Skip to main content

Add or remove other collections to your search:



Narrow your search by:



You've searched: Central Montana Historical Photographs

  • All fields: is
(510 results)



Display: 100

    • Janeaux Street, Lewistown Montana

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • North side of the 300 block on Janeaux Street. The Judith Hardware Co faces Janeaux Street. The Fergus Hotel is on the Corner facing 3rd Ave South.
    • St. Joseph’s Hospital, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Hospitals; Lewistown, Montana; Croatian Stonemasons;
    • The first unit was completed and opened on October 15, 1908. The first unit was built by Pete Tuss, a Croatian immigrant who came to Lewistown either in 1898 or 1899. The second unit, the longest of the five units, was started in 1913. John F....
    • Hilger, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The town of Hilger is named for David Hilger, born in Henderson, Minn. in 1857. He came to Helena when he was 10 with his family in a covered wagon, receiving his education in Helena and working for James Fergus who lived on a ranch near Helena....
    • Fire wagon, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Fire wagon pulled by two horses on the 500 block of Janeaux Street, Lewistown, MT. The first Presbyterian Church (built 1892 and torn down in 1892) is in the background, it was located on the corner of Janeaux and 5th Avenue South.
    • Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Freighting;
    • Freight team in front of the Golden Rule Store (400 block on Main Street, Lewistown, MT). The Judith Basin Bank (built 1899) is on the corner with the curved doorway and the old Courthouse is on the far left. The first part of the Burke Hotel is...
    • Moore, Montana

    •  
    • Moore, Montana;
    • Main Street of Moore, Montana. Various signs on the buildings read: David Drug Co.; M & M Buffet; The Moore Mercantile Co.; State Bank; and Catlin's Restaurant Chop House. The Moore School is at the end of the street.
    • Lehman family in yard

    •  
    • Lehman Family;
    • Five women and three children sitting in a backyard. Woman on the far left is Mrs. Bach and the woman second from the right is Helen Lehman Warr.
    • Reedsfort Post Office, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Post Offices;
    • The first post office in Central Montana was built in 1880 and named Reedsfort after its first postmaster, Alonzo S. Reed. It was built by Mose LaTray and still stands in Lewistown, Montana. It is located on Casino Creek Drive. Alonzo Reed managed...
    • Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Parades;
    • Circus wagon on parade at the corner of Main Street and 5th Avenue. The corner building is the News-Argus building at 423 W. Main. The Lewistown Furniture building at 501 W. Main can also been seen in the background.
    • Gold Mining in Central Montana

    •  
    • Gold Mining; Judith Mountains, Montana;
    • TAIL HOLT MINE: Discovered in the early 1880’s by Thomas Kerr. The original name of the claim is unknown; was abandoned by him a few tears later. Thereafter was located and held by various parties and abandoned by them. In 1927 Al H. Sellers and...
    • St. Joseph’s Hospital, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Hospitals; Lewistown, Montana; Croatian Stonemasons;
    • The first unit was completed and opened on October 15, 1908. The first unit was built by Pete Tuss, a Croatian immigrant who came to Lewistown either in 1898 or 1899. The second unit, the longest of the five units, was started in 1913. John F....
    • CCC truck, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • CCC (Civilian Conservation Corps);
    • The truck is parked on the 100 block of 5th Avenue North, Lewistown, Montana
    • Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Scheidt Brothers Jewelers was located at 410 W. Main. The building on the right is the Empire Block.
    • Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • The corner of Main Street and 5th Ave. South, Lewistown Mont. The Argus Newspaper office (1896-1913) is on the far left. A sleigh is in the center of 5th Ave. South. The Dark Horse Stable shows beyond the Argus Office (5th Avenue) and the spire...
    • Methodist Church, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Methodist Church (built 1904) was located at 512 W. Broadway, Lewistown, MT. The Culver/Coulter Studio building is on the right and Scovel's Transfer Co. is on the left side next to the church. The Broadway Apartments can be seen on the far left.
    • Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • Buildings on the north side of the 300 block on Main Street. A freight wagon is parked in front of Carson's Saloon (later called the Bon Ton). The other buildings on the block were built in the 1890's except for the building on the far left which...
    • Fowler, Donald

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • Donald Fowler was born Feb 23, 1850 near Ross shire, near Inverness Scotland and died Mar 9, 1932. He was married to Annie W. McLennan in 1876. He was county assessor in 1898 and 1900. He came to America in 1876 and to Montana in 1880 and went into...
    • Winnett, Walter

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • Walter Winnett was born in 1859 in Toronto, Canada. He later settled where the town of Winnett is and married Mary Jenkins from Missouri. They were married in 1899. In 1900 he built his family home from lumber from his sawmill. He started the first...
    • Judith Basin Bank, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • Lewistown Bakery and Blackford Law Office are located in the buildings. Location is the corner of 5th Avenue and Main Street.
    • Gold Mining in Central Montana

    •  
    • Gold Mining; Judith Mountains, Montana;
    • TAIL HOLT MINE: Discovered in the early 1880’s by Thomas Kerr. The original name of the claim is unknown; was abandoned by him a few tears later. Thereafter was located and held by various parties and abandoned by them. In 1927 Al H. Sellers and...
    • St. Joseph’s Hospital, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Hospitals; Lewistown, Montana; Croatian Stonemasons;
    • The first unit was completed and opened on October 15, 1908. The first unit was built by Pete Tuss, a Croatian immigrant who came to Lewistown either in 1898 or 1899. The second unit, the longest of the five units, was started in 1913. John F....
    • Bank of Fergus County, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Banks;
    • This is the interior of the Bank of Fergus County which was built in 1904 at 221 W. Main. It replaced the first Bank of Fergus County which was built in 1887 and burned in 1904 when the Lewistown Hotel (next door) burned. The bank later moved into...
    • Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • Main Street of Lewistown from the 700 block. The Courthouse is on the far left and the Burke Hotel shows in the center of the photo. Judith Mountains are visible in the background.
    • Lewistown Grocery Truck, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Lewistown Grocery Company truck is parked in a field with a man sitting at the wheel. The first high school and gymnasium can be seen through the back of the truck.
    • Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • View of the north side of the 300 block on Main Street. C.H. Williams, Druggist building (built 1894) is on the far left with the Stafford Harness and Saddlery Shop (built 1890) next to it.
    • Moore, Montana

    •  
    • Moore, Montana;
    • Railroad depot along the railroad tracks at Moore, Montana. A grain elevator is on the left and buildings from the town are on the right.
    • Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • U.S. Mail car (Essex) parked in front of the Stapleton Block (built 1916) at 414 W. Broadway. Judith Motor Company is occuping the building.
    • Empire Building, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • War Bonds;
    • View of the Empire building (built 1909) located on the corner of Main Street and 4th Avenue North. Empire Bank and Trust Co. Liberty Bonds banner is wrapped around two sides of the building.
    • Lewistown, Montana.

    •  
    •  
    • View is looking towards the water tank on top of the hill from Washington Street. Lewistown, Montana.
    • Fergus County Courthouse, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Courthouses; Jails;
    • The Courthouse was built in 1908-1909. It is located at 712 W. Main. The jail is the small building on the left and the old Courthouse shows on the right.
    • Gold Mining in Central Montana

    •  
    • Judith Mountains, Montana;
    • TAIL HOLT MINE: Perry Decker and Marjorie Wieglenda pushing while Montana Wieglenda rides in a mine car. The mine was discovered in the early 1880’s by Thomas Kerr. The original name of the claim is unknown; was abandoned by him a few years later....
    • Hilger, Montana

    •  
    • Hilger, Montana; Blacksmiths; H. W. Vagts;
    • The town of Hilger is named for David Hilger, born in Henderson, Minn. in 1857. He came to Helena when he was 10 with his family in a covered wagon, receiving his education in Helena and working for James Fergus who lived on a ranch near Helena....
    • St. Joseph’s Hospital, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Hospitals; Lewistown, Montana; Croatian Stonemasons;
    • The first unit was completed and opened on October 15, 1908. The first unit was built by Pete Tuss, a Croatian immigrant who came to Lewistown either in 1898 or 1899. The second unit, the longest of the five units, was started in 1913. John F....
    • Ford truck on parade, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Buildings in the background are on the north side of the 400 block on Main Street, Lewistown, Montana. Seiden Drug Store is shown on the left and the Scheidt Jewelry Store is shown on the right.
    • Bank of Fergus County, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Banks;
    • This is the interior of the Bank of Fergus County which was built in 1904 at 223 W. Main. It replaced the first Bank of Fergus County which was built in 1887 and burned in 1904 when the Lewistown Hotel (next door) burned. The bank later moved into...
    • Homes of Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • W. D. Symmes residence, built 1909 and located at 220 W. Boulevard. It is part of the Silk Stocking District.
    • Red River Carts on 5th Avenue, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Metis; Red River Carts;
    • Carts are in front of Dr. W. F. Hanson's office located on 5th Avenue South 1 block east of Main Street. George T. Bach and his sister Emily are on the front porch. The house on the far right is Frank Moshner's and next to it was the Methodist...
    • Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • The 100 and 200 block (north side) of Main Street, Lewistown, Montana as seen from the southeast. A. Young [saddle] Manufacturer shop is on the left side. Further down the street is the Elkhorn Stable (100 block). Telephone poles and lines are on...
    • Culver Studio and home, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Photographers;
    • Located at 212 5th Avenue North. William H. Culver was the first photographer to set up a business in Lewistown in 1886. He moved to Lewistown from Maiden, Montana where he had been the photographer from 1883-1886. Culver's original home is on the...
    • Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • The Lewistown Commercial Co. (216 W. Main, Lewistown, MT) building with awning is on far left. Next to it is another building being constructed probably by John Laux.
    • Anderson, Sally

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • Sally Anderson was the daughter of Reece Anderson and Mary Payette. She was born August 5, 1866 in Deer Lodge, Montana. She is buried at the Fort Maginnis Cemetery.
    • St. Joseph's Hospital, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The first unit was completed and opened on October 15, 1908. The first unit was built by Pete Tuss, a Croatian immigrant who came to Lewistown either in 1898 or 1899. The second unit, the longest of the five units, was started in 1913. John F....
    • Gold Mining in Central Montana

    •  
    • Gold Mining; Judith Mountains, Montana;
    • TAIL HOLT MINE: Discovered in the early 1880’s by Thomas Kerr. The original name of the claim is unknown; was abandoned by him a few tears later. Thereafter was located and held by various parties and abandoned by them. In 1927 Al H. Sellers and...
    • Hilger, Montana

    •  
    • Hilger, Montana;
    • The town of Hilger is named for David Hilger, born in Henderson, Minn. in 1857. He came to Helena when he was 10 with his family in a covered wagon, receiving his education in Helena and working for James Fergus who lived on a ranch near Helena....
    • St. Joseph’s Hospital, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Hospitals; Lewistown, Montana; Croatian stonemasons;
    • The first unit was completed and opened on October 15, 1908. The first unit was built by Pete Tuss, a Croatian immigrant who came to Lewistown either in 1898 or 1899. The second unit, the longest of the five units, was started in 1913. John F....
    • Hilger, Montana

    •  
    • Wells Fargo and Co.; Milwaukee Railroad;
    • The town of Hilger is named for David Hilger, born in Henderson, Minn. in 1857. He came to Helena when he was 10 with his family in a covered wagon, receiving his education in Helena and working for James Fergus who lived on a ranch near Helena....
    • Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • View of Montana Street from 6th Ave. North. The Episcopal Church (built 1899) is the third building from the left and the Hawthorne School (1899-1918) is the tall building in the center. The Judith Mountains are in the background.
    • Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • View from the top curve of Main Street Hill. Shows a cutout hillside on the right and both sides of the street are fenced. Lewistown is seen in the distance with the Judith Mountains in the background. The Fergus County Courthouse is being...
    • Boy Scouts, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Boy Scouts;
    • Boy Scout troop and their leader. One boy is holding a flag with a wolf on it and the other boy has a flag with an eagle on it. The boy in the back row far right is Harold Slater. All are dressed in uniforms.
    • Anderson, Sam and his wife

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • Sam Anderson and his wife. He died July 28, 1912 in Lewistown at 57 years of age and is buried in the Lewistown City Cemetery.
    • Aerial view of St. Joseph's Hospital, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The first unit was completed and opened on October 15, 1908. The first unit was built by Pete Tuss, a Croatian immigrant who came to Lewistown either in 1898 or 1899. The second unit, the longest of the five units, was started in 1913. John F....
    • Montana Hardware Store, Lewistown Montana.

    •  
    • Buildings;
    • View of the north side of the 200 block of Main Street, Lewistown, Montana. The Montana Hardware is the first building on the left side. It burned in 1916. The other buildings on the block were built before 1906.
    • Fergus County Courthouse

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • Men working on the side of the Courthouse where the old Courthouse once stood. The Carnegie Library is seen in the background.
    • Brickyard, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • The first plant owed its start and success primarily to one man, John Gretencort. It was this man who was the expert on clay products and was the general manager from 1911 until 1941. The swimming pool is seen in the background.
    • Hilger, Montana

    •  
    • Hilger, Montana;
    • The town of Hilger is named for David Hilger, born in Henderson, Minn. in 1857. He came to Helena when he was 10 with his family in a covered wagon, receiving his education in Helena and working for James Fergus who lived on a ranch near Helena....
    • Corner view of Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The Telephone Office is on the corner of 5th Avenue North and Broadway Street. The building on the right is the Ford Garage on Broadway Street.
    • Fergus County High School Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • View of the Fergus County Free High School (built 1899 and burned by arsonists 1918) it was located in the 400 block on 6th Avenue South. The building on the distant right is the first Lincoln School in the 200 block of 6th Avenue South.
    • First National Bank, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Judith Basin Bank; McDonald and Charters building;
    • Block of buildings at 502-506, W. Main, Lewistown, MT. The building on the right (with awnings on the corner door and front window) housed the First National Bank (formerly called the Judith Basin Bank). It was built in1899. The building next to it...
    • Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • View of Main Street Lewistown, Montana from the 600 block. The Bright Hotel (built in 1906 became the Burke Hotel in 1923) is on the far left. The tallest building on the right is the Bank-Electric building built in 1913. It has an electric flag on...
    • Gold Mining in Central Montana

    •  
    • Judith Mountains, Montana;
    • TAIL HOLT MINE: Discovered in the early 1880’s by Thomas Kerr. The original name of the claim is unknown; was abandoned by him a few years later. Thereafter was located and held by various parties and abandoned by them. In 1927 Al H. Sellers and...
    • Hilger, Montana

    •  
    • Hilger, Montana;
    • The town of Hilger is named for David Hilger, born in Henderson, Minn. in 1857. He came to Helena when he was 10 with his family in a covered wagon, receiving his education in Helena and working for James Fergus who lived on a ranch near Helena....
    • Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • View of Main Street, Lewistown, MT from the corner of 5th Avenue to the Judith Mountains. Telephone and electrical poles line both sides of street. The News-Argus building (built 1896) is on the right side. Next to it is the Lang Building. Lehman's...
    • Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • View from the 600 block of Main Street, Lewistown, Montana. The Presbyterian Church (1st) spire is on the far right side. The American House Hotel (built 1895 and burned 1902 is in the center behind the telephone pole
    • Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Ferris Wheels;
    • View of the south side of the 400 block on Main Street. A ferris wheel is on the street. The Mint Bar on the corner is draped with red white and blue banners. Other businesses include Harry Brown Clothing, Palace Meat Market and The Fad Shoe Store.
    • Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • East Main Street of Lewistown on the south side of the 100 block. A dog is standing behind a building next to a pile of garbage. The Knerr-Tubb building is in the background.
    • St. Joseph’s Hospital, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Hospitals; Lewistown, Montana; Croatian Stonemasons;
    • The first unit was completed and opened on October 15, 1908. The first unit was built by Pete Tuss, a Croatian immigrant who came to Lewistown either in 1898 or 1899. The second unit, the longest of the five units, was started in 1913. John F....
    • Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • Area included is Washington Street to Virginia Street between the 200 and 300 blocks. Hawthorne School (built 1899, demolished 1918) is shown on far left (top). Home on the left was used for a short time as the Courthouse until the first Courthouse...
    • Day House hotel, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The Day House Hotel (built in 1880's at Reeds Fort) was located on the corner of 4th Avenue North and Main Street. It had been moved from Reeds Fort to this location and in 1908 it was moved to the corner of Broadway and 4th Ave North. A balcony...
    • Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • Panoramic view from the top of the Flour Mill towards Lewistown's Main Street. Spring Creek is in the forground (right side).
    • Ivins, Edward G. (Doc)

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • Edward G. Ivins was born in Salt Lake City, Utah, Nov. 13, 1856. Edward G. "Doc" Ivins came to Lewistown from Los Angeles via Butte in 1900. E. G. (Doc) Ivins was managing editor of the Lewistown Democrat-News. He wrote the book “This Way Out,”...
    • Pyle, J. B.

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • James B. Pyle died Jan 11, 1953 and is buried in the Moore, Montana Cemetery.
    • Hilger, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The town of Hilger is named for David Hilger, born in Henderson, Minn. in 1857. He came to Helena when he was 10 with his family in a covered wagon, receiving his education in Helena and working for James Fergus who lived on a ranch near Helena....
    • St. Joseph’s Hospital, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Hospitals; Lewistown, Montana; Croatian Stonemasons;
    • The first unit was completed and opened on October 15, 1908. The first unit was built by Pete Tuss, a Croatian immigrant who came to Lewistown either in 1898 or 1899. The second unit, the longest of the five units, was started in 1913. John F....
    • Reedsfort Post Office, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Post Offices;
    • The first post office in Central Montana was built in 1880 and named Reedsfort after its first postmaster, Alonzo S. Reed. It was built by Mose LaTray and still stands in Lewistown, Montana. It is located on Casino Creek Drive. Alonzo Reed managed...
    • Winifred, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Winifred, Montana began as a railway station along Dog Creek. It is located about 37 miles north of Lewistown, Montana.
    • St. Joseph’s Hospital, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Hospitals; Lewistown, Montana; Croatian Stonemasons;
    • The first unit was completed and opened on October 15, 1908. The first unit was built by Pete Tuss, a Croatian immigrant who came to Lewistown either in 1898 or 1899. The second unit, the longest of the five units, was started in 1913. John F....
    • Reedsfort Post Office, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Post Offices;
    • The first post office in Central Montana was built in 1880 and named Reedsfort after its first postmaster, Alonzo S. Reed. It was built by Mose LaTray and still stands in Lewistown, Montana. It is located on Casino Creek Drive. Alonzo Reed managed...
    • Winifred, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Winifred, Montana began as a railway station along Dog Creek. It is located about 37 miles north of Lewistown, Montana.
    • Washington Street, Lewistown, Montana.

    •  
    •  
    • View from 6th Avenue North looking down on Washington Street. The white building (center left) is the first built Methodist Church.
    • Aerial view of St. Joseph's hospital, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The first unit was completed and opened on October 15, 1908. The first unit was built by Pete Tuss, a Croatian immigrant who came to Lewistown either in 1898 or 1899. The second unit, the longest of the five units, was started in 1913. John F....
    • St. Joseph's Hospital, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The first unit was completed and opened on October 15, 1908. The first unit was built by Pete Tuss, a Croatian immigrant who came to Lewistown either in 1898 or 1899. The second unit, the longest of the five units, was started in 1913. John F....
    • Lewistown Post Office, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Confectionery; Post Office;
    • The building was originally called the Fergus County Realty Building but in later years it is called the News-Argus Building. It is located at 521 W. Main and it was built in 1914 by Architects Wasmansdorff and Eastman. Half of the buiding at one...
    • Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • View of the Fergus County Courthouse section of Lewistown, Montana. The Courthouse is on Main Street in the center of the photo.
    • Methodist Church Manse, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Methodist Church parsonage (built 1892) was located at 204 5th Avenue North. The Culver/Coulter Studio is to the right of the parsonage and the Methodist Church is located to the left.
    • DeMolay Band, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • DeMolay;
    • Members of the Demolay Band in front of the Masonic Temple building, Lewistown, Montana. Harold Slater is holding a trombone (right side of the right pillar)
    • N-Bar Ranch near Flatwillow Creek, Montana

    •  
    • Ranches;
    • The N-Bar Ranch is situated on the east side of the Snowy mountains at the head of Flatwillow creek. It was lo¬cated by the Montana Sheep com¬pany in 1880. In 1885 Thomas Cruse of Helena bought out the Montana Sheep Company, land and livestock. In...
    • Ark Exchange Truck, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The Ark Exchange was a used furniture store. The building in the background is the Wise Block was located on the 500 block of Main Street. It was built in 1911 and burned in 1959.
    • Reedsfort Post Office, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Post Offices;
    • The first post office in Central Montana was built in 1880 and named Reedsfort after its first postmaster, Alonzo S. Reed. It was built by Mose LaTray and still stands in Lewistown, Montana. It is located on Casino Creek Drive. Alonzo Reed managed...

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK
Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK