Skip to main content

Add or remove other collections to your search:



Narrow your search by:



You've searched: Mining in Butte

  • All fields: Original
(91 results)



Display: 100

    • Alice Open Pit Mine

    • 1950
    • Mines
    • Image of the beginning of the Alice open pit in Walkerville. The buildings are from the original Alice Mine.
    • Alice Open Pit Mine

    • 1950
    • Mines
    • Image of the Alice Mine and open pit silver and gold mine in Walkerville (north of Butte). Erosion of slope stability destroyed the original Alice Mine, which, before Butte, became a copper producer and was the biggest mine in the area.
    • Anselmo Mine

    • 1936
    • Mines
    • Image taken while erecting the headframe from the original Black Rock Mine over the original wooden headframe at the Anselmo Mine. Dated on September 23, 1936.
    • Anselmo Mine

    • 1936
    • Mines
    • Image taken while erecting the new headframe over the original wooden headframe at the Anselmo Mine. Dated on December 15, 1936.
    • Anselmo Mine

    • 1936
    • Mines
    • Image of the Anselmo Mine with its original wooden headframe. The mine was bought by Anaconda Copper Mining Company sometime in 1925. Note the West Gagnon Mine on right side of the photo.
    • Anselmo Mine

    • 1936
    • Mines
    • Image taken during the installation of the steel headframe over the original wooden headframe at the Anselmo Mine. Dated on June 8, 1936.
    • Anselmo Mine

    • 1936
    • Mines
    • Image of the Anselmo Mine headframe during the installation of the steel headframe over the original wooden headframe.
    • Belmont Mine

    •  
    • Mines
    • Image of the Belmont Mine and the original East side of Butte. Image taken from the Moonlight Mine yard.
    • Belmont Mine

    • 1926
    • Mines
    • Image of the Belmont Mine steel headframe during its installation over the existing wooden headframe. The original wooden frame was first used at the Cora mine.
    • Belmont Mine

    • 1927
    • Mines
    • Image of the Belmont Mine, located on East Mercury Street. Note the original wooden headframe underneath the new steel headframe.
    • Butte Headframes

    • 1940
    • Mines
    • Image of Butte headframes, listed, as follows, from left to right: the Gagnon, Mt. Con, Original, Diamond, and the Stewart Mines.
    • Butte Miners' Union No. 1

    • 1940
    • People
    • Five members of the Butte Miners' Union No. 1 resting in the yard of the Original Mine. They are leading on the float of their organization after a patriotic Fourth of July parade. The individual on the far left is Curly McLeod.
    • Butte Mines

    • 1950
    • Mines
    • Butte mines listed, as follows, from left to right: Mt. Con, Diamond, Stewart, Kelley, High Ore, Original, and the Mountain View.
    • Butte Mines

    • 1910
    • Mines
    • Image of various Butte mines. Headframes are listed, as follows, from left to right: the Original Mine, Highore, Nipper #1 and #2, Mountain View, Anaconda, Neversweat and the Parrot. Note the copper tanks in front of Orignal mine.
    • Copper Precipitation Plant

    • 1920
    • Mines
    • Image of the copper precipitation plant just below the Original Mine on the west side of North Main Street in uptown Butte.
    • Copper Precipitation Plant

    • 1920
    • Mines
    • Image of the copper precipitation plant just below the Original Mine on the west side of North Main Street in uptown Butte.
    • Corktown

    • 1970
    • Mines
    • Image of Corktown with the Original Mine on the left and the Stewart Mine on right.
    • Gagnon and Original Mines

    • 1915
    • Mines
    • Image of the Gagnon Mine on the left and the Original Mine on the right, both with wooden headframes. Both were located on North Main Street in uptown Butte.
    • Gagnon Mine

    • 1904
    • Mines
    • Image of the Gagnon Mine with the Original Mine in the background.
    • Gagnon Pit

    • 1950
    • Mines
    • Image of the Gagnon Pit, located East of Montana Street, next to the Original mine.
    • Gagnon Pit

    • 1950
    • Mines
    • Image of the Gagnon Pit, located west of Original mine.
    • Gagnon Pit

    • 1950
    • Mines
    • Image of the Gagnon Pit, located East of Montana Street, next to the Original mine.
    • Gagnon Pit

    • 1950
    • Mines
    • Image of the Gagnon Pit, located west of Original mine.
    • Kelley Mine Motors

    • 1970
    • Mines
    • Image of original mine motors at the Kelley Mine.
    • Lexington Mine

    • 1950
    • Mines
    • Image of the Lexington Mine in Walkerville. Note the original wooden headframe. The metal frame was installed in the 1950s.
    • Lexington Mine

    • 1938
    • Mines
    • Image of the Lexington Mine in Walkerville, located at the top of Main Street. Note the original wooden headframe, which was erected by Heinze in approximately 1904.
    • Mines on Butte Hill

    • 1975
    • Mines
    • An image of the Original Mine, Stewart Mine, and the Kelley Mine #1 and #2 shafts were some of the more prominent mines on the Butte Hill.
    • Mountain Con Mine

    • 1970
    • Mines
    • Image of the Mountain Con Mine, located in the original Centerville district.
    • Mountain Con Mine Idler Tower

    • 1927
    • Mines
    • Image of the Mountain Con Mine's idler tower erection. Also note the original wooden headframe and ore bin.
    • Neversweat Mine

    • 1930
    • Mines
    • Image of the Neversweat Mine looking towards the west. Surrounding headframes are listed, as follows, from left to right: the Original Mine, the Steward Mine, and the E. Steward Mine. Also note St. Mary's Church.
    • Original and Gagnon Mines

    • 1935
    • Mines
    • Image of the Original and Gagnon Mines on North Main Street in uptown Butte. The Gagnon Mine had an incline shaft.
    • Original Mine

    • 1920
    • Mines
    • Image of the Original Mine.
    • Original Mine

    • 1890
    • Mines
    • An image of the Original Mine on the 1600 level shaft station, showing loaded ore cars and miners at work.
    • Original Mine

    • 1920
    • Mines
    • An image taken at the Original Mine showing the compressor with a rope drive.
    • Original Mine

    • 1904
    • Mines
    • Image of the Original Mine. The Gagnon Mine is located to the back of Original headframe. Image taken from North Maine Street.
    • Original Mine

    • 1903
    • Mines
    • Image of the Original Mine showing the ore chutes and its gallows frame.
    • Original Mine

    • 1920
    • Mines
    • Image of the Original Mine showing the copper tanks and the Gagnon gallows frame to the left.
    • Original Mine

    • 1920
    • Mines
    • An image taken underground at the Original Mine.
    • Original Mine

    • 1920
    • Mines
    • An image of men drilling underground at the Original Mine.
    • Original Mine

    • 1905
    • Mines
    • Image of the steel headframe of the Original Mine on North Main Street. The Anaconda Road is on the right and the Stewart Mine is on the left. Also note the eight stacks just east of Main Street.
    • Original Mine

    • 1900
    • Mines
    • Image of horses hauling ore from the Original Mine.
    • Original Mine

    • 1901
    • Mines
    • Image capturing the erecting of the steel headframe at the Original Mine in uptown Butte. The mine was owned by William A. Clark.
    • Original Mine

    • 1925
    • Mines
    • Image of the Original Mine on North Main Street in uptown Butte.
    • Original Mine

    • 1920
    • Mines
    • Image of the Original Mine just west of North Main Street in uptown Butte.
    • Original Mine

    • 1920
    • Mines
    • Image of the Original Mine on the west side of North Main Street in uptown Butte.
    • Original Mine

    • 1920
    • Mines
    • Image of the Original Mine just west of North Main Street in uptown Butte.
    • Original Mine

    •  
    • Mines
    • Postcard image of Anaconda Hill showing the Original and Steward Mines.
    • Original Mine

    • 1914
    • Mines
    • Image of a miner widening a drift at the Original Mine.
    • Original Mine

    • 1904
    • Mines
    • Image of the Original Mine in Butte.
    • Original Mine

    • 1911
    • Mines
    • Image of the Original Mine with a wooden headframe and the Gagnon Mine on the right.
    • Original Mine #6 Shaft

    • 1890
    • Mines
    • Image of the Original Mine #6 shaft, located at the Junction of Copper and Arizona Streets at the bottom of the Anaconda Road in uptown Butte.
    • Original Mine Crew

    • 1910
    • Mines
    • Image of workers at the Original Mine on the west side of North Main Street in uptown Butte.
    • Original Mine Crew

    • 1900
    • Mines
    • Image of a crew of miners with their candles ready to go on shift at the Original Mine in uptown Butte.
    • Original Mine Crew

    • 1914
    • Mines
    • Image of a shift of miners at the Original Mine.
    • Original Mine Garage

    • 1950
    • Mines
    • Image of the Original Mine with the Mt. Con to its left and Kelly to its right.
    • Original Mine Garage and Cars

    • 1920
    • Mines
    • Workers in front of the Original Mine's garage. Cars' model is the 1920 Pierce-Arrow touring car. The man on the left is the foreman Ed Holland.
    • Original Mine Garage and Cars

    • 1950
    • Mines
    • Image of the Original Mine garage. All of the Anaconda Copper Mining Company cars and trucks were serviced here.
    • Original Mine Hoisting Engine

    • 1905
    • Mines
    • Image of the Original Mine hoisting engine, the Nordberg steam. This engine would later be converted to a compressed air (direct drive) engine.
    • Original Mine Nordberg Steam Hoist

    • 1910
    • Mines
    • Image of the Original Mine showing the Nordberg steam hoist installed in 1898 by the mine's owner, Senator W.A. Clark. Note the engine operators at work.
    • Original Mine Ore Bins

    • 1900
    • Mines
    • Image of the Original Mine ore bins when they had enclosed headframes. Image also shows streetcar tracks.
    • Original Mine Pump

    • 1905
    • Mines
    • Image of the pump at the Original Mine, located on North Main Street in uptown Butte.
    • Original Mine Refrigeration Plant

    • 1920
    • Mines
    • Image of what appears to be refrigeration plant of what is probably the Original Mine. One of the men has been identified as Lester Madlena.
    • Original Mine Visitors

    • 1907
    • Mines
    • Image of a group of Shriners visiting the Original Mine. Dated May 19, 1907.
    • Original Mine Visitors

    • 1907
    • Mines
    • An image of visitors taking a tour of William A. Clark's Original Mine in uptown Butte.
    • Original Mine Visitors

    • 1907
    • Mines
    • A group of visitors in the mine yard of the Original Mine. Scallon is in second row, second to the right. C Goodale is on the porch with the large hat. Hm Gallows is second from the left on the porch, and H. S. Clark is on the porch with the large...
    • Original Mine Visitors

    • 1900
    • Mines
    • An image of visitors at the 1500-foot level of the Original Mine.
    • Original Mine visitors and Miners

    • 1898
    • Mines
    • Image of a group of visiting dignitaries and miners with an unidentified mine in the background, thought to be the Gagnon or the Original Mine.
    • Original Mine visitors and Miners

    • 1898
    • Mines
    • Image of a group of visiting dignitaries and miners with an unidentified mine in the background, thought to be the Gagnon or the Original Mine.
    • Pennsylvania Mine

    • 1900
    • Mines
    • Image of the Pennsylvania Mine at the east end of Broadway Street in uptown Butte. Image also shows the Original Mine and the Boston & Mountain Con Copper Company.
    • Pittsmont Mine #4 Shaft

    • 1940
    • Mines
    • Image of the Pittsmont #4 shaft with the Anaconda Copper Mining Company reopening the shaft after the original collar had caved.
    • Pittsmont Mines

    • 1902
    • Mines
    • An interior view of the office and mineral display at the Pittsmont Smelter. Original is from the W. J. Carpenter Studio in Spokane, Washington, Butte, Montana.
    • Richest Hill in the World

    • 1910
    • Mines
    • Postcard image of the 'Richest Hill in the World.' Headframes on the hill are listed, as follows, from left to right: the High Ore Mine, the Nipper Mine, the Parnell Mine, the L.E.R. Mine, the Original Mine #6 shaft, the Mountain View Mine, the...
    • Stewart and Original Mines

    • 1970
    • Mines
    • Image taken looking south from the Mountain Con Mine. The mines are listed, as follows, from left to right: the Stewart Mine and the Original Mine.
    • Stewart Mine

    • 1920
    • Mines
    • Image of the Stewart Mine on North Main Street. Note the Original Mine in the background. Both mines belonged to W. A. Clark and both steel frames were installed in 1902.
    • Stewart Mine

    • 1910
    • Mines
    • Image of the Stewart Mine, one of the original properties of W. A. Clark, which eventually became a property of the Anaconda Copper Mining Company.

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK
Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK