Skip to main content

Add or remove other collections to your search:



Narrow your search by:



You've searched: Central Montana Historical Photographs

  • All fields: building
(511 results)



Display: 100

    • A & R (Allen and Robinson) building, Lewistown, Montana.

    •  
    • J. H. Akins; C. H. Williams; Seiden Drug Store; Drug Stores;
    • It was built in 1903 at 416 W. Main. It was the location of the Golden Rule Store owned by J. H. Akins. C.H. Williams, who removed his drug business from Maiden to Lewistown in 1895 established his business in the Allen & Robinson Building in 1904....
    • Aerial view of Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • View of Lewistown from the northeast. The Milwaukee Railroad depot shows in the foreground and the Montana Building shows in the center of the photo.
    • Airport, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • Original hanger that was built on the north side of Highway 87. The stones from the building came from the First Christian Church that was located on the corner of 7th Ave North and Boulevard St, Lewistown, Montana that was torn down. The airport...
    • Alabam's Cafes; Lewistown, Montana.

    •  
    • Cafes;
    • The building was originally built in 1900 by Archibald Hopkins and he ran the Hopkins Brothers Grocery. It was located at 117 W. Main. Alabam’s Café opened in this building in 1940; it was owned by Roscoe Taylor and Bob McAtee.
    • Ark Exchange Truck, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The Ark Exchange was a used furniture store. The building in the background is the Wise Block was located on the 500 block of Main Street. It was built in 1911 and burned in 1959.
    • Arro Confectionery, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Interior view of the Arro Confectionary store located in the Fergus County Realty building (built 1914) at 521 W. Main, Lewistown, MT.
    • Art Center, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • Building was originally Judge Von Tobel's barn and was moved next to the Art Center as an addition.
    • Bank Electric building construction, Lewistown, Montana.

    • 1913
    • Buildings;
    • Located at 505 W. Main. The First National Bank and the Montana Power Company, growing with the town, retained the services of the local firm of Wasmansdorff and Eastman to design the Bank-Electric Building.
    • Bank of Fergus County, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Iwas built in 1904 and located at 223 W. Main. It was used as the bank until they built a new building across Main Street at 224 W. Main in 1917
    • Bank of Fergus County, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Banks;
    • This is the interior of the Bank of Fergus County which was built in 1904 at 223 W. Main. It replaced the first Bank of Fergus County which was built in 1887 and burned in 1904 when the Lewistown Hotel (next door) burned. The bank later moved into...
    • Bank of Fergus County, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Banks;
    • This is the interior of the Bank of Fergus County which was built in 1904 at 221 W. Main. It replaced the first Bank of Fergus County which was built in 1887 and burned in 1904 when the Lewistown Hotel (next door) burned. The bank later moved into...
    • Bank of Fergus County, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • Located 223 W. Main. The building faces Main Street with its west side facing Third Avenue South. this is the second building occupied by the Bank of Fergus County. Note that the picture was taken before the streets were paved in 1913. Looking NE
    • Bank of Fergus County, Lewistown, Montana

    • 1898
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • Located at 223 W. Main, the building on the right was the Bank of Fergus County. It was built in 1886-87. It burned in 1904 and was rebuilt in 1905. Later the bank built the Montana Building across the street and moved in 1917. The Lewistown Hotel...
    • Bank of Fergus County, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • Located at 223 W. Main, the building on the right was the Bank of Fergus County. It was built in 1882-83. It burned in 1904 and was rebuilt in 1905. Later the bank built the Montana Building across the street and moved in 1917. The building on the...
    • Bourke Implement, Lewistown, Montana

    • 1975
    • Buildings;
    • Bourke Implement was located on the corner of 4th and Janeaux, Lewistown, Montana. The building was built around 1902-03.
    • Brice Hospital, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Hospitals;
    • Brice Hospital. It was built by George W. Taylor between the years 1914 and 1917 and completed in 1919. The Brice Hospital was an impressive two-story red brick structure with a day-lighted basement and rooms on the third floor (attic). It was...
    • Bright Hotel, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The Bright Hotel was located on the northeast corner of 6th Avenue and Main Street. The lower left section of the building was built in 1906 and the rest was built in 1908. The Bright Hotel became the Burke Hotel in 1923-1924.The building burned in...
    • Bright Hotel, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The Bright Hotel was located on the northwest corner of 6th Avenue and Main Street. The lower left section of the building was built in 1906 and the rest was built in 1908. The Bright Hotel became the Burke Hotel in 1924.The building burned in 1959.
    • Bright-Burke Hotel, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Buildings;Hotels;
    • View from the 600 block of Main Street. The Bright Hotel is the large building on the left. It was later called the Burke Hotel.
    • Brooks block, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Brooks building is located at 207 W. Main. It was originally built in 1913. Side of the building being refurbished by Valach Construction
    • Building a Homestead.

    •  
    • Homesteads; Barta Family;
    • Frank Barrta (standing) and others building his homestead.
    • Burke Railroad Construction

    • 1913
    •  
    • Daniel “Pickhandle” Burke construction crew building the new Milwaukee Railroad extension from Lewistown to Hilger in summer of 1913.
    • Burke Railroad Construction

    •  
    •  
    • Daniel “Pickhandle” Burke construction crew building the new Milwaukee Railroad extension from Lewistown to Hilger.
    • Burke Railroad Construction

    •  
    • Railroads;
    • Daniel “Pickhandle” Burke construction crew building the new Milwaukee Railroad extension from Lewistown to Hilger.
    • Burke Railroad Construction

    •  
    • Railroads;
    • Daniel “Pickhandle” Burke construction crew building the new Milwaukee Railroad extension from Lewistown to Hilger.
    • Burke Warehouse, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Wool Industry;
    • It was built by Daniel "Pickhandle" Burke in 1917. When Burke saw the need for such a building, he procured the site and set to work on his plans, little did he realize that years later his warehouse would be the storage place for nine-million...
    • Burke Warehouse, Lewistown, Montana.

    •  
    • Wool Industry;
    • It was built by Daniel "Pickhandle" Burke in 1917. When Burke saw the need for such a building, he procured the site and set to work on his plans, little did he realize that years later his warehouse would be the storage place for nine-million...
    • Busy Corner Store, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • View of the south side of the 300 block on Main Street from the corner of 4th Avenue. The Busy Corner (located at 323 W. Main) was a confectionary store. Men and women are standing on the corner and a few are crossing the street on a boardwalk. The...
    • Camels on parade, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Camels;
    • Camels pulling a circus wagon on 5th Avenue North and people standing on the sidewalks watching the parade. Buildings from left to right: Judith Basin Bank (built 1899), Telephone building (built 1912), Methodist Church (built 1905), and the...
    • Carnegie Library, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Libraries;
    • The first Lincoln School is shown in the background on the left. The “manifest desire” for a public library stirred early in Lewistown, Montana. In January 1897, two full years prior to Lewistown’s incorporation, Frank E. Smith, a local...
    • Carnegie Public Library, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • This photgraph shows the Carnegie Public Library (built 1905), Blackford residence (built 1909) and the Rowley House (south side of the 700 block on Main Street). The building on the far right was the May Apartments building built in 1902 at 803 W....
    • Carnegie Public Library, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Libraries;
    • 2nd floor of the Library. Interior of the Library. The “manifest desire” for a public library stirred early in Lewistown, Montana. In January 1897, two full years prior to Lewistown’s incorporation, Frank E. Smith, a local attorney, delivered...
    • Cars parked in middle of Main Street, Lewistown, MT

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • View from the 600 block of Main Street, Lewistown, MT. Creel Funeral Home (built 1913) on the right was originally the Marsh the Homemaker store. The Burke Hotel (built1906 as the Bright Hotel) is the large building on the left. An electric...
    • Carson's Saloon, Lewistown, MT

    •  
    •  
    • Built in 1893, the Carson's Saloon building became the Bon Ton Confectionary in 1908. It's location is 312 W. Main.
    • Central Feed Store, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • View from the back of the building. Central Feed building was built in 1916 by Wasmansdorff and Eastman at 220 East Main. It was originally called the Lewistown Mercantile Co. and later the Nash Finch Wholesale Company. It was built of brick which...
    • Central Feed Store, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Feed Mill;
    • View from the side of the building. Central Feed building was built in 1916 by Wasmansdorff and Eastman at 220 East Main. It was originally called the Lewistown Mercantile Co. and later the Nash Finch Wholesale Company. It was built of brick which...
    • Central Feed, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Lewistown Mercantile;
    • Central Feed building was built in 1916 by Wasmansdorff and Eastman at 220 East Main. It was originally called the Lewistown Mercantile Co. It was built of brick which was produced locally by the Lewistown Brick and Tile Co. It was a wholesale...
    • Central Montana Historical Association Museum, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Central Montana Historical Association Museum building, 408 NE Main Street. It was built in 1956. Originally the museum was in the Civic Center. The dates on the windows refer to the Chamber of Commerce which is housed in the museum building.
    • Charlie's Body Works, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • Later was called Charlie's Paint and Glass. Originally the building was Baker and Sons, blacksmith's. It was loacted on the corner of Janeaux Street and 3rd Ave. South.
    • City Hall and Spring Creek, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Spring Creek;
    • City Hall and fire station (built 1904), Lewistown, Montana, located at 308 4th Avenue South. The view of the building is from Spring Creek which meanders around the building from the southeast side.
    • City Hall, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • The City Hall of Lewistown was located on the corner of Watson Street and 4th Avenue. It was built in 1904 and demolished in 1983. Back of the building.
    • City Hall, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • The City Hall of Lewistown was located on the corner of Watson Street and 4th Avenue. It was built in 1904 and demolished in 1983. Back portion of the building.
    • Civic Center, Lewistown, Montana

    • 1936
    • Civic Center;
    • The construction of the Lewistown Civic Center at 309 5th Avenue South. Two teams of horses are grating the hole for the foundation of the building.
    • Coal cart.

    •  
    • Coal Mining;
    • Coat cart being pulled to the surface by a wench in a building.
    • Colver, Charles P.

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • In 1879 Charles P. Colver left Wisconsin and came up the Missouri River to Montana. He settled in Prickley Valley near Helena and ran a freight line into Helena with three yoke of cattle and a wagon. In 1881 his brother Fred T. Colver joined him...
    • Construction of the Power Mercantile Co., Lewistown, Montana

    • 1901
    • Power Mercantile Co.;
    • Beginning of the construction of the Power Mercantile Building, 302 W. Main, Lewistown, Montana in 1901. The floor is laid and a partial wall of locally quarried sandstone is on the right side. Part of the Montana Hardware building is on the right.
    • Cook-Reynolds Company Building, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Theaters; Real Estate; Western Union;
    • It was built in 1904. Located on the corner of Main Street and 3rd Avenue South. The Western Union office is located in the Judith Theater (built 1914) building next door.
    • Corner of Main Street and 3rd Ave, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The Montana Building is the tall white building (built 1917) on left. The Power Bros Building (built 1901) is the smaller building on the left. It was built by the Croatian Stonemasons from local sandstone. The tall white building on the right...
    • Corner view of Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The Telephone Office is on the corner of 5th Avenue North and Broadway Street. The building on the right is the Ford Garage on Broadway Street.
    • Crowley Block, Lewistown, Montana. 311 W. Main.

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • View shows the building from the back as it was being constructed. It was owned by Annie Crowley. The building next to it is the back of the Warr-Lane building as it was being constructed also. They were built in 1913.
    • Cummings, Frank L.

    •  
    • World War l; Textbook burning;
    • Frank L. Cummings was principal of the Fergus County High School, Lewistown, Montana from 1916-1923. He trained at the University of Chicago where he earned both his A.B. and A.M. degrees. To accommodate the farm boys who could not attend the full...
    • Dahl's Shoe Shop, Lewistown, Montana.

    •  
    •  
    • Arne Dahl owned this shoe shop at 102 W. Main in the 1904 Polk Directory and 105 4th Avenue North in the 1922 Polk Directory. It is not known which building this is.
    • DeMolay Band, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • DeMolay;
    • Members of the Demolay Band in front of the Masonic Temple building, Lewistown, Montana. Harold Slater is holding a trombone (right side of the right pillar)
    • Early Pioneers at Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Travois; T. C. Power & Bro;
    • Early pioneers standing in front of T.C. Power Bro. Co. store on the corner of Main Street and 3rd Ave., Lewistown, Mont. Two people are in front of the store and one person is standing near a covered wagon (may be a Metis cart). One horse is...
    • Ed Wright Land Office, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Ed Wright;
    • Ed Wright Land office located on the corner of Janeaux Street and 4th Avenue South. The Family Theater was located on the right hand side of this building. The building was constructed in 1903.
    • Eddy's Bakery, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • View of the interior of Eddy's Bakery located at 121 N. Dawes. The building was originally Robbin's Bakery built in 1919
    • Elephants on parade, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Circus parade on Main Street at the corner of 5th Avenue South and Main Street. The tall building on the left is the Fergus County Argus newspaper office, built in 1896 and replaced in 1913. The Lewistown Furniture Co. building address was 102-104...
    • Elk's home and Fox Theater, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Theaters;
    • Corner of Main St. and 3rd Avene South. Shows the Western Union office in the theater building. The theater was usually called the Judith Theater built in 1915.
    • Elkhorn Saloon, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Elkhorn Saloon;
    • Men standing at the bar of the Elk Horn Saloon (123 W. Main). The man with his foot on the rail is Ed Martin, Sheriff of Fergus County, Montana. Schlitz beer sign is hanging on the wall. An elk head is mounted on the wall also. Four spitoons are on...
    • Empire Block, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • View of the Empire Bank and Trust Co. building (built 1908) located on the corner of Main Street and 4th Avenue North. The Day House once on the same location as the Empire building was moved to Broadway Street and 4th Avenue North and can be seen...
    • Empire Building, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • War Bonds;
    • View of the Empire building (built 1909) located on the corner of Main Street and 4th Avenue North. Empire Bank and Trust Co. Liberty Bonds banner is wrapped around two sides of the building.
    • Empire Building.

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • It was built in 1908 on the corner of Main Street and 4th Avenue North. The Day House Hotel can be seen in the background.
    • Fergus County Argus Building, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • View of the Fergus County Argus Newspaper building (built 1896) on the corner of Main Street and 5th Avenue South. It was built in 1896 and replaced in 1913.
    • Fergus County Courthouse, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Courthouses; Jails;
    • The Courthouse was built in 1908-1909. It is located at 712 W. Main. The jail is the small building on the left and the old Courthouse shows on the right.
    • Fergus County Creamery truck, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Creameries;
    • The Fergus County Creamery was started in 1914. William Castberg, who came from Pony, Montana, put up a building 50 by 25 feet, using brick purchased from the local brickyard. It was located at 702 First Avenue South, just half a block north of the...
    • Fergus County Creamery, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Creameries;
    • The Fergus County Creamery was started in 1914. William Castberg, who came from Pony, Montana, put up a building 50 by 25 feet, using brick purchased from the local brickyard. It was located at 702 First Avenue South, just half a block north of the...
    • Fergus County Creamery, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Creameries;
    • The Fergus County Creamery was started in 1914. William Castberg, who came from Pony, Montana, put up a building 50 by 25 feet, using brick purchased from the local brickyard. It was located at 702 First Avenue South, just half a block north of the...
    • Fergus County Creamery, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Creameries; William Castburg; F. L. Dissly; William G. Dissly;
    • The Fergus County Creamery was started in 1914. William Castberg, who came from Pony, Montana, put up a building 50 by 25 feet, using brick purchased from the local brickyard. It was located at 702 First Avenue South, just half a block north of...
    • Fergus County Creamery, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Creameries; William Castburg; F. L. Dissly; William G. Dissly;
    • The Fergus County Creamery was started in 1914. William Castberg, who came from Pony, Montana, put up a building 50 by 25 feet, using brick purchased from the local brickyard. It was located at 702 First Avenue South, just half a block north of...
    • Fergus County Creamery, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Creameries; William Castburg; F. L. Dissly; William G. Dissly;
    • The Fergus County Creamery was started in 1914. William Castberg, who came from Pony, Montana, put up a building 50 by 25 feet, using brick purchased from the local brickyard. It was located at 702 First Avenue South, just half a block north of...
    • Fergus County Creamery, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Creameries; William Castburg; F. L. Dissly; William G. Dissly;
    • The Fergus County Creamery was started in 1914. William Castberg, who came from Pony, Montana, put up a building 50 by 25 feet, using brick purchased from the local brickyard. It was located at 702 First Avenue South, just half a block north of...
    • Fergus County Creamery, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Creameries; William Castburg; F. L. Dissly; William G. Dissly;
    • The Fergus County Creamery was started in 1914. William Castberg, who came from Pony, Montana, put up a building 50 by 25 feet, using brick purchased from the local brickyard. It was located at 702 First Avenue South, just half a block north of...

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK
Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK