Skip to main content

Add or remove other collections to your search:



Narrow your search by:



You've searched: Central Montana Historical Photographs

  • All fields: is
(510 results)



Display: 100

    • Gold Mining in Central Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Group touring the large natural caves in the New Year mine.The New Year mine is on the north side of the range west of Maiden. Several claims were located in New Year gulch in the early 1880's.
    • Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The Bright/Burke Hotel is on the far left with the Wise Block next to it. The Bank-Electric building is the tallest building on the right.
    • Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • View of Main Street from the 600 block. Marsh the Homemaker building became the Creel Funeral Home. The Bright Hotel is on the tallest building on the left.
    • Hanover, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The Hanover gypsum mine located 9 miles NW of Lewistown, Mt began in 1914. Later the Three Forks Cement Co. bought the mine and built a plaster plant (1916) and a cement plant (1917) at the same location. A lime quarry was on the top of the...
    • Central Montana Historical Association Museum, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Central Montana Historical Association Museum building, 408 NE Main Street. It was built in 1956. Originally the museum was in the Civic Center. The dates on the windows refer to the Chamber of Commerce which is housed in the museum building.
    • Carson's Saloon, Lewistown, MT

    •  
    •  
    • Built in 1893, the Carson's Saloon building became the Bon Ton Confectionary in 1908. It's location is 312 W. Main.
    • Winifred, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Winifred, Montana began as a railway station along Dog Creek. It is located about 37 miles north of Lewistown, Montana.
    • Washington Street, Lewistown, Montana.

    •  
    •  
    • View from 6th Avenue North looking down on Washington Street. The white building (center left) is the first built Methodist Church.
    • Aerial view of St. Joseph's hospital, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The first unit was completed and opened on October 15, 1908. The first unit was built by Pete Tuss, a Croatian immigrant who came to Lewistown either in 1898 or 1899. The second unit, the longest of the five units, was started in 1913. John F....
    • St. Joseph's Hospital, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The first unit was completed and opened on October 15, 1908. The first unit was built by Pete Tuss, a Croatian immigrant who came to Lewistown either in 1898 or 1899. The second unit, the longest of the five units, was started in 1913. John F....
    • Day House hotel, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The Day House Hotel (built in 1880's at Reeds Fort) was located on the corner of 4th Avenue North and Main Street. It had been moved from Reeds Fort to this location and in 1908 it was moved to the corner of Broadway and 4th Ave North. A balcony...
    • Corner view of Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The Telephone Office is on the corner of 5th Avenue North and Broadway Street. The building on the right is the Ford Garage on Broadway Street.
    • St. Joseph's Hospital, Lewistown, Montana.

    •  
    •  
    • The first unit was completed and opened on October 15, 1908. The first unit was built by Pete Tuss, a Croatian immigrant who came to Lewistown either in 1898 or 1899. The second unit, the longest of the five units, was started in 1913. John F....
    • Winifred, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Winifred, Montana began as a railway station along Dog Creek. It is located about 37 miles north of Lewistown, Montana.
    • Winifred, Montana. First Hotel

    •  
    •  
    • Winifred, Montana began as a railway station along Dog Creek. It is located about 37 miles north of Lewistown, Montana.
    • Lewistown, Montana

    • 1916
    •  
    • A tornado is seen in the background, touching down in a farmer's field near Brooks, Montana (north of Lewistown). Overview of Lewistown looking from the high school toward the Moccasin Mountains.
    • Fergus County High School Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • View of the Fergus County Free High School (built 1899 and burned by arsonists 1918) it was located in the 400 block on 6th Avenue South. The building on the distant right is the first Lincoln School in the 200 block of 6th Avenue South.
    • Aerial view of St. Joseph's Hospital, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The first unit was completed and opened on October 15, 1908. The first unit was built by Pete Tuss, a Croatian immigrant who came to Lewistown either in 1898 or 1899. The second unit, the longest of the five units, was started in 1913. John F....
    • Ford truck on parade, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Buildings in the background are on the north side of the 400 block on Main Street, Lewistown, Montana. Seiden Drug Store is shown on the left and the Scheidt Jewelry Store is shown on the right.
    • Homes of Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • W. D. Symmes residence, built 1909 and located at 220 W. Boulevard. It is part of the Silk Stocking District.
    • Lewistown Grocery Truck, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Lewistown Grocery Company truck is parked in a field with a man sitting at the wheel. The first high school and gymnasium can be seen through the back of the truck.
    • Methodist Church, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Methodist Church (built 1904) was located at 512 W. Broadway, Lewistown, MT. The Culver/Coulter Studio building is on the right and Scovel's Transfer Co. is on the left side next to the church. The Broadway Apartments can be seen on the far left.
    • Lewistown, Montana.

    •  
    •  
    • View is looking towards the water tank on top of the hill from Washington Street. Lewistown, Montana.
    • Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Scheidt Brothers Jewelers was located at 410 W. Main. The building on the right is the Empire Block.
    • Hilger, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The town of Hilger is named for David Hilger, born in Henderson, Minn. in 1857. He came to Helena when he was 10 with his family in a covered wagon, receiving his education in Helena and working for James Fergus who lived on a ranch near Helena....
    • Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • U.S. Mail car (Essex) parked in front of the Stapleton Block (built 1916) at 414 W. Broadway. Judith Motor Company is occuping the building.
    • St. Joseph's Hospital, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The first unit was completed and opened on October 15, 1908. The first unit was built by Pete Tuss, a Croatian immigrant who came to Lewistown either in 1898 or 1899. The second unit, the longest of the five units, was started in 1913. John F....
    • Fire wagon, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Fire wagon pulled by two horses on the 500 block of Janeaux Street, Lewistown, MT. The first Presbyterian Church (built 1892 and torn down in 1892) is in the background, it was located on the corner of Janeaux and 5th Avenue South.
    • Ark Exchange Truck, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The Ark Exchange was a used furniture store. The building in the background is the Wise Block was located on the 500 block of Main Street. It was built in 1911 and burned in 1959.
    • Winifred, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Winifred, Montana began as a railway station along Dog Creek. It is located about 37 miles north of Lewistown, Montana.
    • Paving Main Street, Lewistown, Montana.

    • 1913
    •  
    • Construction of the Bank Electric building, 505 W. Main Street (right). The Lewistown State Bank aross the street is also being constructed.
    • Methodist Church Manse, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Methodist Church parsonage (built 1892) was located at 204 5th Avenue North. The Culver/Coulter Studio is to the right of the parsonage and the Methodist Church is located to the left.
    • St. Joseph's Hospital, Lewistown, Montana.

    •  
    •  
    • The first unit was completed and opened on October 15, 1908. The first unit was built by Pete Tuss, a Croatian immigrant who came to Lewistown either in 1898 or 1899. The second unit, the longest of the five units, was started in 1913. John F....
    • Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Men and women of the Fergus Business College marching in parade on Main Street in front of the Attix Clinic building, Lewistown, Montana. One man is carrying a pennant that reads Fergus Business College Night School.
    • Train snow plow

    •  
    •  
    • A group of men are standing near the rotary end of the railroad snowplow and one man is up on the rotary blade.
    • St. Joseph's Hospital, Lewistown, Montana.

    •  
    •  
    • The first unit was completed and opened on October 15, 1908. The first unit was built by Pete Tuss, a Croatian immigrant who came to Lewistown either in 1898 or 1899. The second unit, the longest of the five units, was started in 1913. John F....
    • Winifred, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Winifred, Montana began as a railway station along Dog Creek. It is located about 37 miles north of Lewistown, Montana.
    • Hanover, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Exterior of part of the Three Forks Cement Plant. The mine entrance is shown on the right. The Hanover gypsum mine located 9 miles NW of Lewistown, Mt began in 1914. Later the Three Forks Cement Co. bought the mine and built a plaster plant (1916)...
    • Winifred, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Winifred, Montana began as a railway station along Dog Creek. It is located about 37 miles north of Lewistown, Montana.
    • Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • View from the south side of the 200 block on Main Street looking at the north side buildings: Ross Mercantile, Montana Hardware (built 1892). The Power Mercantile building (built 1901) is in the center.
    • Winifred, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Winifred, Montana began as a railway station along Dog Creek. It is located about 37 miles north of Lewistown, Montana.
    • Homes of Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • This was the residence of T.T. Taylor who was a banker. It was built in 1919 at 215 W. Boulevard. It is part of the Silk Stocking District.
    • Gold Mining in Central Montana.

    •  
    •  
    • Cumberland Mill looking down Spotted Horse Gulch (the switch back road leading into Maiden Canyon is here.)
    • Winifred, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Winifred, Montana began as a railway station along Dog Creek. It is located about 37 miles north of Lewistown, Montana.
    • Homes of Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Original home of William H. Culver residence at 212 5th Avenue North being demolished. It was built in 1890. The building next door is his later residence built in 1900. William H. Culver was the original photographer for the central Montana area....
    • First School House, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • First school house (built 1883) located at 521 W. Main. The teacher and all the students are in a group next to the school posing for the photo. The teacher is holding an American flag. Some of the children are holding bouquets of flowers.
    • Hilger, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The town of Hilger is named for David Hilger, born in Henderson, Minn. in 1857. He came to Helena when he was 10 with his family in a covered wagon, receiving his education in Helena and working for James Fergus who lived on a ranch near Helena....
    • St. Joseph's Hospital, Lewistown, Montana.

    •  
    •  
    • The first unit was completed and opened on October 15, 1908. The first unit was built by Pete Tuss, a Croatian immigrant who came to Lewistown either in 1898 or 1899. The second unit, the longest of the five units, was started in 1913. John F....
    • Presbyterian Band, Lewistown, Montana

    • 1901
    •  
    • 2nd man from the right is Rudolph Von Tobel (teacher and attorney) and man on the right is William H. Culver who was the first photographer in Lewistown and Maiden, Montana.
    • Methodist Church, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Methodist Church (built 1904) was located at 512 W. Broadway. A group of people are gathered around the laying of the cornerstone. The Methodist Parsonage (built 1892) is next to the new building. The Coulter (originally the Culver Studio) Studio...
    • St. Joseph's Hospital, Lewistown, Montana.

    •  
    •  
    • The first unit was completed and opened on October 15, 1908. The first unit was built by Pete Tuss, a Croatian immigrant who came to Lewistown either in 1898 or 1899. The second unit, the longest of the five units, was started in 1913. John F....
    • Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • View of Main Street from the 1100 Block looking northeast. The Courthouse is seen on the left and the Lincoln School (built 1912) can be seen in the middle right.
    • St. Joseph's Hospital, Lewistown, Montana.

    •  
    •  
    • The first unit was completed and opened on October 15, 1908. The first unit was built by Pete Tuss, a Croatian immigrant who came to Lewistown either in 1898 or 1899. The second unit, the longest of the five units, was started in 1913. John F....
    • Children in school yard, Lewistown, Montana

    • 1888
    •  
    • Lewistown Main Street. The first school house is on the right side with school children in yard next to the school. A fence surrounds the school and yard. Main Street is in front of the school. Judith Mountains are in the background.
    • Winifred, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Revlegks Cash Store and Haynes Hotel. Winifred, Montana began as a railway station along Dog Creek. It is located about 37 miles north of Lewistown, Montana.
    • Lewistown, Montana.

    •  
    •  
    • view of the 600 block on Broadway Street. Shows the Methodist Church in the background and trucks for sale belonging to the Ford Garage across the street. Scovel's Transfer building is next to the Methodist Church.
    • Montana Hardware store, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Montana Hardware (built in 1892) and Lewistown Commercial Co. (built in 1899) and the E.G. Schneider Saloon on the north side of the 200 block on Main Street. A stagecoach is passing in front of the buildings.
    • Lewistown, Montana

    • 1924
    •  
    • Buildings on the north side of the 300 block on Main Street. "Our Band Wagon" car the driver is Guy Dodge, fiddle played by Harry McArthur, banjo is played by Pat Posten and violin played by Mr Graham. View shows the Hancock Drug Store, the Bon Ton...
    • Methodist Church, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The Methodist Church in Lewistown owes its beginning to Rev. W. W. Van Orsdel, pioneer missionary who was known throughout Montana as "Brother Van". The first wooden church building was built in 1886 and when the congregation grew they built a new...
    • St. Joseph's Hospital, Lewistown, Montana.

    •  
    •  
    • The first unit was completed and opened on October 15, 1908. The first unit was built by Pete Tuss, a Croatian immigrant who came to Lewistown either in 1898 or 1899. The second unit, the longest of the five units, was started in 1913. John F....
    • Winifred, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Winifred, Montana began as a railway station along Dog Creek. It is located about 37 miles north of Lewistown, Montana.
    • Hanover, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Exterior of the Hanover Post Office and the Hanover Mercantile Company located in the same building at Hanover, MT. A bus is parked in front of the building. The town was built for the employees of the cement plant which was located across the...
    • Winifred, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Winifred, Montana began as a railway station along Dog Creek. It is located about 37 miles north of Lewistown, Montana.
    • Methodist Church, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • This may be the interior of the old wooden Methodist Church at 202 5th Avenue North. An American flag is hung across the back wall.
    • St. Joseph's Hospital, Lewistown, Montana.

    •  
    •  
    • The first unit was completed and opened on October 15, 1908. The first unit was built by Pete Tuss, a Croatian immigrant who came to Lewistown either in 1898 or 1899. The second unit, the longest of the five units, was started in 1913. John F....
    • Winifred, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Winifred, Montana began as a railway station along Dog Creek. It is located about 37 miles north of Lewistown, Montana.
    • St. Joseph's Hospital, Lewistown, Montana.

    •  
    •  
    • The first unit was completed and opened on October 15, 1908. The first unit was built by Pete Tuss, a Croatian immigrant who came to Lewistown either in 1898 or 1899. The second unit, the longest of the five units, was started in 1913. John F....
    • Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • View from the corner of 4th Avenue looking towards the Judith Mountains. Halpin Building is being constructed on the right.
    • Homes of Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Left is the May Apartments at 803 W. Main built in 1902 by John Laux, Austin W. Warr home (center) at 812 W. Main and Charles Lehman home (right) built in 1900 at 802 W. Main.
    • Hanover, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Exterior of the Three Forks Cement Plant, Hanover, Montana, as seen from the town of Hanover across Highway 426. A man is standing at the top of the steps leading from the town of Hanover to lower fields where there are a few houses that some of...
    • Utica, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Far left, Charlie Waite house (formerly William Culver’s Photograph Studio). Judith Hotel, Silver Dollar Saloon, Utica Livery stable behind saloon (large building in the middle). Large building on the right is H. G. Phillips Store downstairs and...
    • Winifred, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Winifred, Montana began as a railway station along Dog Creek. It is located about 37 miles north of Lewistown, Montana.
    • Barnes-King Gold Mine

    •  
    •  
    • Barnes-King gold mine was located in the North Moccasin Mountains near Lewistown, MT. The Barnes-King Development Company mined the area in 1901-1925. The mine is on the left side of the photo and 4 cars are in the middle.
    • Horse and buggy rig

    •  
    •  
    • Earl Eastman is driving. Location is the corner of 5th Avenue North and Washington Street, Lewistown, Montana
    • Winifred, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Winifred, Montana began as a railway station along Dog Creek. It is located about 37 miles north of Lewistown, Montana.
    • St. Joseph's Hospital, Lewistown, Montana.

    •  
    •  
    • The first unit was completed and opened on October 15, 1908. The first unit was built by Pete Tuss, a Croatian immigrant who came to Lewistown either in 1898 or 1899. The second unit, the longest of the five units, was started in 1913. John F....
    • Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • South side of the 400 block on Main Street, Lewistown, MT. The H.H. Lang Block was built in 1904 and housed the Fergus County Hardware Co and the Fad Shoe and Clothing Co.The Slater Block in the middle was built in 1913 and housed the Myrtle...
    • American House Hotel, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The American House Hotel (built 1896 burned 1902) located on the southeast corner of Main Street and 6th Ave. South, Lewistown, MT. The first Courthouse is shown on the middle of the photo in the horizon. To the right is the construction of the...
    • Hanover, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Exterior of part of the Three Forks Cement Plant. The mine entrance is shown on the right. The Hanover gypsum mine located 9 miles NW of Lewistown, Mt began in 1914. Later the Three Forks Cement Co. bought the mine and built a plaster plant (1916)...
    • Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • View of a circus parade on Main Street, Lewistown, MT from the middle of the 400 block to 1st Avenue. The A & R (Allen and Robinson) building (built 1903 and burned in 1938) is on the far left. The building in the middle with the balcony is the Day...
    • Winifred, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Winifred, Montana began as a railway station along Dog Creek. It is located about 37 miles north of Lewistown, Montana.
    • Winifred, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Winifred, Montana began as a railway station along Dog Creek. It is located about 37 miles north of Lewistown, Montana.
    • Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • View from the top of Main Street hill. The Dockery house is on the right side.
    • St. Joseph's Hospital, Lewistown, Montana.

    •  
    •  
    • The first unit was completed and opened on October 15, 1908. The first unit was built by Pete Tuss, a Croatian immigrant who came to Lewistown either in 1898 or 1899. The second unit, the longest of the five units, was started in 1913. John F....
    • Central Montana Scenery

    •  
    •  
    • Looking west up Maiden Canyon; the rock formation on the right is a landmark called Elephant's Head.
    • Firemen at City Hall, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • City Hall and fire station (built 1904) on the left at 308 4th Avenue South. A tall scaffolding is in the center with fire men practicing climbing the walls of the scaffold.
    • Snowy day Lewistown Montana

    •  
    •  
    • View of Lewistown, Montana from the southeast looking towards the northwest. The Courthouse (built in 1890) is the building on the far left. On the far right (labeled #4) is the Lincoln School (built 1889 and replaced in 1912). The building...

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK
Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK