Skip to main content

Add or remove other collections to your search:



Narrow your search by:



You've searched: Central Montana Historical Photographs

  • All fields: came
(217 results)



Display: 100

    • St. Joseph’s Hospital, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Hospitals; Lewistown, Montana; Croatian Stonemasons;
    • The first unit was completed and opened on October 15, 1908. The first unit was built by Pete Tuss, a Croatian immigrant who came to Lewistown either in 1898 or 1899. The second unit, the longest of the five units, was started in 1913. John F....
    • Lewistown Dairy.

    •  
    • Lewistown Dairy, Lewistown, Montana; Dairies;
    • The dairy barn with cows. Beat John Kuhne was born on January 10, 1882, in Benken, St. Gallen, Switzerland. He immigrated to Montana in 1906 at the age of 24. He came to the Lewistown area at the urging of the former Joe King and worked as a hand...
    • Hilger, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The town of Hilger is named for David Hilger, born in Henderson, Minn. in 1857. He came to Helena when he was 10 with his family in a covered wagon, receiving his education in Helena and working for James Fergus who lived on a ranch near Helena....
    • Flour Mill, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The flour mill was started by the Jackson brothers in 1886. They sold the mill in 1889 to Cyrus S. Stiles and William C. Waldorf who modernized it. The flour was sold under the brand name of “White Satin”. In 1895 they supplied electricity for...
    • Van den Broeck, Rev. Victor

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • Victor Van Den Broeck came from Belgium in 1907. He was involved in the building of the Catholic Church on Broadway Street, Lewistown, Montana
    • St. Joseph’s Hospital, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Hospitals; Lewistown, Montana; Croatian Stonemasons;
    • The first unit was completed and opened on October 15, 1908. The first unit was built by Pete Tuss, a Croatian immigrant who came to Lewistown either in 1898 or 1899. The second unit, the longest of the five units, was started in 1913. John F....
    • Lewistown Dairy Wagon, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Lewistown Dairy wagon. Beat John Kuhne was born on January 10, 1882, in Benken, St. Gallen, Switzerland. He immigrated to Montana in 1906 at the age of 24. He came to the Lewistown area at the urging of the former Joe King and worked as a hand for...
    • Abel, John

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • John Abel was born March 26, 1877 (Germany) and died May 5, 1939. He came to Montana in 1884 and he owned the Abel Bros meat market and creamery.
    • Hanley, Dan

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • Daniel Hanley was born in Lowell, MA in 1867 and came to Lewistown in 1911. He died July 31, 1933. He was in the real estate and insurance business and was a land agent. He married Margaret Harrington in St. Paul, Minn.
    • Fowler, Donald

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • Donald Fowler was born Feb 23, 1850 near Ross shire, near Inverness Scotland and died Mar 9, 1932. He was married to Annie W. McLennan in 1876. He was county assessor in 1898 and 1900. He came to America in 1876 and to Montana in 1880 and went into...
    • Otten, Herman

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • Herman Otten was born near Hanover, Germany in 1838. He went to San Francisco for 4 years. He then went to Nevada and worked in the stamp mills. In 1865 he came to Montana and located near Deer Lodge. Later he went to Texas in 1870 and drove a band...
    • Von Tobel, Rudolph

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • Rudolph von Tobel was born in Auburn, New York on Feb 13, 1855 and came to Lewistown, Montana in 1883. He was a member of the 4th Legislative Assembly of Montana in 1895 and he was the first city attorney. He married Anna Theresa Zilisch, a school...
    • St. Joseph’s Hospital, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Hospitals; Lewistown, Montana; Croatian Stonemasons;
    • The first unit was completed and opened on October 15, 1908. The first unit was built by Pete Tuss, a Croatian immigrant who came to Lewistown either in 1898 or 1899. The second unit, the longest of the five units, was started in 1913. John F....
    • Waddell, Thomas

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • Thomas Waddell was born in Boone County, Illinois, in 1856. He moved to Kansas in 1866 where he was raised on a farm. In 1875 he went to Utah and worked in a silver mine. He came to Montana in 1880 and then moved to Philbrook in 1881. He operated...
    • Hilger, Montana

    •  
    • Hilger, Montana; Blacksmiths; H. W. Vagts;
    • The town of Hilger is named for David Hilger, born in Henderson, Minn. in 1857. He came to Helena when he was 10 with his family in a covered wagon, receiving his education in Helena and working for James Fergus who lived on a ranch near Helena....
    • St. Joseph’s Hospital, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Hospitals; Lewistown, Montana; Croatian Stonemasons;
    • The first unit was completed and opened on October 15, 1908. The first unit was built by Pete Tuss, a Croatian immigrant who came to Lewistown either in 1898 or 1899. The second unit, the longest of the five units, was started in 1913. John F....
    • Hobson, Montana

    •  
    • Great Northern Railroad;
    • The town of Hobson was named for S.S. Hobson who was an early day rancher and cowboy. The post office of Philbrook was moved to Hobson when the Great Northern Railroad came through in 1907-08. Group of men standing by the Great Northern Railroad...
    • Norman, W. G.

    •  
    • Jewelry Shops;
    • W. G. Norman came to Montana in 1883 from North Carolina and then to Lewistown in 1884 to celebrate the 4th of and witnessed killing of Rattlesnake Jake. In 1887 opened first jewelry story in Lewistown. He did such well in business for the next few...
    • Waite, John D.

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • Waite, John D. He came from Pen Yan, New York in 1880 and settled near Utica, Montana and raised sheep. He was a representative of Fergus County to the Montana Territorial Assembly. He was elected sheriff in 1894 and 1896. He later lived in...
    • Hilger, Montana

    •  
    • Hilger, Montana;
    • The town of Hilger is named for David Hilger, born in Henderson, Minn. in 1857. He came to Helena when he was 10 with his family in a covered wagon, receiving his education in Helena and working for James Fergus who lived on a ranch near Helena....
    • St. Joseph’s Hospital, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Hospitals; Lewistown, Montana; Croatian stonemasons;
    • The first unit was completed and opened on October 15, 1908. The first unit was built by Pete Tuss, a Croatian immigrant who came to Lewistown either in 1898 or 1899. The second unit, the longest of the five units, was started in 1913. John F....
    • Fergus County Creamery, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Creameries;
    • The Fergus County Creamery was started in 1914. William Castberg, who came from Pony, Montana, put up a building 50 by 25 feet, using brick purchased from the local brickyard. It was located at 702 First Avenue South, just half a block north of the...
    • Hilger, Montana

    •  
    • Wells Fargo and Co.; Milwaukee Railroad;
    • The town of Hilger is named for David Hilger, born in Henderson, Minn. in 1857. He came to Helena when he was 10 with his family in a covered wagon, receiving his education in Helena and working for James Fergus who lived on a ranch near Helena....
    • Warren, Fred

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • Fred Warren was born in New York on Jan 1, 1857 and came to Montana in 1883. He was a freighter, rancher, sheep man, real estate worker, and banker. He married Ethel Woodard.
    • Hilger, Montana

    •  
    • Hilger, Montana;
    • The town of Hilger is named for David Hilger, born in Henderson, Minn. in 1857. He came to Helena when he was 10 with his family in a covered wagon, receiving his education in Helena and working for James Fergus who lived on a ranch near Helena....
    • Judith Gold Truck, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The Fergus County Creamery was started in 1914. It was started by William Castberg, who came from Pony, Montana. The brand name, Judith Gold, used by the creamery originated as a result of a contest conducted by the original owner, Castberg. On...
    • Fergus County Creamery, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Creameries;
    • The Fergus County Creamery was started in 1914. William Castberg, who came from Pony, Montana, put up a building 50 by 25 feet, using brick purchased from the local brickyard. It was located at 702 First Avenue South, just half a block north of the...
    • Gilluly, John

    •  
    • Pioneers; Newspaper Editors;
    • John Gilluly was born in Lenowee, Michigan. He came to Montana in 1900 and owned and operated Fergus County Argus 1915-1923; he was elected to state newspaper hall of fame 1965.
    • Hedges, Wyllis

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • Wyllis Hedges was born at Independence, Iowa, July 3, 1857 and came with his family by steamboat Waverly from Omaha to Fort Benton, Montana in 1867. He later settled in Yale in 1882. He was a wool and sheep grower and lived at Yale, MT. He was...
    • Pfaus, Elizabeth Peebles

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • Elizabeth Peebles Pfaus was the daughter of Col. F. E. Peebles of Cobden, Illinois. She graduated from the Carbondale Illinois State Normal School and taught in high schools in Illinois. She came to Montana in 1897 and taught school until she was...
    • Westvelt, August T.

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • August T. Westvelt was born in September 1854 and came to the United States from Norway when he was 12. He came to Montana in 1877-1879. He drove freight from Helena, Fort Benton and Fort Maginnis. He worked at the first post office in Grass Range...
    • Fergus County Creamery, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Creameries; William Castburg; F. L. Dissly; William G. Dissly;
    • The Fergus County Creamery was started in 1914. William Castberg, who came from Pony, Montana, put up a building 50 by 25 feet, using brick purchased from the local brickyard. It was located at 702 First Avenue South, just half a block north of...
    • Hilger, Montana

    •  
    • Hilger, Montana;
    • The town of Hilger is named for David Hilger, born in Henderson, Minn. in 1857. He came to Helena when he was 10 with his family in a covered wagon, receiving his education in Helena and working for James Fergus who lived on a ranch near Helena....
    • Fergus County Creamery truck, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Creameries;
    • The Fergus County Creamery was started in 1914. William Castberg, who came from Pony, Montana, put up a building 50 by 25 feet, using brick purchased from the local brickyard. It was located at 702 First Avenue South, just half a block north of the...
    • Baker, Edgar

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • Edgar Baker was born in 1883 in Bay City, Michigan and came to Montana in 1887. He was a judge in Lewistown and married Florence D’Autremont.
    • Holland, Swend and Olga

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • Swen Holland was born Dec 31, 1871 and died Dec 8, 1953. His wife was Olga (Jacobson) Holland was born Apr 17, 1881 and died Nov 1963. He came to Montana 1891, both born in Norway. They homesteaded near Cheadle, Montana. They were married 1903 in...
    • King, Ernest

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • Ernest Wight King and his family came to Fergus County in 1897. He was superintendent of the Great Northern Mining and Development Co. and was recognized as the best authority on the cyanide process of gold production in Fergus County. He was born...
    • Westvelt, Minnie Jackson

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • Minnie Jackson Westvelt was born in Mapleton, Iowa on July 15, 1897 and came to Bozeman Montana in 1879 by trail to Ogden, Utah and from there to Bozeman by wagon train. She moved to Lewistown with her father (William Dorman Jackson) after her...
    • St. Joseph’s Hospital, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Hospitals; Lewistown, Montana; Croatian Stonemasons;
    • The first unit was completed and opened on October 15, 1908. The first unit was built by Pete Tuss, a Croatian immigrant who came to Lewistown either in 1898 or 1899. The second unit, the longest of the five units, was started in 1913. John F....
    • Aerial view of St. Joseph's Hospital, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The first unit was completed and opened on October 15, 1908. The first unit was built by Pete Tuss, a Croatian immigrant who came to Lewistown either in 1898 or 1899. The second unit, the longest of the five units, was started in 1913. John F....
    • St. Joseph's Hospital, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The first unit was completed and opened on October 15, 1908. The first unit was built by Pete Tuss, a Croatian immigrant who came to Lewistown either in 1898 or 1899. The second unit, the longest of the five units, was started in 1913. John F....
    • Fergus County Creamery, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Creameries; William Castburg; F. L. Dissly; William G. Dissly;
    • The Fergus County Creamery was started in 1914. William Castberg, who came from Pony, Montana, put up a building 50 by 25 feet, using brick purchased from the local brickyard. It was located at 702 First Avenue South, just half a block north of...
    • St. Joseph’s Hospital, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Hospitals; Lewistown, Montana; Croatian Stonemasons;
    • The first unit was completed and opened on October 15, 1908. The first unit was built by Pete Tuss, a Croatian immigrant who came to Lewistown either in 1898 or 1899. The second unit, the longest of the five units, was started in 1913. John F....
    • Aerial view of St. Joseph's hospital, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The first unit was completed and opened on October 15, 1908. The first unit was built by Pete Tuss, a Croatian immigrant who came to Lewistown either in 1898 or 1899. The second unit, the longest of the five units, was started in 1913. John F....
    • St. Joseph's Hospital, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The first unit was completed and opened on October 15, 1908. The first unit was built by Pete Tuss, a Croatian immigrant who came to Lewistown either in 1898 or 1899. The second unit, the longest of the five units, was started in 1913. John F....
    • Barnes, John P.

    •  
    • Mayors; Barnes-King Mine; Flour Mills;
    • John P. Barnes was part owner of the Barnes-King mine at Kendall, Montana. He came to Montana in 1864 and was the first mayor of Lewistown, Montana. He was born in Boone County, Missouri on January 28, 1832 and he died in 1915. In 1905 he...
    • Ivins, Edward G. (Doc)

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • Edward G. Ivins was born in Salt Lake City, Utah, Nov. 13, 1856. Edward G. "Doc" Ivins came to Lewistown from Los Angeles via Butte in 1900. E. G. (Doc) Ivins was managing editor of the Lewistown Democrat-News. He wrote the book “This Way Out,”...
    • Laux, Phillip

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • Philip Laux was born April 1, 1861 in Hasson Nassau, Germany and died Oct 25, 1946. He came back to Montana in 1885 and worked at a stone quarry near Helena. In 1886 he worked for Charles Lehman as a blacksmith at Cottonwood. In 1890 he went to...
    • Woods, Billy

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • William (Billy) R. Woods was born in Bannack, Montana in 1864 and came to Fergus County in 1882. He was sheriff of Fergus County 1911-191. He married Stella M. Pyle of White Sulphur Springs.
    • St. Joseph's Hospital, Lewistown, Montana.

    •  
    •  
    • The first unit was completed and opened on October 15, 1908. The first unit was built by Pete Tuss, a Croatian immigrant who came to Lewistown either in 1898 or 1899. The second unit, the longest of the five units, was started in 1913. John F....
    • Fergus County Creamery, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Creameries; William Castburg; F. L. Dissly; William G. Dissly;
    • The Fergus County Creamery was started in 1914. William Castberg, who came from Pony, Montana, put up a building 50 by 25 feet, using brick purchased from the local brickyard. It was located at 702 First Avenue South, just half a block north of...
    • St. Joseph’s Hospital, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Hospitals; Lewistown, Montana; Croatian Stonemasons;
    • The first unit was completed and opened on October 15, 1908. The first unit was built by Pete Tuss, a Croatian immigrant who came to Lewistown either in 1898 or 1899. The second unit, the longest of the five units, was started in 1913. John F....
    • Hilger, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The town of Hilger is named for David Hilger, born in Henderson, Minn. in 1857. He came to Helena when he was 10 with his family in a covered wagon, receiving his education in Helena and working for James Fergus who lived on a ranch near Helena....
    • Hirst, Rev. George

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • Rev. George Hirst was rector at St. James Episcopal Church, Lewistown, Montana. He was from Chippewa Falls, Wis. He came Oct 1, 1912 with his family to become the first Rector of the church. He resigned from the church On Apr 19, 1939.
    • Belden, Oliver

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • Oliver Belden was born in Dawson, Neb. Sept 25, 1873 and came to Montana in 1898. He served as City Attorney, then District Attorney and late became speaker of the state House of Representatives. He practiced in Lewistown for 30 years. In 1901 he...
    • Wunderlin, Joe

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • Joe Wunderlin was born Dec 10, 1845 in Milstadt, Illinois and died Feb 8, 1933. He came to Montana in 1871 and took over his Brother Bill’s homestead near Ross Fork, Montana. His wife was named Mattie. He was a miner of quartz. The two brothers...
    • Fergus County Creamery, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Creameries; William Castburg; F. L. Dissly; William G. Dissly;
    • The Fergus County Creamery was started in 1914. William Castberg, who came from Pony, Montana, put up a building 50 by 25 feet, using brick purchased from the local brickyard. It was located at 702 First Avenue South, just half a block north of...
    • Bell, Fred

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • Fred Bell was born in 1883 and came to Lewistown in 1910 due to the homestead act. He came from St. Paul Minnesota and worked in the Empire Bank and Trust Co. In 1911 he went to Minnesota to marry Mary Martinson. Their daughter is Mrs Elton Parrish...
    • Jackson, Robert G.

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • Robert G. Jackson was born Jan 29, 1846 in Canada and died Dec 13, 1930. His wife was Amelia Jackson Taylor. He came to Lewistown, Montana in 1884
    • Jenni, John

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • John Jenni came to Montana with his brother (Frederick) in 1881 and worked in Helena in a livery stable. In 1882 he joined his brother Frederick on Beaver Creek. He later filed for a homestead near Frederick’s land. He was a freighter, carpenter...
    • Fergus County Creamery, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Creameries; William Castburg; F. L. Dissly; William G. Dissly;
    • The Fergus County Creamery was started in 1914. William Castberg, who came from Pony, Montana, put up a building 50 by 25 feet, using brick purchased from the local brickyard. It was located at 702 First Avenue South, just half a block north of...
    • Hobson, Montana

    •  
    • Hobson, Montana;
    • The town of Hobson was named for S.S. Hobson who was an early day rancher and cowboy. The post office of Philbrook was moved to Hobson when the Great Northern Railroad came through in 1907-08.
    • Rauch, John B.

    •  
    • Rauch, John B.;
    • John Rauch was born Feb 24, 1868 in Virden, Illinois and died Nov 30, 1953. He came to Montana in 1890. He was married to Margaret Fergus (youngest daughter of William Fergus) in 1896. He worked at Lehman’s store and managed the Judith Hardware.
    • Bennett, James

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • James Levy Bennett was born Dec 23, 1866 in Mecca, Ohio and died Oct 24, 1942. He settled on a ranch on East Fork. James was a freighter before the railroad came to town. He married Belle McCune in 1916.
    • Fergus County Creamery, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Creameries; William Castburg; F. L. Dissly; William G. Dissly;
    • The Fergus County Creamery was started in 1914. William Castberg, who came from Pony, Montana, put up a building 50 by 25 feet, using brick purchased from the local brickyard. It was located at 702 First Avenue South, just half a block north of...
    • Hobson, Montana

    •  
    • Hobson, Montana;
    • The town of Hobson was named for S.S. Hobson who was an early day rancher and cowboy. The post office of Philbrook was moved to Hobson when the Great Northern Railroad came through in 1907-08. Woods Bros. Service station, 7/25/1975
    • St. Joseph's Hospital, Lewistown, Montana.

    •  
    •  
    • The first unit was completed and opened on October 15, 1908. The first unit was built by Pete Tuss, a Croatian immigrant who came to Lewistown either in 1898 or 1899. The second unit, the longest of the five units, was started in 1913. John F....
    • Creel, George and wife

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • George Creel was born Oct 20, 1873 in Hancock Co., Illinois and died Sep 5, 1954. He came to Montana in 1899. He was married to Kittie A. Creel. He was a funeral director in Lewistown for many years.
    • Fergus County Creamery, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Creameries; William Castburg; F. L. Dissly; William G. Dissly;
    • The Fergus County Creamery was started in 1914. William Castberg, who came from Pony, Montana, put up a building 50 by 25 feet, using brick purchased from the local brickyard. It was located at 702 First Avenue South, just half a block north of...
    • Hobson, Montana

    •  
    • Hobson, Montana; Great Northern Railroad;
    • The town of Hobson was named for S.S. Hobson who was an early day rancher and cowboy. The post office of Philbrook was moved to Hobson when the Great Northern Railroad came through in 1907-08. Great Northern bridge across the Judith River at...
    • St. Joseph's Hospital, Lewistown, Montana.

    •  
    •  
    • The first unit was completed and opened on October 15, 1908. The first unit was built by Pete Tuss, a Croatian immigrant who came to Lewistown either in 1898 or 1899. The second unit, the longest of the five units, was started in 1913. John F....
    • Brassey, Edward

    •  
    • Edward Brassey;
    • He was born in England Oct 22, 1844. Mr. Brassey came to the present site of Lewistown in the early fall of 1881 in the capacity of school teacher and later taught the first term of public school which was organized in the section which now...
    • DeKalb, H. Leonard

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • H. Leonard DeKalb was born May 10, 1870 in Alexandria, Nebraska. He came to Lewistown in 1902. Judge DeKalb married Vera McClean in 1905. He was the City Attorney for 6 years. In 1917 he was the District Judge and resigned in 1918. In 1911 he and...
    • Creel, George

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • George Creel was born Oct 20, 1873 in Hancock Co., Illinois and died Sep 5, 1954. He came to Montana in 1899. He was married to Kittie A. Creel. He was a funeral director in Lewistown for many years.
    • Wiedeman, George

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • George J. Wiedeman was born at New Bremen, Auglaize County, Ohio, February 22, 1859. In September 1881, Mr. Wiedeman came to Montana and to the Judith Basin where he worked for Jack Waite as a sheep herder. The next year he took a band of sheep on...
    • Hobson, Montana

    •  
    • Hobson, Montana; Depots; Elevators;
    • The town of Hobson was named for S.S. Hobson who was an early day rancher and cowboy. The post office of Philbrook was moved to Hobson when the Great Northern Railroad came through in 1907-08. Depot and Elevators at Hobson, Montana
    • Cook, George

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • George Cook was born Aug. 30, 1949 in Burke, New York on a farm and died Jan 20, 1949. He took a scientific course in Barre Academy, at Barr, VT and then taught school for a while. He came to Montana 1880 and then to Fergus County in 1883 and...
    • Keller, Robert & Alloysia

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • Robert Keller was born May 25, 1857 in Switzerland and died Oct 28 1929. He came to the United States in 1881. After that time he settled on Beaver Creek near Lewistown, Montana. He worked at Watson’s saw mill on Casino Creek where he night herded...
    • Kelly, Charles

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • Charles M. Kelly was born in 1867 near Indianapolis, Indiana. He came to Montana in 1880 to Fort Benton and to the Judith Basin in 1885. He worked on a ranch until 1889 and became Fergus County Clerk and Recorder for many years.
    • Airport, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • Original hanger that was built on the north side of Highway 87. The stones from the building came from the First Christian Church that was located on the corner of 7th Ave North and Boulevard St, Lewistown, Montana that was torn down. The airport...
    • Hanover, Montana

    •  
    • Hanover, Montana; Cement Plants; Gypsum Plants;
    • In approximately 1916, a gypsum quarry and cement plant was established ten miles northwest of Lewistown. With the plant and quarry came the town of Hanover. The company who owned the plant was quick to establish a place for its workers to stay. ...
    • Hobson, Montana [Philbrook, Montana]

    •  
    • Hobson, Montana;
    • The town of Hobson was named for S.S. Hobson who was an early day rancher and cowboy. The post office of Philbrook was moved to Hobson when the Great Northern Railroad came through in 1907-08. Formally called Philbrook, Montana Before 1910
    • Hanover, Montana

    •  
    • Hanover, Montana; Cement Plants; Gypsum Plants;
    • In approximately 1916, a gypsum quarry and cement plant was established ten miles northwest of Lewistown. With the plant and quarry came the town of Hanover. The company who owned the plant was quick to establish a place for its workers to stay. ...
    • Anderson, Peter

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • Peter Anderson came to Montana in 1873 from Norway. He did placer mining in Helena and Butte. He moved to Central Montana in 1882 and married Marie Slotten, his childhood sweetheart from Norway on July 22, 1883. They lived four miles west of...
    • Hanover, Montana

    •  
    • Hanover, Montana; Cement Plants; Gypsum Plants;
    • Spring Creek bridge. In approximately 1916, a gypsum quarry and cement plant was established ten miles northwest of Lewistown. With the plant and quarry came the town of Hanover. The company who owned the plant was quick to establish a place for...
    • Hobson, Montana

    •  
    • Hobson, Montana;
    • The town of Hobson was named for S.S. Hobson who was an early day rancher and cowboy. The post office of Philbrook was moved to Hobson when the Great Northern Railroad came through in 1907-08.
    • St. Joseph's Hospital, Lewistown, Montana.

    •  
    •  
    • The first unit was completed and opened on October 15, 1908. The first unit was built by Pete Tuss, a Croatian immigrant who came to Lewistown either in 1898 or 1899. The second unit, the longest of the five units, was started in 1913. John F....
    • Colver, Charles P.

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • In 1879 Charles P. Colver left Wisconsin and came up the Missouri River to Montana. He settled in Prickley Valley near Helena and ran a freight line into Helena with three yoke of cattle and a wagon. In 1881 his brother Fred T. Colver joined him...
    • Hanover, Montana

    •  
    • Hanover, Montana; Cement Plants; Gypsum Plants;
    • In approximately 1916, a gypsum quarry and cement plant was established ten miles northwest of Lewistown. With the plant and quarry came the town of Hanover. The company who owned the plant was quick to establish a place for its workers to stay. ...
    • Hobson, Montana

    •  
    • Hobson, Montana;
    • The town of Hobson was named for S.S. Hobson who was an early day rancher and cowboy. The post office of Philbrook was moved to Hobson when the Great Northern Railroad came through in 1907-08.
    • St. Joseph's Hospital, Lewistown, Montana.

    •  
    •  
    • The first unit was completed and opened on October 15, 1908. The first unit was built by Pete Tuss, a Croatian immigrant who came to Lewistown either in 1898 or 1899. The second unit, the longest of the five units, was started in 1913. John F....
    • Hirst, Rev. George

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • Rev. George Hirst was Rector at St. James Episcopal Church. He was from Chippewa Falls, Wis. He came Oct 1, 1912 with his family to become the first Rector of the church. He resigned from the church On Apr 19, 1939.
    • Ritch, Johnnie

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • John B. Ritch was born December 1, 1868, in North Carolina. When he was 15 he went to Texas and became a cowboy. He came to Montana in 1885 and rode the Judith Basin county range for several early-day cattle outfits. He later engaged in the mining...
    • Hanover, Montana

    •  
    • Hanover, Montana; Cement Plants; Gypsum Plants;
    • Stairway leadidng to the town of Hanover, Montana. In approximately 1916, a gypsum quarry and cement plant was established ten miles northwest of Lewistown. With the plant and quarry came the town of Hanover. The company who owned the plant was...
    • Hobson, Montana

    •  
    • Hobson, Montana;
    • The town of Hobson was named for S.S. Hobson who was an early day rancher and cowboy. The post office of Philbrook was moved to Hobson when the Great Northern Railroad came through in 1907-08.
    • St. Joseph's Hospital, Lewistown, Montana.

    •  
    •  
    • The first unit was completed and opened on October 15, 1908. The first unit was built by Pete Tuss, a Croatian immigrant who came to Lewistown either in 1898 or 1899. The second unit, the longest of the five units, was started in 1913. John F....
    • Croft, James Mitchell

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • James Mitchell Croft was born Jan 3, 1858 in Waterbury, Conn. and died July 11, 1930. He was an accountant. He came to Montana in 1881 and located on the Sun River. He moved to Stanford in 1882 and was in the sheep business. He was elected County...
    • Hobson, Montana

    •  
    • Hobson, Montana; Realty Office;
    • The town of Hobson was named for S.S. Hobson who was an early day rancher and cowboy. The post office of Philbrook was moved to Hobson when the Great Northern Railroad came through in 1907-08.
    • St. Joseph's Hospital, Lewistown, Montana.

    •  
    •  
    • The first unit was completed and opened on October 15, 1908. The first unit was built by Pete Tuss, a Croatian immigrant who came to Lewistown either in 1898 or 1899. The second unit, the longest of the five units, was started in 1913. John F....
    • Edwards, Rev. George

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • Rev. George Edwards came to Montana in 1886. He was an early day pastor of the Presbyterian Church in 1891. He studied in Princeton, N.J. He was partly responsible for the construction of the 1st Presbyterian Church built on the corner of 5th and...

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK
Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK