Skip to main content

Add or remove other collections to your search:



Narrow your search by:



You've searched: Central Montana Historical Photographs

  • All fields: owned
(94 results)



Display: 100

    • Palace Meat Market, Lewistown, Montana.

    • 1904
    • Meat Markets;
    • Palace meat market 407 W. Main. It was owned by the Slater Bros (Christopher John, William A. and Henry N.). John Slater and Chris Tomberg (meat cutter) are shown in the photo. This building was taken down and Charlie Richards built a stone...
    • Bank of Fergus County, Lewistown, Montana

    • 1904
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • Bank of Fergus county is on the right. Lewistown Hotel was built in 1882-83 by Frank Moshner for Judge Toombs. It was later owned by Mr. Hortop. At the time it burned in 1904 it was owned by Frank E. Wright. The Bank of Fergus County was damaged to...
    • Gem Cafes; Lewistown, Montana.

    • 1946
    •  
    • It was located at the corner of 4th Avenue South and Main Street. It was owned by P.O. Mimnaugh who started the Gem Cafe in 1931 and was remodeled in 1946.
    • Flour Mill, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The flour mill was started by the Jackson brothers in 1886. They sold the mill in 1889 to Cyrus S. Stiles and William C. Waldorf who modernized it. The flour was sold under the brand name of “White Satin”. In 1895 they supplied electricity for...
    • Park Market, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Grocery Stores;
    • Park Market was located at 514 Cook Street and was owned by John and Norma Gilmore. They bought the property where Mike Soule had once run a small grocery and confectionary store and improved the property and opened the Park Market in the spring of...
    • A & R (Allen and Robinson) building, Lewistown, Montana.

    •  
    • J. H. Akins; C. H. Williams; Seiden Drug Store; Drug Stores;
    • It was built in 1903 at 416 W. Main. It was the location of the Golden Rule Store owned by J. H. Akins. C.H. Williams, who removed his drug business from Maiden to Lewistown in 1895 established his business in the Allen & Robinson Building in 1904....
    • Abel, John

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • John Abel was born March 26, 1877 (Germany) and died May 5, 1939. He came to Montana in 1884 and he owned the Abel Bros meat market and creamery.
    • Grass Range, Montana.

    •  
    • Grass Range, Montana;
    • Grass Range was located by J. H. Charters in 1890 and he built a general store and hotel and livery stable to serve the early ranchers. He sold the townsite to the Milwaukee Railroad in 1893. Jim Charters owned.
    • Nodson and Sloan Saloon, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Saloons;
    • Nodson and Sloan Saloon was owned by John Nodson and A. Morris Sloan at 412 W. Main. In 1908 it was called the Red Front Saloon and in 1910 it was called the Oberon Buffet.
    • Lewistown Hotel.

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • Located at 219 W. Main, this hotel (on the left) was also known as Hortop's Hotel. It was built in 1882-3 by Frank Moshner and was owned by Judge Toombs (later owned by Mr. Hortop). An addition was added in 1901. The hotel burned in 1904 and was...
    • Palace Meat Market, Lewistown, Montana.

    •  
    • Meat markets;
    • Palace meat market 407 W. Main. It was owned by the Slater Bros (Christopher John, William A. and Henry N.). John Slater and Chris Tomberg (meat cutter) are shown in the photo. This building was taken down and Charlie Richards built a stone...
    • Homes of Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • 707 W. Boulevard. Originally owned by John Bright as his carriage house and stables. Built in 1902.
    • Lewistown Hotel.

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • Located at 219 W. Main, this hotel (on the left) was also known as Hortop's Hotel. It was built in 1882-3 by Frank Moshner and was owned by Judge Toombs (later owned by Mr. Hortop). An addition was added in 1901. The hotel burned in 1904 and was...
    • Gilluly, John

    •  
    • Pioneers; Newspaper Editors;
    • John Gilluly was born in Lenowee, Michigan. He came to Montana in 1900 and owned and operated Fergus County Argus 1915-1923; he was elected to state newspaper hall of fame 1965.
    • Lewistown Hotel.

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • Located at 219 W. Main, this hotel (on the left) was also known as Hortop's Hotel. It was built in 1882-3 by Frank Moshner and was owned by Judge Toombs (later owned by Mr. Hortop). An addition was added in 1901. The hotel burned in 1904 and was...
    • Moccasin, Montana;

    •  
    • Moccasin, Montana;
    • Pioneer store owned by the Brownlee family, burned in 1919. Moccasin was named after the Moccasin Mountains. It was a town on the Great Northern Railway and was located in the productive wheat growing area of Montana.
    • Gold Mining in Central Montana

    •  
    • Gold Mining; Judith Mountains, Montana;
    • WHISKEY GULCH and BIG SIX MINES: Located in the mid and late 1890's. A. S. Wright, promoter of the New Year Mine took over the Whiskey Gulch in 1900 or 1901. He interested some local and St. Paul capital; a mill was built in 1902; later the Big Six...
    • Branson, Alexander

    •  
    • Barbers;
    • In July 1887, Branson filed a claim for 160 acres on the west fork of Beaver Creek, southwest of Lewistown. Branson completed proving up his homestead on July 11, 1892, and he received patent to 160 acres. He had other land in the same area and...
    • Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • View of Main Street shows the Tivoli Music Hall (201 W. Main owned by Harry A. Phillips and Ed Fitzhugh from 1904 Polk Directory) and a restaurant located on the SW corner of Main Street and 2nd Ave. South. A bridge crosses over Spring Creek. The...
    • Homes of Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Dockery House, 1105 W. Main. It was built in 1912 for Jefferson Albert (J.H.) Akins and his wife, Louise Cresap Akins. J.H. Akins owned the Golden Rule store. The Akins moved to Montana from Missouri in 1896 or ’97, first to Deer Lodge, then to...
    • Hanover, Montana

    •  
    • Hanover, Montana; Cement Plants; Gypsum Plants;
    • In approximately 1916, a gypsum quarry and cement plant was established ten miles northwest of Lewistown. With the plant and quarry came the town of Hanover. The company who owned the plant was quick to establish a place for its workers to stay. ...
    • Hanover, Montana

    •  
    • Hanover, Montana; Cement Plants; Gypsum Plants;
    • In approximately 1916, a gypsum quarry and cement plant was established ten miles northwest of Lewistown. With the plant and quarry came the town of Hanover. The company who owned the plant was quick to establish a place for its workers to stay. ...
    • Hanover, Montana

    •  
    • Hanover, Montana; Cement Plants; Gypsum Plants;
    • Spring Creek bridge. In approximately 1916, a gypsum quarry and cement plant was established ten miles northwest of Lewistown. With the plant and quarry came the town of Hanover. The company who owned the plant was quick to establish a place for...
    • Hanover, Montana

    •  
    • Hanover, Montana; Cement Plants; Gypsum Plants;
    • In approximately 1916, a gypsum quarry and cement plant was established ten miles northwest of Lewistown. With the plant and quarry came the town of Hanover. The company who owned the plant was quick to establish a place for its workers to stay. ...
    • Palais Royal Confectionery, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Buildings; Confectionery;
    • Palais Royal Confectionery was located at 211 W. Main and was owned by John R. Miller and Albert J. Osweiler in 1910. In 1912 it was owned by Ray W. Clarke and Albert J. Osweiler and located at 213 W. Main
    • Hanover, Montana

    •  
    • Hanover, Montana; Cement Plants; Gypsum Plants;
    • Stairway leadidng to the town of Hanover, Montana. In approximately 1916, a gypsum quarry and cement plant was established ten miles northwest of Lewistown. With the plant and quarry came the town of Hanover. The company who owned the plant was...
    • Hanover, Montana

    •  
    • Hanover, Montana; Cement Plants; Gypsum Plants;
    • Spring Creek below Hanover, Montana. In approximately 1916, a gypsum quarry and cement plant was established ten miles northwest of Lewistown. With the plant and quarry came the town of Hanover. The company who owned the plant was quick to...
    • Belanger, Nathalie

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • Nathalie Belanger came to Montana in 1868 and started mercantile stores six miles from the present site of Butte, Silver Bow, and at French and German Gulches. She later went to Maiden and Gilt Edge, Montana and started a mercantile business. She...
    • Hanover, Montana

    •  
    • Hanover, Montana; Cement Plants; Gypsum Plants;
    • In approximately 1916, a gypsum quarry and cement plant was established ten miles northwest of Lewistown. With the plant and quarry came the town of Hanover. The company who owned the plant was quick to establish a place for its workers to stay. ...
    • Judith Basin Milling Co., Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Flour mill on East Main Street, Lewistown, Montana. The flour mill was started by the Jackson brothers in 1886. They sold the mill in 1889 to Cyrus S. Stiles and William C. Waldorf who modernized it. The flour was sold under the brand name of...
    • Flour Mill, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The flour mill was started by the Jackson brothers in 1886. They sold the mill in 1889 to Cyrus S. Stiles and William C. Waldorf who modernized it. The flour was sold under the brand name of “White Satin”. In 1895 they supplied electricity for...
    • Elkhorn Stables.

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • This stable was owned by Hall and Pinkley and was located on the northeast corner of 2nd Avenue and Main Street.
    • Hanover, Montana

    •  
    • Hanover, Montana; Cement Plants; Gypsum Plants;
    • Demolition of the plant. In approximately 1916, a gypsum quarry and cement plant was established ten miles northwest of Lewistown. With the plant and quarry came the town of Hanover. The company who owned the plant was quick to establish a place...
    • Burke, Daniel (Pickhandle)

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • Daniel (Pickhandle) Burke was born in LaSalle County, Illinois in 1964. He came to Montana in 1906 and was in railroad construction. He served in the Legislature in 1922. He married Adelle McDonald in 1923. He owned and operated the Burke Hotel...
    • Hanover, Montana

    •  
    • Hanover, Montana; Cement Plants; Gypsum Plants;
    • Demolition of the plant. In approximately 1916, a gypsum quarry and cement plant was established ten miles northwest of Lewistown. With the plant and quarry came the town of Hanover. The company who owned the plant was quick to establish a place...
    • Homes of Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Huntoon home at 722 W. Water. He was an attorney in business with William Blackford. The house was later owned by the Didier family. It was built in 1916.
    • Hanover, Montana

    •  
    • Hanover, Montana; Cement Plants; Gypsum Plants;
    • Demolition of the plant. In approximately 1916, a gypsum quarry and cement plant was established ten miles northwest of Lewistown. With the plant and quarry came the town of Hanover. The company who owned the plant was quick to establish a place...
    • Hackamore Club, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Bars; Clubs;
    • Originally a bar and later added dancing and dining. It was located 2 miles west of Lewistown. It was owned by Notch Plovanic and Fred Goettel
    • Hanover, Montana

    •  
    • Hanover, Montana; Cement Plants; Gypsum Plants;
    • Demolition of the plant. In approximately 1916, a gypsum quarry and cement plant was established ten miles northwest of Lewistown. With the plant and quarry came the town of Hanover. The company who owned the plant was quick to establish a place...
    • Hanover, Montana

    •  
    • Hanover, Montana; Cement Plants; Gypsum Plants;
    • Demolition of the plant. In approximately 1916, a gypsum quarry and cement plant was established ten miles northwest of Lewistown. With the plant and quarry came the town of Hanover. The company who owned the plant was quick to establish a place...
    • Flour Mill, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Flour Mills; Lewistown, Montana;
    • The flour mill was started by the Jackson brothers in 1886. They sold the mill in 1889 to Cyrus S. Stiles and William C. Waldorf who modernized it. The flour was sold under the brand name of “White Satin”. In 1895 they supplied electricity for...
    • Hanover, Montana

    •  
    • Hanover, Montana; Cement Plants; Gypsum Plants;
    • In approximately 1916, a gypsum quarry and cement plant was established ten miles northwest of Lewistown. With the plant and quarry came the town of Hanover. The company who owned the plant was quick to establish a place for its workers to stay. ...
    • Dahl's Shoe Shop, Lewistown, Montana.

    •  
    •  
    • Arne Dahl owned this shoe shop at 102 W. Main in the 1904 Polk Directory and 105 4th Avenue North in the 1922 Polk Directory. It is not known which building this is.
    • Hanover, Montana

    •  
    • Hanover, Montana; Cement Plants; Gypsum Plants; Trams;
    • Tram on the mountain abover the plant. In approximately 1916, a gypsum quarry and cement plant was established ten miles northwest of Lewistown. With the plant and quarry came the town of Hanover. The company who owned the plant was quick to...
    • Cooley Chevrolet, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Automobile Dealers;
    • Owned by Charles Cooley. Located on the corner of Broadway Street and 1st Avenue NorthBuilding is under construction.
    • Flour Mill, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Flour Mills; Lewistown, Montana;
    • The flour mill was started by the Jackson brothers in 1886. They sold the mill in 1889 to Cyrus S. Stiles and William C. Waldorf who modernized it. The flour was sold under the brand name of “White Satin”. In 1895 they supplied electricity for...
    • Hanover, Montana

    •  
    • Hanover, Montana; Cement Plants; Gypsum Plants;
    • Demolition of the plant. In approximately 1916, a gypsum quarry and cement plant was established ten miles northwest of Lewistown. With the plant and quarry came the town of Hanover. The company who owned the plant was quick to establish a place...
    • Homes of Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Ralph Reynolds owned this house at the corner of 5th and Washington (422 W. Washington) and later the Clingan family owned it.
    • Crowley Block, Lewistown, Montana. 311 W. Main.

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • View shows the building from the back as it was being constructed. It was owned by Annie Crowley. The building next to it is the back of the Warr-Lane building as it was being constructed also. They were built in 1913.
    • Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Parades;
    • Parade on Main Street. The building on the far right is the Palace Meat Market owned by the Slater Brothers. View shows the south side of Main Street in the 300 and 400 blocks.
    • Lehman, Arthur

    •  
    • Lehman Family;
    • Arthur Lehman was the son of pioneer businessman Charles Lehman. The family owned the Lehman store which they built in Lewistown in 1892.
    • Judith Basin Milling Company, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Flour Mills; Lewistown, Montana;
    • The flour mill was started by the Jackson brothers in 1886. They sold the mill in 1889 to Cyrus S. Stiles and William C. Waldorf who modernized it. The flour was sold under the brand name of “White Satin”. In 1895 they supplied electricity for...
    • Gold Mining in Central Montana.

    •  
    • Gold Mining; Judith Mountains, Montana;
    • Whisky Gulch mill. WHISKEY GULCH and BIG SIX MINES: Located in the mid and late 1890's. A. S. Wright, promoter of the New Year Mine took over the Whiskey Gulch in 1900 or 1901. He interested some local and St. Paul capital; a mill was built in...
    • Flour Mill and Judith Basin Milling Co., Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Flour Mills; Lewistown, Montana;
    • The flour mill was started by the Jackson brothers in 1886. They sold the mill in 1889 to Cyrus S. Stiles and William C. Waldorf who modernized it. The flour was sold under the brand name of “White Satin”. In 1895 they supplied electricity for...
    • Pinkley Stables, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Elkhorn Stable was owned by J.E. Pinkley and was located on the north side of the 100 block on Main Street, Lewistown, Montana.
    • Flour Mill, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Flour Mills; Lewistown, Montana;
    • The flour mill was started by the Jackson brothers in 1886. They sold the mill in 1889 to Cyrus S. Stiles and William C. Waldorf who modernized it. The flour was sold under the brand name of “White Satin”. In 1895 they supplied electricity for...
    • Seiden Drug store, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Drugstores
    • Seiden Drug Store was owned by John W. Seiden. It was located at 416 W. Main. John Seiden (left); Fred Horner (right).
    • Flour Mill, Lewistown, Montana.

    •  
    • Flour Mills; Lewistown, Montana;
    • The flour mill was started by the Jackson brothers in 1886. They sold the mill in 1889 to Cyrus S. Stiles and William C. Waldorf who modernized it. The flour was sold under the brand name of “White Satin”. In 1895 they supplied electricity for...
    • Seiden Drug Store, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Drugstores;
    • Seiden Drug Store (earlier called Wilson-Seiden Drug Store) was owned by John W. Seiden. It was located at 416 W. Main.
    • Flour Mill, Lewistown, Montana.

    •  
    • Flour Mills; Lewistown, Montana;
    • The flour mill was started by the Jackson brothers in 1886. They sold the mill in 1889 to Cyrus S. Stiles and William C. Waldorf who modernized it. The flour was sold under the brand name of “White Satin”. In 1895 they supplied electricity for...
    • Seiden Drug Store, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Drugstores;
    • Seiden Drug Store (earlier called Wilson-Seiden Drug Store) was owned by John W. Seiden. It was located at 416 W. Main. Man may be John Seiden as a young man.
    • Hanover, Montana

    •  
    • Hanover, Montana; Cement Plants; Gypsum Plants;
    • Demolition of the plant. In approximately 1916, a gypsum quarry and cement plant was established ten miles northwest of Lewistown. With the plant and quarry came the town of Hanover. The company who owned the plant was quick to establish a place...
    • Power Mercantile Co., Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Freighting; Power Mercantile;
    • The second Power Mercantile Building (built in 1892) owned by T. C. Power) was located on the corner of Main Street and 3rd Ave South, Lewistown, Montana. The C. F. Little Jewelry Co. building shows on the right side of the photo, it is on the...
    • Flour Mill, Lewistown, Montana.

    •  
    • Flour Mills; Lewistown, Montana;
    • The flour mill was started by the Jackson brothers in 1886. They sold the mill in 1889 to Cyrus S. Stiles and William C. Waldorf who modernized it. The flour was sold under the brand name of “White Satin”. In 1895 they supplied electricity for...
    • Flour Mill, Lewistown, Montana.

    •  
    • Flour Mills; Lewistown, Montana;
    • The flour mill was started by the Jackson brothers in 1886. They sold the mill in 1889 to Cyrus S. Stiles and William C. Waldorf who modernized it. The flour was sold under the brand name of “White Satin”. In 1895 they supplied electricity for...
    • Hanover, Montana

    •  
    • Hanover, Montana;
    • In approximately 1916, a gypsum quarry and cement plant was established ten miles northwest of Lewistown. With the plant and quarry came the town of Hanover. The company who owned the plant was quick to establish a place for its workers to stay. ...
    • Homes of Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • 720 W. Broadway. Original owner was Martha Wunderlin. It was later owned by Tom Stout (newspaper editor). It was built in 1909.
    • Eicoff, Sadie

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • Sadye Eicoff. She owned the business called the Leader” a woman’s specialty shop with her husband Sam. They were married in 1919. She once worked as a millinery buyer for a large department store in Cleveland, Ohio. She died in 1977.
    • Flour Mill, Lewistown, Montana.

    •  
    • Flour Mills; Lewistown, Montana;
    • The flour mill was started by the Jackson brothers in 1886. They sold the mill in 1889 to Cyrus S. Stiles and William C. Waldorf who modernized it. The flour was sold under the brand name of “White Satin”. In 1895 they supplied electricity for...
    • Homes of Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Home next to the Pine Crest Apartments (right). The Pine Crest Apartments (614 W. Pine) used to be the Brice Hospital owned by Dr. J. Theo Brice in 1919.
    • Marsh, George and Emma, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Calvert Hotel, Lewistown, Montana
    • George and Emma Marsh bought the Fergus County Improvement Corporation Dormitory which had been built in 1917 for the Fergus High School students who lived outside of Lewistown. They renamed it the Calvert Hotel. In 1925 because of drought and the...
    • Gilbert, Lloyd M. and wife, Edna

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • Gilbert, Lloyd M. He was born Nov 25, 1884 in Crystal, North Dakota and died Nov 26, 1966. He owned the Gilbert Motor Company at 111 4th Avenue South.
    • Warm Spring Creek swimming area

    •  
    • Swimming pools;
    • Shortly after World War II, 1949-1950 Mr. and Mrs. Wencil Vanek who owned land next to Warm Spring Creek realized that there was a potential of Warm Spring Creek with such an abundance of fresh clear warm water that constantly changed made it...
    • Warm Spring Creek swimming area

    •  
    • Swimming pools;
    • Shortly after World War II, 1949-1950 Mr. and Mrs. Wencil Vanek who owned land next to Warm Spring Creek realized that there was a potential of Warm Spring Creek with such an abundance of fresh clear warm water that constantly changed made it...
    • Symmes, W. D.

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • W.D. Symmes was born in Quebec, Canada in 1870 and came to Lewistown in 1889. He owned and operated the Powers Department Store. He was Lewistown’s Mayor from 1913 to 1917. He married Iona Hoffman in 1898.
    • Alabam's Cafes; Lewistown, Montana.

    •  
    • Cafes;
    • The building was originally built in 1900 by Archibald Hopkins and he ran the Hopkins Brothers Grocery. It was located at 117 W. Main. Alabam’s Café opened in this building in 1940; it was owned by Roscoe Taylor and Bob McAtee.
    • Gilbert, Lloyd

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • Gilbert, Lloyd M. He was born Nov 25, 1884 in Crystal, North Dakota and died Nov 26, 1966. He owned the Gilbert Motor Company at 111 4th Avenue South, Lewistown, Montana
    • Nodson, John

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • John George Nodson was born April 24, 1860 in Czechoslovakia. He died August 5, 1929. He was a blacksmith and a saloon owned.
    • Park Market, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Grocery Stores;
    • Park Market was located at 514 Cook Street and was owned by John and Norma Gilmore. They bought the property where Mike Soule had once run a small grocery and confectionary store and improved the property and opened the Park Market in the spring of...

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK
Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK