Laux's store, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Joseph Bertrand came to Lewistown in 1887, as an employee of T. C. Power & Bros.; in 1896 he began merchandising for himself. His business may have been in the 200 block on Main Street (north side)
    • Bonawitz, Norval

    • 1932
    • Football; World War II;
    • Norval Bonawitz was born in 1914 and graduated from Fergus County High School in 1933. He grew up in Lewistown, Montana and graduated from the University in Missoula, Montana in Forestry. He was commander of the P-40 group under General Chennault’s...
    • Brassey, Edward

    •  
    • Edward Brassey;
    • He was born in England Oct 22, 1844. Mr. Brassey came to the present site of Lewistown in the early fall of 1881 in the capacity of school teacher and later taught the first term of public school which was organized in the section which now...
    • Brewery, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The Lewistown Brewery just south of Lewistown was built by in 1894 by John Laux. It was built with locally quarried sandstone. A wooden fence is in the foreground of the photo with two signs on the fence that say ""CULVER'S MILLINERY"". The...
    • Bright Hotel, Lewistown, Montana.

    •  
    • Drays;
    • Front view of the Bright Hotel (built 1906). It became the Burke Hotel in 1924. Scovel's Transfer was an early dray business in Lewistown, Montana. A sign saying Private Secretary is on the side of the wagon. The Bright Hotel became the Burke Hotel...
    • Bucher, Mary Keller

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • Mary Keller’s parents were Swiss Immigrants who lived at Rossfork. She married Fred Bucher Oct 16, 1919. She died October 30, 1975 at 80 years old.
    • Busy Corner Store, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • View of the corner of 4th Avenue South and Main Street, Lewistown, Montana. View also shows Sweitzer's Department Store (built in 1913) at 311-315 W. Main.
    • Calvert Hotel, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The Calvert Hotel was built in 1917 as a girl’s dormitory for the Fergus County High School. It was located at 216 7th Ave. South. On Aug. 21, 1925, it was reported by the school administration that Fergus High was broke due to the bank failures in...
    • Calvert Hotel, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana; Hotels; Buildings;
    • The Calvert Hotel was built in 1917 as a girl’s dormitory for the Fergus County High School. It was located at 216 7th Ave. South. On Aug. 21, 1925, it was reported by the school administration that Fergus High was broke due to the bank failures in...
    • Calvert Hotel, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The Calvert Hotel was built in 1917 as a girl’s dormitory for the Fergus County High School. It was located at 216 7th Ave. South. On Aug. 21, 1925, it was reported by the school administration that Fergus High was broke due to the bank failures in...
    • Calvert Hotel, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The Calvert Hotel was built in 1917 as a girl’s dormitory for the Fergus County High School. It was located at 216 7th Ave. South. On Aug. 21, 1925, it was reported by the school administration that Fergus High was broke due to the bank failures in...
    • Calvert Hotel, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The Calvert Hotel was built in 1917 as a girl’s dormitory for the Fergus County High School. It was located at 216 7th Ave. South. On Aug. 21, 1925, it was reported by the school administration that Fergus High was broke due to the bank failures in...
    • Calvert Hotel, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana; Hotels;
    • The Calvert Hotel was built in 1917 as a girl’s dormitory for the Fergus County High School. It was located at 216 7th Ave. South. On Aug. 21, 1925, it was reported by the school administration that Fergus High was broke due to the bank failures in...
    • Calvert Hotel, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The Calvert Hotel was built in 1917 as a girl’s dormitory for the Fergus County High School. It was located at 216 7th Ave. South. On Aug. 21, 1925, it was reported by the school administration that Fergus High was broke due to the bank failures in...
    • Calvert Hotel, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The Calvert Hotel was built in 1917 as a girl’s dormitory for the Fergus County High School. It was located at 216 7th Ave. South. On Aug. 21, 1925, it was reported by the school administration that Fergus High was broke due to the bank failures in...
    • Carnegie Library, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Libraries;
    • The first Lincoln School is shown in the background on the left. The “manifest desire” for a public library stirred early in Lewistown, Montana. In January 1897, two full years prior to Lewistown’s incorporation, Frank E. Smith, a local attorney,...
    • Carnegie Public Library, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Libraries;
    • 2nd floor of the Library. Interior of the Library. The “manifest desire” for a public library stirred early in Lewistown, Montana. In January 1897, two full years prior to Lewistown’s incorporation, Frank E. Smith, a local attorney, delivered a...
    • Carson's Saloon, Lewistown, MT

    •  
    •  
    • Built in 1893, the Carson's Saloon building became the Bon Ton Confectionary in 1908. It's location is 312 W. Main.
    • Central Montana Scenery

    •  
    •  
    • Looking west up Maiden Canyon; the rock formation on the right is a landmark called Elephant's Head.
    • Charles Lehman and Co., Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Lehman's Department Store; Golden Rule Store;
    • View of Main Street shows the Charles Lehman Co Department Store on the corner of Main and 5th Ave North, Lewistown, MT. The Golden Rule Store is next to it followed by the Day House. Telephone lines on each side of the street represent 2 different...
    • Charles Lehman's children, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Lehman Family;
    • Charles Lehman’s children (left to right): Rev. G.A.C. Lehman, Walter Lehman, Arthur Lehman, Helen Lehman, Louis Lehman behind Helen, Charles Lehman?, Oswald Lehman, Alex Lehman.
    • Charles Waite on horse.

    • 1901
    • Utica, Montana; Waite family;
    • Charles Waite on horse in front of his dad's (Walter Waite) livery stable in Utica.
    • Charlie's Body Works, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • Later was called Charlie's Paint and Glass. Originally the building was Baker and Sons, blacksmith's. It was loacted on the corner of Janeaux Street and 3rd Ave. South.
    • Charlie's Body Works, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana; Auto Repair; Blacksmith Shops;
    • Also known as Baker and Son's Blacksmith Shop. It was located at 301 W. Janeaux. It was built in 1907 and collapsed in 2013.
    • Clegg, John

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • John Clegg was born May 17, 1850 in Bloomington, Wisconsin and died July 15, 1928. He came to Montana in the 1880’s. He married Grace Harrison of Detroit in Gilt Edge in 1900. He was a rancher.
    • Colver, Carrie (Mrs. Fred)

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • Carrie Colver was born May 10, 1870 in Grand Marsh, Wisconsin and died Dec 6, 1961. In January of 1888, Fred Colver went back to his old home in Wisconsin after he had homesteaded in Central Montana. There he married Carrie S. Bidwell, an...
    • Cox, Jabez and Eliza

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • Jabez Cox grew up in Penzance, Cornwall, England. He came the the U.S. with his brother-in-law, George Davies. He and his wife were married in Braddock, Pa. on March 9, 1893. He worked as a stonemason and a bricklayer. He built the Lewistown...
    • Culver Studio and home, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Photographers;
    • Located at 212 5th Avenue North. William H. Culver was the first photographer to set up a business in Lewistown in 1886. He moved to Lewistown from Maiden, Montana where he had been the photographer from 1883-1886. Culver's original home is on the...
    • Dahl's Shoe Shop, Lewistown, Montana.

    •  
    •  
    • Arne Dahl owned this shoe shop at 102 W. Main in the 1904 Polk Directory and 105 4th Avenue North in the 1922 Polk Directory. It is not known which building this is.
    • Daily, Clara

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • Mr. and Mrs. Frank Dailey came to Montana in 1882 and lived near Bozeman until 1884 when they came to Fergus County. They came in a covered wagon. They homesteaded on the southeastern edge of Lewistown. They had both range and dairy cattle and sold...
    • Day House hotel, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The Day House Hotel (built in 1880's at Reeds Fort) was located on the corner of 4th Avenue North and Main Street. It had been moved from Reeds Fort to this location and in 1908 it was moved to the corner of Broadway and 4th Ave North. A balcony...
    • Day House Hotel, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The Day House Hotel (built in 1880's at Reedsfort) was located on the corner of 4th Avenue North and Main Street. It had been moved from Reeds Fort to this location and in 1908 it was moved to the corner of Broadway and 4th Ave North. A balcony...
    • Day House Hotel, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The Day House Hotel (built in 1880's at Reedsfort) was located on the corner of 4th Avenue North and Main Street. It had been moved (1886) from Reedsfort to this location and in 1908 it was moved to the corner of Broadway and 4th Ave North....
    • Dorothy Jones and her cousin Gust Edward Rosene.

    • 1900
    • Homesteads;
    • Both Gust Rosene and William Jones worked for the railroad in Waubay, S.D. They met and married 2 sisters Sophia and Anna B. Randall in Waubay. When the railroad moved into Montana they moved also and Gust went into his own dray business. William...
    • Dust Storm at Heath, Montana

    • 1937-05-28
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • Dust storm as seen from the top of the U.S. Gpysum Co. at Heath, Montana on May 28, 1937.
    • Eddie's Corner, Montana

    • 1973-02-07
    • Grain Elevators;
    • Crew moving the ConAgra elevator from Kolin to Moore. February 7, 1973.
    • Eddies Corner, Montana

    • 1973-02-07
    • Grain elevators;
    • Crew moving conagra elevator from Kolin to Moore on the highway at Eddie's Corner near Moore, Montana
    • Eddies Corner, Montana

    • 1973-02-07
    • Grain Elevators;
    • Crew moving Conagra elevator from Kolin to Moore, Montana on the highway junction of Highway 87 and 191 at Eddie's Corner.
    • Eddy's Bakery, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • View of the interior of Eddy's Bakery located at 121 N. Dawes. The building was originally Robbin's Bakery built in 1919
    • Eicoff, Sadie

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • Sadye Eicoff. She owned the business called the Leader” a woman’s specialty shop with her husband Sam. They were married in 1919. She once worked as a millinery buyer for a large department store in Cleveland, Ohio. She died in 1977.
    • Eicoff, Samuel

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • Sam Eicoff immigrated to the United States from Russia. He was the owner of the Leader, a woman’s specialty shop. He came to Grass Range, Montana about 1914 and filed a homestead. He served in World War II and then sold his homestead and moved to...
    • Eike family, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • Eike family. Seated: Ole Eike (Apr 17, 1881-Aug 3, 1957) married Elsie Cox Eike (Dec 31, 1893-Jun 1970) July 1, 1914 in Lewistown; They both arrived in U.S. in April 1902 on separate ships. They homesteaded in Forest Grove, Montana. Standing: ...
    • Elk's home and Fox Theater, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Theaters;
    • Corner of Main St. and 3rd Avene South. Shows the Western Union office in the theater building. The theater was usually called the Judith Theater built in 1915.
    • Erickson, Winifred Shipman

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • Winifred Shipman Erickson. She was the first teacher to teach in the new school built (1893) on the 500 block of Main Street. She married Nicholas Erickson who was manager of the Power’s Store.

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK
Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK