Skip to main content

Add or remove other collections to your search:



Narrow your search by:



You've searched: Central Montana Historical Photographs

  • All fields: W
(409 results)



Display: 100

    • A & R (Allen and Robinson) building, Lewistown, Montana.

    •  
    • J. H. Akins; C. H. Williams; Seiden Drug Store; Drug Stores;
    • It was built in 1903 at 416 W. Main. It was the location of the Golden Rule Store owned by J. H. Akins. C.H. Williams, who removed his drug business from Maiden to Lewistown in 1895 established his business in the Allen & Robinson Building in 1904....
    • Aerial view of St. Joseph's Hospital, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The first unit was completed and opened on October 15, 1908. The first unit was built by Pete Tuss, a Croatian immigrant who came to Lewistown either in 1898 or 1899. The second unit, the longest of the five units, was started in 1913. John F....
    • Aerial view of St. Joseph's hospital, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The first unit was completed and opened on October 15, 1908. The first unit was built by Pete Tuss, a Croatian immigrant who came to Lewistown either in 1898 or 1899. The second unit, the longest of the five units, was started in 1913. John F....
    • Alabam's Cafes; Lewistown, Montana.

    •  
    • Cafes;
    • The building was originally built in 1900 by Archibald Hopkins and he ran the Hopkins Brothers Grocery. It was located at 117 W. Main. Alabam’s Café opened in this building in 1940; it was owned by Roscoe Taylor and Bob McAtee.
    • Arro Confectionery, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Interior view of the Arro Confectionary store located in the Fergus County Realty building (built 1914) at 521 W. Main, Lewistown, MT.
    • Attix, Dr. Frederick

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • Dr. Fred Franklin Attix was born Aug 8, 1878 in Richwood, Minnesota and died Feb 9, 1948 and was buried in the Lewistown City Cemetery. His father was Harry Attix of Elgin, Illinois and mother was Mary Belle Knowles of Battle Creek, Michigan. He...
    • Bank Electric building construction, Lewistown, Montana.

    • 1913
    • Buildings;
    • Located at 505 W. Main. The First National Bank and the Montana Power Company, growing with the town, retained the services of the local firm of Wasmansdorff and Eastman to design the Bank-Electric Building.
    • Bank of Fergus County, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Banks;
    • This is the interior of the Bank of Fergus County which was built in 1904 at 221 W. Main. It replaced the first Bank of Fergus County which was built in 1887 and burned in 1904 when the Lewistown Hotel (next door) burned. The bank later moved into...
    • Bank of Fergus County, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Iwas built in 1904 and located at 223 W. Main. It was used as the bank until they built a new building across Main Street at 224 W. Main in 1917
    • Bank of Fergus County, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Bank of Fergus County (built in 1904) located at 223 W. Main. It was used by the bank until they moved across Main Street to 224 W. Main in 1917.
    • Bank of Fergus County, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Banks;
    • This is the interior of the Bank of Fergus County which was built in 1904 at 223 W. Main. It replaced the first Bank of Fergus County which was built in 1887 and burned in 1904 when the Lewistown Hotel (next door) burned. The bank later moved into...
    • Bank of Fergus County, Lewistown, Montana

    • 1898
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • Located at 223 W. Main, the building on the right was the Bank of Fergus County. It was built in 1886-87. It burned in 1904 and was rebuilt in 1905. Later the bank built the Montana Building across the street and moved in 1917. The Lewistown Hotel...
    • Bank of Fergus County, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • Located at 223 W. Main, the building on the right was the Bank of Fergus County. It was built in 1882-83. It burned in 1904 and was rebuilt in 1905. Later the bank built the Montana Building across the street and moved in 1917. The building on the...
    • Bank of Fergus County, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • Located 223 W. Main. Originally it was built in 1905 by the Bank of Fergus County and later became the home of the Cook-Reynolds real estate company.
    • Bank of Fergus County, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • Located 223 W. Main. The building faces Main Street with its west side facing Third Avenue South. this is the second building occupied by the Bank of Fergus County. Note that the picture was taken before the streets were paved in 1913. Looking NE
    • Brice Hospital, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Hospitals;
    • Brice Hospital. It was built by George W. Taylor between the years 1914 and 1917 and completed in 1919. The Brice Hospital was an impressive two-story red brick structure with a day-lighted basement and rooms on the third floor (attic). It was...
    • Brice Hospital, Lewistown, Montana.

    •  
    •  
    • The Brice Hospital (built 1919) was located at 614 W. Pine. It was built by Dr. Theodore J. Brice. It later became the Pine Crest Apartments. The old gymnasium for the high school is in the background on the left.
    • Brooks block, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Brooks building is located at 207 W. Main. It was originally built in 1913. Side of the building being refurbished by Valach Construction
    • Busy Corner Store, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • View of the corner of 4th Avenue South and Main Street, Lewistown, Montana. View also shows Sweitzer's Department Store (built in 1913) at 311-315 W. Main.
    • Busy Corner Store, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • View of the south side of the 300 block on Main Street from the corner of 4th Avenue. The Busy Corner (located at 323 W. Main) was a confectionary store. Men and women are standing on the corner and a few are crossing the street on a boardwalk. The...
    • Carnegie Public Library, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • This photgraph shows the Carnegie Public Library (built 1905), Blackford residence (built 1909) and the Rowley House (south side of the 700 block on Main Street). The building on the far right was the May Apartments building built in 1902 at 803 W....
    • Carson's Saloon, Lewistown, MT

    •  
    •  
    • Built in 1893, the Carson's Saloon building became the Bon Ton Confectionary in 1908. It's location is 312 W. Main.
    • Charles Lehman and Co. employees

    •  
    • Charles Lehman Co.;
    • Charles Lehman and Co. employees. Left to right: Alex Lehman, Alex law, Oswald Lehman, John W. Brice, Charles Fowler, A. E. Trapp, Louis Lehman, Walter Lehman, Arthur Lehman, Posey Ashworth, Bailey Ashworth, Billy K. Creplin, Charles Beatty, Fred...
    • Charlie's Body Works, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana; Auto Repair; Blacksmith Shops;
    • Also known as Baker and Son's Blacksmith Shop. It was located at 301 W. Janeaux. It was built in 1907 and collapsed in 2013.
    • Clingan, Mary Simpson

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • Mary Simpson Clingan was born May 4, 1880 and died April 26, 1981. In 1916 they lived near Rock Creek near Lewisdtown, Montana. During the depression they moved to Lewistown, Montana where she operated a rooming house and later moved to 422 W....
    • Construction of the Power Mercantile Co., Lewistown, Montana

    • 1901
    • Power Mercantile Co.;
    • Beginning of the construction of the Power Mercantile Building, 302 W. Main, Lewistown, Montana in 1901. The floor is laid and a partial wall of locally quarried sandstone is on the right side. Part of the Montana Hardware building is on the right.
    • Court House, Lewistown, Montana

    • 1908
    •  
    • Both the old Fergus County Courthouse (built 1890 and the new Court House (built 1908) are side by side at 712 W. Main.
    • Crow Chief and friends

    •  
    • Crow Indians;
    • Crow Indian Chief, A. J. Wright, W. D. Deaton, ? Berger
    • Crowley Block, Lewistown, Montana. 311 W. Main.

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • View shows the building from the back as it was being constructed. It was owned by Annie Crowley. The building next to it is the back of the Warr-Lane building as it was being constructed also. They were built in 1913.
    • Dahl's Shoe Shop, Lewistown, Montana.

    •  
    •  
    • Arne Dahl owned this shoe shop at 102 W. Main in the 1904 Polk Directory and 105 4th Avenue North in the 1922 Polk Directory. It is not known which building this is.
    • DeKalb, H. Leonard

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • H. Leonard DeKalb was born May 10, 1870 in Alexandria, Nebraska. He came to Lewistown in 1902. Judge DeKalb married Vera McClean in 1905. He was the City Attorney for 6 years. In 1917 he was the District Judge and resigned in 1918. In 1911 he and...
    • Eastman, George

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • George W. Eastman was born April, 20, 1855 in Maine and died April 22, 1940. He was a farmer.
    • Eldridge, Louis

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • Louis W. Eldridge was elected Surveyor for Fergus County in 1886. He was born November 29, 1858. He lived at Cottonwood, Montana. He organized the Lewistown Commercial Company in 1898 and it was located at 218 or 220 W. Main. Many picnics were held...
    • Elkhorn Saloon, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Elkhorn Saloon;
    • Men standing at the bar of the Elk Horn Saloon (123 W. Main). The man with his foot on the rail is Ed Martin, Sheriff of Fergus County, Montana. Schlitz beer sign is hanging on the wall. An elk head is mounted on the wall also. Four spitoons are on...
    • Fergus County Argus office, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana; Halsey Watson;
    • Interior of the Fergus County Argus newspaper office (built 1896) located at 423 W. Main, Lewistown, MT. Halsey Watson is seated at a desk and Mrs. Reeder is standing at a work table. A mounted eagle is on the wall.
    • Fergus County Courthouse, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Courthouses; Jails;
    • The Courthouse was built in 1908-1909. It is located at 712 W. Main. The jail is the small building on the left and the old Courthouse shows on the right.
    • Fergus County Courthouse, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Courthouses;
    • Interior of the old Fergus County Courthouse. A group of officials are gathered around the judges bench and tables. Back row L-R: William Woods, Frank E. Smith, Judge Dubois, J. Wareham, ? Simons, C.M. Goodell, Wm PErkins, Fr Cliff Lindsey, Judge...
    • Fergus County Courthouse, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • Located at 712 W. Main. It was constructed in 1908. The old courthouse also shows on the far right; it was torn down after the new courthouse was built.
    • Fergus County Courthouse, Lewistown, Montana

    • 1908
    •  
    • Both the old Fergus County Courthouse (built 1890 and demolished after the new Courthouse was built) and the new Courthouse (built 1908) are side by side at 712 W. Main.
    • Fergus County Courthouse, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Courthouses;
    • View from 8th Avenue North looking towards the back of the Courthouse. The houses in the left foreground face Broadway Street. The house to the right of the Courthouse in the background is the Blackford Residence at 713 W. Main.
    • Fergus County Officers, Lewistown, Montana.

    •  
    • Fergus County Officials, Lewistown, Montana;
    • This group of men were the first Fergus County Officers elected. 1888. Back row left to right: Rudolph von Tobel, C. E. Fell, D.A. Meagher, Frank E. Smith. Middle row: Edward P. Chandler, William Berkin, J. P. Barnes, bottom row: W. H. Kelly, F.E....
    • First National Bank, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Judith Basin Bank; McDonald and Charters building;
    • Block of buildings at 502-506, W. Main, Lewistown, MT. The building on the right (with awnings on the corner door and front window) housed the First National Bank (formerly called the Judith Basin Bank). It was built in1899. The building next to it...
    • First School House, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • First school house (built 1883) located at 521 W. Main. The teacher and all the students are in a group next to the school posing for the photo. The teacher is holding an American flag. Some of the children are holding bouquets of flowers.
    • Flood. Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Floods;
    • View from the corner of 1st and Main. The building on the right is the IOOF building at 101 W. Main. The building on the left is Milner's Transfer on the south side of E. Main Street.
    • Flour Mill and Judith Basin Milling Co., Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Flour Mills; Lewistown, Montana;
    • The flour mill was started by the Jackson brothers in 1886. They sold the mill in 1889 to Cyrus S. Stiles and William C. Waldorf who modernized it. The flour was sold under the brand name of “White Satin”. In 1895 they supplied electricity for...
    • Flour Mill, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The flour mill was started by the Jackson brothers in 1886. They sold the mill in 1889 to Cyrus S. Stiles and William C. Waldorf who modernized it. The flour was sold under the brand name of “White Satin”. In 1895 they supplied electricity for...
    • Flour Mill, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The flour mill was started by the Jackson brothers in 1886. They sold the mill in 1889 to Cyrus S. Stiles and William C. Waldorf who modernized it. The flour was sold under the brand name of “White Satin”. In 1895 they supplied electricity for...
    • Flour Mill, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Flour Mills; Lewistown, Montana;
    • The flour mill was started by the Jackson brothers in 1886. They sold the mill in 1889 to Cyrus S. Stiles and William C. Waldorf who modernized it. The flour was sold under the brand name of “White Satin”. In 1895 they supplied electricity for...
    • Flour Mill, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Flour Mills; Lewistown, Montana;
    • The flour mill was started by the Jackson brothers in 1886. They sold the mill in 1889 to Cyrus S. Stiles and William C. Waldorf who modernized it. The flour was sold under the brand name of “White Satin”. In 1895 they supplied electricity for...
    • Flour Mill, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Flour Mills; Lewistown, Montana;
    • The flour mill was started by the Jackson brothers in 1886. They sold the mill in 1889 to Cyrus S. Stiles and William C. Waldorf who modernized it. The flour was sold under the brand name of “White Satin”. In 1895 they supplied electricity for...
    • Flour Mill, Lewistown, Montana.

    •  
    • Flour Mills; Lewistown, Montana;
    • The flour mill was started by the Jackson brothers in 1886. They sold the mill in 1889 to Cyrus S. Stiles and William C. Waldorf who modernized it. The flour was sold under the brand name of “White Satin”. In 1895 they supplied electricity for...
    • Flour Mill, Lewistown, Montana.

    •  
    • Flour Mills; Lewistown, Montana;
    • The flour mill was started by the Jackson brothers in 1886. They sold the mill in 1889 to Cyrus S. Stiles and William C. Waldorf who modernized it. The flour was sold under the brand name of “White Satin”. In 1895 they supplied electricity for...
    • Flour Mill, Lewistown, Montana.

    •  
    • Flour Mills; Lewistown, Montana;
    • The flour mill was started by the Jackson brothers in 1886. They sold the mill in 1889 to Cyrus S. Stiles and William C. Waldorf who modernized it. The flour was sold under the brand name of “White Satin”. In 1895 they supplied electricity for...
    • Flour Mill, Lewistown, Montana.

    •  
    • Flour Mills; Lewistown, Montana;
    • The flour mill was started by the Jackson brothers in 1886. They sold the mill in 1889 to Cyrus S. Stiles and William C. Waldorf who modernized it. The flour was sold under the brand name of “White Satin”. In 1895 they supplied electricity for...
    • Flour Mill, Lewistown, Montana.

    •  
    • Flour Mills; Lewistown, Montana;
    • The flour mill was started by the Jackson brothers in 1886. They sold the mill in 1889 to Cyrus S. Stiles and William C. Waldorf who modernized it. The flour was sold under the brand name of “White Satin”. In 1895 they supplied electricity for...

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK
Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK